We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor rooms, worst stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hau Shuang Hotel Taipei
Ranked #418 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor rooms, worst stay ever”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We booked his hotel largely due to its location and low price. However , it turned out to be the worst decision made for this trip. The room was small, but this wasnt an issue as for the price paid, we weren't expecting the room to be big and spacious. Many reviewed that the bed was hard, and true enough, the bed was REALLY hard and solid. NO JOKE. But this was not the worst, the room reeked of cigarrette smoke Which made me giddy and unwell. We had to open the windows to ventilate the room. Still not the worse, the room had mosquitoes and my boyfriend spent 2 hours in the night , hunting the mosquitoes down before we could sleep. Was really a horrible night. Next morning, we woke up with aches all over. Memorable, Indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jas1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
9
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My room was quite nice, all brass & mirrors, with a good size bathroom, fridge, cable TV, complimentary coffee & tea, & a settee. The bed was hard, but no harder than what you'd find in either Hong Kong or mainland China hotels. Considering the busy road directly outside, the rooms are surprisingly quiet. They've made a bit of effort to try & decorate the front of the hotel & reception with the space they had available & looks nice & inviting. Even though the receptionist didn't speak any English & nor I Chinese, she was friendly & helpful & assisted me with arranging an early morning taxi to the airport with a smile. Location-wise it's a little out of the way, but the Raohe St night market is only a few minutes walk away & a train station is close-by. I'd stay here again, no problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location was good, it was right outside songshan station and they have people at desk 24/7 and the staff agreed to modify my booking without extra charge.However, my room was not cleaned for two days, apparently you have to notify the front desk every time you want the room cleaned. The bed was also very hard and it was not comfortable. The price was a little bit high for such area, but there were cheaper hotels in the area that were not listed with booking.com

Room Tip: remember you have to tell the front desk every time you want the room cleaned
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location are good and near rao he night market (5 min walk) & wu fen pu night market (2 min walk)

Room are not that nice, but don't expect much for budget hotel. Mattress are harder and pillow are soft.

Breakfast are nothing special (normal sandwich with packet juices)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yahnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The bed is hard. The room we stayed abit old.
the receptionist is not that friendly. He asked me to fill the form myself during check in as im death tired......

Apart from negative review some plus point needed to pointed out:
Very near to Wu fen pu. Quite near to Raohe Night Market.
Quite convenient to take bus to city.

Room Tip: If you have other hotel which is cheaper then can consider it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taipei hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is located in an excellent spot - across the road from Songshan Station, 10 minutes to Houshanpi MRT station and 10 minutes to Raohe Night Market.

The rooms are dated but cleaned daily and they are well maintained. The shower pressure is phenomenal! There's a window seat in the room and a big flat-screen TV with plenty of movie channels if you're tired after a day of exploring.

Beds are rock hard, although I live in Asia so I'm used to firm beds, these ones were really solid! Breakfast isn't great - Chinese pancakes or weird sandwiches with juice or milk - but there's a decent bakery in the train station and several restaurants nearby. The staff are efficient and polite.

We stayed 5 nights and it was a great base for exploring Taipei on a budget. We ate at the Night Market almost every evening, it's a must-visit if you stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

If you are looking for a budget hotel, this hotel is right for you. My family of four stayed for 5 days and we are happy with our stay. Taipei train station is just 100 meters aways from the hotel and MRT/subway is only a 10 minute walk. Very convenient. They clean the room everyday and change your towels. Breakfast is not much but my kids love the sandwiches and radish cake. It was being brought to our room at 7 am.Really cool. There are some restaurants nearby. The only problem we had is that they don't have a heater in the room but no worry, aside from the comforter, they provide 2 thick blankets . Free WIFI in the room. Their staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MavicKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
Charming City Hotel Sungshan
0.2 mi away
Wonstar Hotel (Songshan)
Wonstar Hotel (Songshan)
#452 of 571 in Taipei
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shin Shin Hotels - Songshan
Shin Shin Hotels - Songshan
#359 of 571 in Taipei
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capital Hotel Song Shan
Capital Hotel Song Shan
#238 of 571 in Taipei
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angels' Hostel - Taipei 101
Angels' Hostel - Taipei 101
#371 of 571 in Taipei
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green World Hotel Songshan
Green World Hotel Songshan
#199 of 571 in Taipei
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hau Shuang Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hau Shuang Hotel Taipei

Property: Hau Shuang Hotel Taipei
Address: No.110 Jhongpo North Road, Nangang District, Taipei 115, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hau Shuang Hotel Taipei 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hau Shuang Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing