We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for a Practical Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch
Ranked #17 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was an excellent hotel for a practical traveler. Rooms were small but well designed and comfortable. I was ill on my recent stay and found the room a comfortable refuge. The service was attentive, friendly and welcoming. Desk staff made sure to let us know that they recognized us as we came and went. Several small amenities made a lot of difference. Off the lobby there is a small laundromat that made it easy to keep up with laundry in a stay of 1 1/2 weeks. At the entrance of the hotel is a bin full of umbrellas which helped a great deal as we were visiting during the passage of Typhoon Usagi. Breakfast was ample, even for a vegetarian and we were able to request a vegetarian entree, usually fried rice with egg, which was actually unneccessary most of the time given the variety of offerings including some form of eggs. My only criticism of breakfast was the limited area of juices and rather average coffee. This place has earned an endorsement from Tripadvisor and justifiably so! Alas, no fitness facilities, although there are swimming pools nearby.

Room Tip: 9th floor seems to have the bridal suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
金蒨, Supervisor at Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Mr. Stephen,

Thank you for choosing Dandy Hotel-Daan branch as your home away from home, we hope that your journey home was a pleasant and restful one.

Thank you for the suggestions of breakfast, we’ll put it under consideration and do our best to satisfy our guests’ expectation. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you again soon.

With best regards,


Lemmi Chin / Hotel Supervisor
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Reserved 6 nights with Dandy via Agoda for quite a competitive rate. Read all the good reviews from both Agoda and Tripadvisor, and was really looking forward to the stay.

Arrived on schedule, except that our luggages were lost in transit in HK. When we first stepped into the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised to be greeted by our names immediately. Apparently, CX had called Dandy to inform them that they would be sending in our luggages later in the evening, and the Receptionist, Krystal, had been eagerly awaiting for our arrival to update us with the latest development of our misplaced luggages.

Check-in was hassle free, since we've paid for everything through Agoda. All Krsytal requested from us was our passports for verification. Though the room was stocked with minibar items, she didn't even bother to request for a credit card deposit! To me, that's an incredible amount of trust she had in us! Wow!

Room was small, but adequately furnished for a pleasant stay. Our room has the magnificent view of Daan Park, and indeed, the view was breathtaking! First moment within the room was confusing, 'cos we couldn't figure out where the light controls were. Then we realized that Dandy had centralized all controls into a remote control unit, placed right beside the bed. So we'll have to make use of the remote control for adjusting all lighting units and air-conditioning. TV does have its own separate remote control though.

Bathroom was clean, and surprisingly, there was an attached jacuzzi next to the shower area! That really brightened up our stay, as my son enjoyed his bath time thoroughly!

One of the selling points of this hotel was its buffet breakfast, located at B1 of the hotel. The spread was good, and as mentioned in all reviews, the services were excellent. We were particularly thrilled to be entertained by the violinist who played a variety of songs to liven up our spirits on a moody typhoon day!

During the rest of our stay, the housekeeping team did an excellent job to tidy up our messy room (filled with quite a fair bit of late night suppers from both the night markets and next-door's 7/11). But I'd say that the best part of this hotel is the impeccable services provided by Krystal and her coworkers attending to the front desk. They'd be providing weather information to one customer, pointing out on the map the route directions to another, and then simultaneously assisting check-in / check-out guests. On some days when their hands weren't so full, Krsytal even helped carried our pram, sheltered us with umbrellas to the cab, and helping us carry our shopping bags when we arrived back from our retail therapy! Maybe it's because this is a small hotel, and that the staffs are expected to multitask whenever possible, but I say these staffs are indeed doing an excellent job, and so much better than those mediocre 4-star hotels' staffs!

Well done, Krysta & staffsl! You certainly took pride in your job and had done well!

Room Tip: If you prefer room with view, then remember to indicate that during your reservation, 'cos not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TayChuenSiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
金蒨, Supervisor at Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and feedback on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to know that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable this time.

I'm sure that Krystal will feel very happy to hear that you enjoyed the your stay at Dandy Hotel-Daan branch. Our goal is to make all of our guests feel like staying home, and have a memorable trip.

We appreciate again for your support and truly hope we can see you soon.
Thank you very much.


Lemmi Chin / Hotel Supervisor
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Am currently staying here and checking out tomorrow. 6days here and I only have good comments and memories for the cleanliness and the deco of this place. On some days, there's a violin player providing live music at breakfast...where can u get that????

All furniture is well maintained and also sheets are bright and clean..probably explains why they are currently ranked 9??

Great place overall, I will stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benkoh9531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
金蒨, Supervisor at Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your precious time to leave a wonderful review on us. I am glad to know that our service could give you a warm feeling. It is our honor to serve you during your trip in Taipei.

Your compliment encourages us to offer better services. Once again, thank you for sharing your valuable experience with other travelers. We are looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Lemmi Chin / Hotel Supervisor
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room was very clean and the facilities were very excellent. The location was not bad. I had to walk about 5~7 minutes from the mrt station but there were many bus stop near the hotel. Most of all, the staffs were very excellent and friendly. If I visit in Taiwan next time, I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munyeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMILYWU丹迪旅店大安森林公園店主任, Assistant Manager at Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience at Dandy Hotel-Daan Park Branch.

We are happy you had such a great experience with us especially in our service field and facilities.
Thank you for your encouraging comments and feedback about your recent stay.
The staff will be very pleased with your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back soon!

With kindest regards,

Dandy Hotel-Daan Park Branch
Assistant Manager -Emily Wu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

our comfortable , clean room was small with no storage space but this didn't matter at all because we only had hand luggage. My husband loved the remote control by the side of the bed that operate all the electrics in the room.The spotless bathroom was a good size with plenty of toiletries.

The tea making facility in the room was very welcome and plenty of bottled water was available on demand . There is also a drinks station in reception. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

This is a good hotel , very reasonably priced and located near to a lovely park.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room if staying for more than a couple of days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnydaysjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
金蒨, Supervisor at Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you so much for the sharing on this website.
It's glad to know that your stay was pleasant and comfortable. Your feedback is so important to us and they are really valued comments to all the travelers.

We appreciate again for your support and truly hope we can see you soon.
Thank you very much.


Lemmi Chin / Hotel Supervisor
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dandy Hotel in Daan Tapei. The service was exemplary. Most of the staff spoke English and could relate to us easily. Our room was roommy and had more amenities then we expected or needed, The free laundry service put my wife over the top with joy. The location was perfect and the public transportation nearby was appreciated so we didn't have to walk too far in the hot Taiwan sun. There was free wi-fi that was speedy. We had a free breakfast with our four night stay as the food was decent but not spectacular. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and stocked with many extras. The hotel is situated directly across from Daan Forest Park. A serene city park that was pleasant to walk in at night. There was a dumpling restaurant (Din Tai Fong) right down the main road (Xinyi) near the Dongmen MRT station that was wonderful. Well known by the locals and draws a big crowd daily-worth the wait. The surrounding area is more upscale and quiet which we prefered from the madness of the night markets, which are still a short subway ride away if you want to go. My wife and I have travelled to many cities together and found this hotel and its location to be one of our favorites. We highly recommend staying there.

Mike from San Francisco

Room Tip: Buy a MRT pass for the days you will be in Tapei. It allows for unlimited use on the MRT and buses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
金蒨, Supervisor at Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Mike,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent review of Dandy Hotel - Daan Branch on TripAdvisor.
It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with our service. As our goal is to make every guest's stay comfortable and enjoyable, your comment is truly a great encouragement to all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully,


Lemmi Chin / Hotel Supervisor
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel overall is good. It is clean and relatively quiet. Location wise, it is about 7 mins walk to Dongmen station and there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which has buses to Wu Fen Pu, as well as Zhong Xiao Fuxing mrt/ shopping area. The laundry is a definitely a plus and they even provide free washing powder. There is a 7-11 right around the corner.

However I was not very please with the room I was checked into, Room 202. It is located on the 2nd floor and the aircon compressor was a bit noisy. I was also quite put off by the "emergency equipment" direction sign in the room which was kept light up through out the night.

I will return again and ask for another room provided they do not increase the room price when the mrt station right at its doorstop open its door end of 2013

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strangger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
金蒨, Supervisor at Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Ms. Ng,

Many thanks for choosing Dandy Hotel- Daan branch and sharing your experience about staying here.

We are very sorry for the discomfort due to the noisy. We’ll check the air conditioner system right away. Please kindly accept our apologies and we had noted your preference in your personal profile.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you again soon.


Yours faithfully,


Lemmi Chin / Hotel Supervisor
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#5 of 585 in Taipei
1,496 reviews
Hotel 73
#15 of 585 in Taipei
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Taipei Hotel
#58 of 585 in Taipei
691 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#22 of 585 in Taipei
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch

Address: No.33 Section 3, Xinyi Road, Daan Dist, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taipei
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#17 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $77 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, Charming, an ExperienceWalking into the Dandy Hotel who will immediately find a bold contrast to the city’s often plush and over-powering hotel lobbies. Dandy Hotel’s Nordic ambience is calming with minimal décor, it is a place where you can relax and soak in a natural elegance.After your long journey, settle down, and rediscover your tempo.The Hotel faces Daan Park, which feels like you’re facing New York City’s CENTRAL PARK.Natural X BasicThe log furniture, cozy and snug with simple and modern design, extends a charming creation of power and beauty.This fashionable decor, elegant and understated, provides you with a brand new accommodation experience.There are 73 guest rooms in the Hotel, with 9floors and 6 types of designs based on natural themes; our guests are provided with a variety of settings for a feeling of comfort and ease.Close Your Eyes, Relax and Build Your Dream at a Leisurely TempoTake a break, log online, or just listen to delightful internet music. At that moment, a truly creative idea may enter your mind.Every staff member in the Hotel is your private secretary and housekeeper; they are ready to take care of you, every detail, at any time.Take your time, enjoy an independent natural lifestyle hotel in the busy city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dandy Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing