We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, cosy boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of HOTEL QUOTE Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
Ranked #36 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice, cosy boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed there with a friend in May. Nice, cosy boutique hotel. The room had only a sliver of a window, and no view, but other than that, the furnishings were classy, the bed comfortable, and the mini bar is free!! It was my birthday and the front desk gave me a soft toy too. Friendly staff made my stay a nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscoE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    173
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
158
56
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel. Stayed in a U room for two persons and the room space was sufficient for luggage and walking too. The decor is quirky and interesting, though the lighting may be too dim for some people. Service was prompt and efficient, each time we called for extra hangers, they were delivered to our room in less than 5 minutes.

The reviews are accurate. Though we were early, arriving at about 2pm, the room was already ready. Location of the hotel is good and convenient as it is near the Nanjing East Road MRT Station, with eateries (e.g. Ootoya, Moss Burger, Macdonald's etc...) and shopping (e.g. Momo department store, IKEA, So Nice, NET etc...) with in the vicinity. Although the Nanjing East Road MRT Station is not centrally located near major Taipei attractions, it took about 30 minutes to an hour to travel which is not too bad.

Breakfast was good, with some variations and variety was pretty ok as well - a good top up before heading out for the day. Breakfast is from 0630 - 1000 am.

We were greeted each time we entered and left the hotel, and after sometime the staff could recognize us and our room number, adding that personal touch. The bathroom is separated by a curtain, but it is located at the corner of the room so privacy was not an issue.

Staff were friendly and very helpful, gladly providing information on how to travel to certain places. Housekeeping was great, the room was made up everyday and mini bar replenished, even when the button for "Please Make Up Room" was not turned on.

This hotel is perfect for those who intend to head out to explore Taipei most of the day, or relax in some part of the day. The HQ Lounge is a pretty neat place to hang out and enjoy a cup or tea or sacks. There are two MAC which you can use as well, and WiFi is complimentary.

We took the Freego Bus from the airport, and alighted at Sunworld Dynasty Hotel, the last stop. The hotel was a 5 minute walk around the corner, very fast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbytez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights (2 nights before returning for a third at the end of our trip) at Hotel Quote and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The hotel is modern, clean, and quiet. Given the bar in the lobby and the action on the street outside can all be very noisy, we were very happy how quiet our rooms were. We were upgraded for our last night to a more spacious room. In both cases, the design makes excellent use of limited space positioning the bathroom within the room itself. The design features however mean that is not visible and privacy and comfort have both been considered. The beds were very comfortable, TVs are well positioned, ipod docks produce great sound quality. So in the end we enjoyed more time in our rom than planned.

The staff were very helpful with good levels of English. The breakfasts were good, particularly given that this is a small hotel and its an area smaller hotels often fall down on. I wouldn't describe it as luxury, it's a great little boutique hotel, somewhere to feel comfortable and relaxed rather than indulged. If we are ever back in Taipei we will definitely be staying here again.

One tip - if it's your first time to Taipei I would have a car sent to pick you up. We unfortunately couldn't coordinate this as we were arriving on 2 separate flights and 2 different terminals. The hotel referred us to Freego bus company - which is very easy to arrange at the airport and cheap - however we were ultimately dropped in the wrong part of the city. So we ended up having to negotiate the train system anyway. Again, you become quickly familiar with this - cheap and convenient - but for all the hassle involved a car or taxi (which we used going back to the airport) are a thought free first introduction to Taipei.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spritemighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

After reading those excellent feedback give myself a try for this hotel.
We arrived around 1130 hrs, as the check in time was 1500 hrs, the room was not ready so we lond our luggage and do a shopping at next door (momo) just few steps away from the hotel.
It is about 5-10 minutes walk from the nearest MRT station. As you walk along the shop you'll probably miss the hotel, as it as the same roll with the rest of the shop. One of my friend miss the hotel as she didn't notice and just pass by the hotel.
The ambience of the whole hotel were dark and dimmed. We got our room after our lunch abour 1245 hrs, the guest services direct us to our roomo with the luggague already being sent up to the room.
The room size were good still able to fit another extra bed. We took a O room, as based on all the reviews all the bath room were 'transparent' and except O & T room. It as a black cutrain to cover the bath room, but still no lock. The ensuite bath room wer fantastic. All the facilities in the room were excellent, no complaint about that.
Mini bar already included in the room package,best selling point is ther 24 hrs HQ lounge lacated at level 2, you enjoy yourself with free flow of selected non-alcoholic beveragen some snacks and some amenities.
As we are rushing out we couldn't enjoy much of their facilities.
There is one mistake that i found in the bathroom, 2 of us staying in the room, but we only found 1 set of tooth brush, and left over shaver cover. Probably the housekeeper did not replenished. This hotel would be 100% is they did so.
Breakfast were limited, we were a bit late as the lounge max capacity is about 25 pax. The rest of us have to proceed to level 1 333 bar to hove our breakfast. Item was limited as mention.
Overall experienve 90% for this stay. Probably will come back again to enjoy the facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkny_y2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Picked this off the SLH website, and procured a T room (two girls) and a U Balcony room (dude). I was pleasantly surprised by the quirky decor, esoteric font - Stay Understated, posits the coffee mugs, and recurring motifs of moose (meese?) and bunnies throughout the hotel. There was a black bunny in the toilet, equipped with Japanese style heated bog, which was most amusing. A heavy curtain separates the roomy bathroom from the sleeping area.

Great facilities such as the B&W airplay iphone dock, free minibar, and the everything-you-might-need lounge on the second floor. Service is a little inconsistent - room service will bring you soda and chips at one instance upon request, but tell you there is a charge for bringing the items up the next time you call. Very strange. That said, the lounge with vats full of goodies is understandably convenient. Breakfast is of a good variety, yummy, and one is welcome to eat at the lounge if the first level is too crowded. The manager, Teresa, is very efficient. She approached us, apologised, and offered us a complimentary voucher - high tea for two - for the in house 333 restaurant as there'd only been one bottle of water for two people in T room. It was a thoughtful and unexpected gesture because neither of us had actually noticed the oversight, so kudos for service recovery. High tea at 333 was decent, though nothing to rave about.

Location is ok, considering Taipei city is not very near the main Taoyuan airport. We took about an hour's bus from the airport, stopped at Nanjing East and walked over. Easy to bus back to the airport as well; the return bus stop is outside the Sunworld Dynasty Hotel around the corner. The hotel is a comfortable distance from the Nanjing East station, smack next to Momo Department Store, and a back alley 10 seconds from Quote leads to a convenience store and 3 pushcarts with yummy street food. Further down from Quote leads to a wonderful discovery, Cellar Lounge Bar - an elegant sofa-lined space with lethal poisons.

Good for couples and friends, bad for my liver and hips. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetraveloutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPE, TWN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The physical facility of this hotel with its tempting tariff has always been the secret of its popularity. Still, the service appears always a little bit amateurish since the opening in 2009; and thus I have been wandering whether it is worth the name of a SLH member. BTW, I have stayed this hotel more than a dozen times since its opening.

Pros
-The lounge on the second floor that offers sorts of beverage and snacks for free
-Wonderful bathroom facilities, from a rain forest shower to a decent size bathtub; and in their junior suite, the E room, you will find a wonderful Jacuzzi
-The great value of general settings and amenities in even the most basic type of rooms for the rent.
-Chic gags: Nespresso machine, B&W i-phone/i-pad/i-pod deck, SONY bravia stereo
-Only steps from the MRT station
-Strict security setting of the lift
-Well-motivated day shift staffers

Cons
-Amateurish service sometimes
The concierge does not always provide consistent service. You would sometimes have a valet to carry your belongings but may sometimes just unattended, or have your requests neglected especially in late evening. And be cautious about the time of laundries sent back.
-Limited parking facility
-The lacking of natural lighting in room, except in E rooms.

Conclusion:
An understated oasis in town. Characteristic, and a fun place.
Avoid 2nd floor rooms; you might feel the hectic, unappealing beats from the dance music played on the bar on 1st floor.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here last August with our then 3 year old, and had a wonderful time at this hotel. We stayed in a room with a single king sized bed, but there was room to put up our daughter's cot and still be able to walk around the bed. The bar / lounge on the first floor was a good place for a meal, and if you do not want to eat there, there is a mall next door with a variety of food options on the lower floor. Since our daughter was never quite sure what hour if was, she was hungry constantly, and having 24/7 access to food and snacks was absolutely perfect. We contacted the hotel before traveling to arrange transportation from the airport and to a location outside of Taiching, and they were very accommodating and helpful with our request. The employees were very sweet to our daughter, who had to give them each a hug before we left. We have stayed here and at The Landis hotel in Taipei (currently ranked just ahead of this hotel), and loved both. Our only complaint is that we don't know how we will choose which one we will go to on our next trip back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irviebrownknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Madison Taipei Hotel
#81 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#20 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais de Chine Hotel
#48 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Humble House Taipei
#54 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL QUOTE Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL QUOTE Taipei

Property: HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
Address: No.333 Nanjing East Road, Section 3, Songshan District, Taipei 105, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL QUOTE Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL QUOTE Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing