We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay and staff were 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tokyo International Hotel
Ranked #21 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay and staff were 5 star”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here for a night. Arrived at about 5 - 6 pm and left early morning at about 5 am. Room was nice and comfortable. Staff were extremely helpful exceeding all expectations. In all my business travels never experienced such personal service. I over shopped gifts to take back home and the hotel staff helped with packing materials. I asked suggestions for a place to have dinner and was directed to a great local noodle place nearby. I was also asked if I needed anything in the morning so I took the opportunity and asked for coffee. Early morning I was helped to my taxi with a nice hot coffee in a take away packing. Great place and amazing service.
Karma, Bhutan

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karmasingay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    135
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
124
61
82
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Duration: Stayed for two nights.

Location: Hotel is well located within 2 km from Taipei main station and within 1 km from nearest MRT station Zhongshan.

Room: Deluxe superior. Room and toilet are quite small but very modern. Clean and tidy.

Service: Staff speak good English and are very helpful.

Experience: Very good for the price I paid. Wish the air conditioning was a bit easier to operate but my fault as I should have asked the staff for assistance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Quiet, clean, modern and comfortable. The fixtures were high-end. The free WIFI worked well. The breakfast was excellent, with English, Chinese, and Japanese selections. Our family of suburban Anglo Americans liked them all. The train station is a bit distant, but walkable, as was higher end shopping. Taxis were plentiful. Staff had good English and were very attentive; on learning one of our party was having a birthday, they spontaneously baked him a cake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Tokyo Int'l Hotel and was very impressed with the personal service. Staff were extremely polite and friendly, knew us by name, and gave very detailed directions/suggestions when asked. The hotel is quite small, like a boutique hotel, and is often fully booked, thus very difficult for them to arrange for early check-in or late check-out.

We stayed in a twin room - the staff had showed us to our room and gave a general introduction to the facilities etc. The mattress was firm and very comfortable. There was a slight hint of cigarette smell in our room (although the hotel is all anti-smoking), however the staff managed to fix this for the next day. Breakfast is offered from 7am to 10am, and the food is pretty much Japanese style.

The location can be considered by some as convenient, but not so for others. There are in fact many shops around, like Ten Ren tea and Come Buy which offer bubble tea, and the famous Hsin Tung Yang (bring the brochure in your hotel room to get extra 5% off!) are just across the street. However, public transportation wise, the hotel is located about 10-15mins walk from two subway stations (Zhong Shan and Shuang Lin station), so not the most convenient. For example, if traveling from Taoyuan airport on public, you would need to take Route 1819 and get off at Ambassador hotel, which is a 5 minute walk away from this hotel. However, pls do let the driver know you intend to get off at Ambassador hotel when you get on the bus, otherwise the stops are only softly announced, and those unfamiliar with the bus route, like us, could easily miss the stop and end up at Taipei main station. For transit from hotel to airport, suggestion is to take taxi to Kuo Kuang Bus Station (costs around TWD100), and take 1819 to the airport. Tickets are TWD125 per person. Those traveling in bigger group can just take taxi to avoid the hassle.

Also worthwhile to note that the hotel is relatively close to Liao Ning night market, which is near Shuang Lin station, about a 20 min walk from the hotel, or 5 mins by cab. Quite small compared to Shi Lin, but at the same time not as crowded and you still get your yummy Taiwan night snacks!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, and the staff really made us feel at home. Would definitely recommend to others, just note that if you are not a keen walker, be prepared to travel a bit by taxi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeni_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had 2 nights stay at the hotel. The hotel is cosy with very well-design bathroom. The service is great too! The reception arranged taxi for us to the airport and offered assistance when needed. The staff helped us to cut pear we bought and also offered to buy soya bean drink when we ask whether they have for breakfast. It takes 10-15mins walk to the station but there are shopping and food around the hotel even late at night. Taking a cab down to Taipei Main station costs only TWD75 within 5min.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imjiahao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is excellent. This is by far the cleanest hotel I have stayed in. The bathroom made me feel like I would mess it up just by using it! The staff were very professional and friendly, ever ready to assist despite the language barier. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikYuen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing service. We got to know the GM and he was such a personable and friendly character, it was impossible to not want to return to the hotel. Pity that th facilities were only basic 3-star facilities, if not this would be the best hotel in Taipei

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlutosAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#8 of 571 in Taipei
1,350 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 571 in Taipei
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#20 of 571 in Taipei
1,876 reviews
Just Sleep (Lin Sen)
#6 of 571 in Taipei
677 reviews
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#40 of 571 in Taipei
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo International Hotel

Property: Tokyo International Hotel
Address: No.39 Changchun Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly Horng Gong Hotel Taipei)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyo International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tokyo International Hotel was established in the end of September, 2010. This brand new hotel was build by experienced interior designer with using elements of luxury, modern, and based on international style. Moreover, Tokyo International Hotel keeps not only a sincere and thankful heart to welcome every guest, but also has progressed in our service quality for reaching highest guest's expectation. Tokyo International Hotel was located in Taipei city center. Public transportation is convenient and easy to reach, such as MRT (subway), bus, coach (limousine), and so on. In addition, Tokyo International Hotel offers motor vehicle (Benz) between airport and Hotel which service 24 hours a day 7 days a week. As a result, we guaranteed to provide every guest with a safe, clean, comfortable and friendly living environment. Please do not hesitate to ask us further information regarding transportation or any detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tokyo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing