We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & many free facilities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Forward Hotel - Songjiang
Ranked #142 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Clean & many free facilities!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a cute, quaint little hotel. The bathroom in our room was almost as big as the room itself! It's a 5-min walk to the nearest subway station and one station away from Taipei Main Station. They offer free breakfast every morning, free wi-fi, and even free laundry!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80146267, 主任 at Forward Hotel - Songjiang, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear L S ,
We are thankful that you chose us for this journey of yours. It has been our honor to serve you and wish that you are completely satisfied with our services. Should there be anything we can do to improve our services, please do not hesitate to drop us a note.
We are looking forward to hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    82
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
38
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location is great with minutes walk to subway. The hotel is on a quite street, but just one or two blocks away you can access to the busy streets with a lot of restaurant and shops. The breakfast is superb with variety of cold and warm dishes and all kinds of drinks,soybean milk, coffee, milk, juices, The staff is extremely friendly and greet us whenever we enter the hotel. The rooms are small but efficient with all things you need. The rooms are very clean. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80146267, 主任 at Forward Hotel - Songjiang, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Stephanie J ,
We are thankful that you chose us for this journey of yours. It has been our honor to serve you and wish that you are completely satisfied with our services. Should there be anything we can do to improve our services, please do not hesitate to drop us a note.
We are looking forward to hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed in the Forward Hotel Taipei and at first glance all looks good.
there is NO Cupboard to unpack, living out of a suit case for 4 days is not fun. Clothes must hang, so socks and jocks and worn clothes in suitcase.
Bathroom is good.
Central Air Conditioning? The whole tops floors smells of smoke at night, I stayed on 5th floor, and the cigarette smoke all the time even in the room is not nice. I learnt to leave the bathroom light off, that keep the extractor fan off and air is not sucked in under door etc.
Breakfast is too much Chinese, no cowmilk even for cereal....

Free WiFi and good speed !!!

Maybe other hotels are the same?

Room Tip: Maybe pick lower room as the lobby smells clean air, may be that the smell of smoke/staleness drifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Not much around but taipei is small, it's so easy to get around. It's so convenient, 2 mins walk from the station which brings you everywhere. Clean. Receptionist dont speak much English and the breakfast was poor but who eats in the hotel in Taipei when street food and cabs are so cheap! Highly recommended when looking for cheap clean convenient room!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwholovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in April. The rooms are great. The first few nights we had a room with a large king bed, but switched rooms for the remainder of our stay to a room with a bathtub and STEAMSHOWER!! (room 618 if i remember correctly!). All rooms are different, so it's good to ask for what you want. The corner rooms have a little balcony and are also quite nice. But my heart was set on that steam shower, so we opted out of the balcony room.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There is even free laundry in the lobby! Breakfast was fine, but don't expect good coffee. Luckily there is a great little coffee shop just next door for your fix. The MRT station is just a few minutes away. Was very convenient to travel to all parts of the city. There are some good restaurants walking distance to the hotel. And a nice foot rub place too!

I woudl definitely stay here again when i come back to Taipei.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poxybolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80146267, 主任 at Forward Hotel - Songjiang, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear poxybolt :
Taipei Forward Hotel was very grateful for your visit.
Hopefully,Taipei Forward Hotel offered you a brand new feeling during the visit.
We're really great to serve you.
We are sincerely hoping that you had a great time with us. 0
We are looking forward to serve you again.
Best Regards,
All staff presents respectfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

So I am going to start my review off in saying this hotel is in a business/residential area. It is not a very touristy place. If you are looking for a great scenery of Taipei night view you would not want to stay here.

This business hotel is situated off of Nanjing East Road which is a major street. There are lots of restaurants and business in there. But the best thing about this hotel is that there is an MRT station very close to it. So if you were to sightseeing around Taipei, the MRT station near by can take you anywhere you want to go. Because the hotel is tucked away behind a major road, there may be an expectation that you can hear road noises at night. But you do not hear any road noises at all. When you have been walking around Taipei sightseeing all day, it was nice to come back to an hotel room that is quiet.

The rooms in this hotel is small. But for such a small space, the room was very well laid out and functional. The bed itself was incredibly comfortable and after a long day sightseeing , a comfortable bed was important.

The staff was incredibly helpful and courteous. I read in a previous review that the staff made exceptions for the laundry room and the guest wasn't so pleased about it. We went and washed clothes 30 min before 10pm and I did not realized that. There was also another family that was freaking out because they thought the staff was going to shut off the power. So I went and talked to the staff (the on duty manager) and asked nicely if they could keep it open for a while because I was doing laundry and another family was doing laundry. They were very accommodating. I got to wash clothes and so did the other family.

Overall the whole experience was wonderful and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. You get a nice balcony even with a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80146267, 主任 at Forward Hotel - Songjiang, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Ling W ,
We are thankful that you chose us for this journey of yours. It has been our honor to serve you and wish that you are completely satisfied with our services. Should there be anything we can do to improve our services, please do not hesitate to drop us a note.
We are looking forward to hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in May '12. Fantastic Location, Compact but well built, lit and disigned rooms. Courtesious Staff and fast WIFI.

This Hotel has everything a businesss traveller needs (except that the place which they claim as gym just has a treadmill and a stepper......big disappoitment for me)

Overall the room was great had this very nice self lit designs in on the wardrobe and wall beind the bed, it looked beautiful.

Bathroom has nice rain shower, temperature controlled automatic toilet seats.

Breakfast was quite eide spread and nice (though there were no variety, all 5 days menu was almost the same)

Gym n Swimming Pool - Already explained before, they have tied up with a Swimming pool of a school nearby if you wish to swim (If you not looking for these two things in a hotel, this is best budget option to stay)

So, all and all a pleasant stay except my complaint about the Gym (they add just a multi gym and few few ree weights and a gym ball, I'll love to stay there in every visit)

Room Tip: Chose any, all are road facing n well lit. Higher the floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDPharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Simple+ Hotel
#130 of 575 in Taipei
190 reviews
Linkworld Hotel
#221 of 575 in Taipei
97 reviews
Golden China Hotel
#106 of 575 in Taipei
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Inn Taipei Linsen
#115 of 575 in Taipei
112 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 575 in Taipei
1,365 reviews
Happiness Hotel
#352 of 575 in Taipei
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forward Hotel - Songjiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forward Hotel - Songjiang

Property: Forward Hotel - Songjiang
Address: No.3 Yijiang Street, Jhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly Viscount Hotel)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forward Hotel - Songjiang 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About HotelForward Hotel Taipei is located along Yi-Jiang Street, just next to the busy Nanjing East Road and Songjiang Road intersection. The hotel incorporates classic, elegant design with rich foreign flavor, enhancing the leisurely romantic atmosphere of the Zhongshan District. A 32 LCD television, free wireless Internet access and Japanese satellite TV channels are some of the amenities in each of the 90 guest rooms that make it easy for you to receive up-to-date business information in your own room. All rooms have automatic smoke detectors and are constructed with fire-resistant materials to ensure our guests safety and to enable you to enjoy a peaceful and comfortable stay with us. The lobby also has free, 24-hour computers, broadband Internet access, and mail and fax service for our business travelers.Hotel HistoryForward Hotel Taipei was previously known as the Viscount Hotel, which was one of the most famous tourist hotels in Taipei City. The scale and amenities of Viscount Hotel were acknowledged by many to be among the best and due to its complete lifestyle amenities and high accessibility, Viscount Hotel quickly become the premier tourist hotel among Japanese tourists.Older generations still remember the Viscount Hotel Western Restaurant which was located on the first floor of the hotel. Its European-style interior design and the fact that it was also an expensive steak house made it both a great place to do business and a romantic setting for couples to enjoy a meal together.As time passed, Viscount Hotel finally ceased operations in 2007 after serving guests for more than 10 years. The all-new Forward Hotel Taipei will stand at Viscount Hotel's former location along Yi-Jiang Street and, after six months of renovation efforts, will revive its glorious past and continue to provide a comfortable stay to all tourists. This hotel is another success of Forward Enterprise Group, other hotels under this group include: Ban-Qiao Forward Hotel Taipei, Taipei Grandforward Hotel, Forward Suites Hotel, and Hotel Purity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forward Hotel - Songjiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing