We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mai Hotel Zhongshan
Ranked #200 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“friendly staff and good service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is good place in Taipei.
Near Zhongshan station.
There are many restaurant in this area, you can find
inexpensive restaurant.

Hotel staff is very gently and kindly.
Room was cold because no heater of air-conditioner,
but staff established heating in my room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiromichelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    65
    27
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
22
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. The hotel was not the easiest to find, though Taipei is known for its alley culture. Spacious room but no view at all, my son's room next door didn't even have a window, the skylight right above the bed caused him trouble sleeping.The furniture, carpet and walls were getting stale, a facelift is due soon. The staff was very helpful but they didn't speak much English, which forced me to use my rudimentary Mandarin, all for the better! The comp breakfast offered many choices: Western, Chinese and Japanese, fresh fruits and yummy breads. Not 5 stars but definitely great value for the room price. I would choose a newer boutique hotel next time, there are lots around the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have read all the reviews before booking. I am sitting here now in the hotel writing this review. Since most of the stuff have been said, I am not going to reinvent the wheel but just give you some low down pointers

1. A majority of boutique hotels are located in "lanes". So don't expect a fancy big entrance. Nonetheless they are very good, including Mai Hotel. If you want a grand big bang entrance, then you should go for the high end hotel chains and pay 2 - 3 times the price.

2.I have done an extensive research and Mai hotel has one of the biggest room for the same price around this vicinity and in the middle of the city. The room I am staying is about 24sqm ( 250 sqft). Most rooms in the vicinity are around 18 sqm (193 sqft). Makes a big difference if you have 2 persons in a room. Please do not compare to the big rooms in the US such as 350 sqft and say this is small. You need to compare apples with apples.

3. Room layout is the same on all floors as per the attached picture. Avoid rooms with numbers 203 and 205 ( or on each floor ?03 or ?05). Although there are windows, you are facing a wall right in front of you. It's just as good as not having a window. 208, 207 and 206 faces the front lane. I am on the 2nd floor. Can be a bit noisy with the restaurants below but it doesn't bother me. Just close the windows, and you can't hear a thing. Overall layout is very good, high quality furniture and modern. Good sleep is something I treasure.

4. Some commented that the breakfast is so so. I don't agree. You have scrambles eggs, bacon and ham, fruits and other basic stuff. That is good enough. Again, remember, this is a boutique hotel and FREE breakfast is provided and your sizable room only cost USD$100 a night. If you take off say USD$15 bucks for 2 pax breakfast, your room only cost USD$85. Now that is a steal. If you want a big bang breakfast with music and birds chipping, then Hilton is your place.

5. Staff is extremely helpful and at least one will speak English. Lots of Japanese guests too. They do speak Japanese too.

6. There is a 24/7 Seven 11 just a minute walk. You can buy literary all your basic stuff there. Still hungry? you can get a good quality heated meal ( I mean it ) there for just USD$2. That is really good. A bottle of 2 litre coke only cost you USD$1.50. Now, that's cheap.

7. Walking distance to the nearest MRT is 7 minutes. I think this is decent. If you want the MRT at your doorstep, then you must be prepared to pay a higher room price or smaller room size.

Overall, a very good place to stay. I would come back here anytime and recommend you guys to consider. Remember, you are paying USD$100 per night with a decent breakfast for 2 thrown in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was there for 5 nights. The rooms are nice and comfortable, and the hotel is very clean and in a good position. The staff is friendly, but they do not speak a good English. The breakfast is not really good, especially for Taipei standard. Also there is no way to set the air conditioning as you like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lhotun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, room was very spacious and clean. Loved the bathroom. It was one of the best hotel toilets I have been to. It was very tastefully done and had a toilet-bidet with seat warmer. The

It was not exactly very close to Zhongshan station and needed to cross some streets to reach the train station. Initially took some time to find the hotel by cab as it was located on a small street and the streets in the area were one-directional and the cab had to turn 1 big round to reach the correct street. But after a while we got used to the location.

Overall the hotel was really value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
225 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a great experience staying in the hotel. We were enthralled by the glass wardrobe in the room as well as the interesting layout of the toilet. We have a bath tub and a shower point. Design of the room is very tasteful. Have requested for toilet roll one night and the staff appeared in 5 mins! The front desk staff are very helpful as well. In terms of giving recommendations and assisting us with our phone purchase of a product. The ladies at the breakfast area are very sweet. Welcoming us with a very warm smile. Food is abundant all around our hotel. foot reflexogy is only mins away. We felt for the service, quality and price that we paid, this is definitely a very value for money hotel. Only complaint is there are no switches on two sides of the bed. Which makes it a bit troublesome for one person compared to the other

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights, the rooms are spacious, it's tidy and clean. Breakfast is not good though. For I time I go, check-in is very slow, I arrive at 14:45 and need to wait until 16:00 before I can check in. The location is convenient, about 6-7 mins walk to Zhongshan station. Got many restaurants nearby and close to Shin Kong Mitsukoshi. However, on the day you arrive, it might be a bit hard to find it since it's on a very small street. Hotel Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.8 mi away
MAI HOTEL-Nanjin E.Branch
MAI HOTEL-Nanjin E.Branch
#211 of 571 in Taipei
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch
0.2 mi away
THE Tango Taipei NanShi
THE Tango Taipei NanShi
#106 of 571 in Taipei
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astar Hotel
Astar Hotel
#255 of 571 in Taipei
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liz Hotel
Liz Hotel
#206 of 571 in Taipei
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
THE Tango Taipei LinSen
THE Tango Taipei LinSen
#154 of 571 in Taipei
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Hotel Zhongshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Hotel Zhongshan

Property: Mai Hotel Zhongshan
Address: No.15 Lane 105, Sec. 1, Zhongshan North Road, Taipei 10446, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mai Hotel Zhongshan 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mai Hotel, with its unique blend of contemporary Asian design and Western luxury, offers state-of-the-art facilities and world-class services at an unbeatable price, making it the perfect choice for business travelers and tourist alike. The elegance of the individually styled rooms creates a welcoming atmosphere in the middle of downtown Taipei. Rooms are equipped with electronic Japanese toilets, showers and/or full baths, flat screen TV with digital cable and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mai Hotel Zhongshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing