We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Eclat Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eclat Taipei
Ranked #15 of 582 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pros
1. Excellent service. Never fails to greet us with a smile. Rushed out with umbrellas to ferry us in when it was raining.
2. Nice room, albiet a little small. High tech with nespresso machines an Bose system. High class toiletries.
3. Breakfast was adequate. Eggs Benedict were very well executed.

Cons
1. Not much shops around hotel. Mrt station is a 15 min walk away.
2. Beds in twin rooms are really small, single size. Just nice for my 2 young sons. Will be a squeeze for adults.

All in all, it's a nice hotel if train station is not a priority. I just feel that the walk is a tad too long and after shopping at shilling night market, lugging back the haul is simply too tiring. Ended up taking a cab, which is not that expensive....

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank caren33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the Hotel Eclat, Taipei.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay and the facilities provided. We value each guests' comment because they provide us the motivation to improve and enhance our quality and services.

Thanking you and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay at the Hotel Eclat, Taipei.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 872 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a boutique hotel and should be reviewed as just that. We had a lovely stay here and would hope that others find the same. Is it a large 5 star hotel? No, if that's what you want then you will miss out but please go somewhere else. If you are looking for large rooms, these are not the largest but for Asia we found them to be on the larger side. Weigh that as you may. What I can say is that the staff is wonderful, from the doormen, to the front desk and all the servers along with the room keepers. All top notch! No one was ever rude, no one ever made us uncomfortable and everyone was always willing to help and go above and beyond. The decor in the hotel is very artsie cool! I found the breakfast to be quite lovely, never waited in line and the staff was always attentive. The location is great...we enjoyed being able to walk to lovely places and take very inexpensive taxi rides to others. My favorite feature of the rooms is the "magic toilet" no touch needed and perfectly heated seat. Pretty sure everyone should experience the magic toilet at least once in their life. I noticed another reviewer had problems with theirs. I am betting they didn't wait the second or two delay. No problems here or any other time I have had a Toto toilet in a hotel room or in my home for that matter. Love this hotel and loved the staff. We travel a lot and have high expectations and while there are some quirky design features such as the shared door for the toilet and shower they are easily overcome with all the other things that are very lovely and accommodating about Hotel Eclat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in providing us with a review of your recent stay. We very much appreciate the kind comments received in regard to the overall ambience and the services that you have enjoyed.

Thanking you and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Eclat in Taipei was an unexpectedly enjoyable experience. We stayed there in December 2012. Although the location is a bit far from the nearest station and it is a fair walk (especially in the rain), it was a modern hotel with attention to the decorative details and the most apt description would be extremely 'cool' with a dark purple colour scheme (some guests may find it a bit gloomy but I think it suits the style). The most striking thing is the Dali-esque furniture and ornaments. The rooms themselves are small but clean and comfortable enough, with Molton Brown toiletries and other high quality products. Breakfast was in the lounge and probably a bit noisy as it is near the reception but the food was satisfactory. Staff were always friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SushiTravelDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the Hotel Eclat, Taipei. On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to learn that we have exceeded your expectations with regard to the artwork in our Hotel and at the same time it is our mission to provide the utmost service to our guests to make them feel welcome while they are away from Home.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay at the Hotel Eclat, Taipei in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

my husband and i stayed in the grand deluxe king room for 5 nights, good value for money compared to other parts of the world.

funky and modern decor, very comfortable and clean room. friendly and attentive staff who gave great advise and travel tips.

location - within walking distance to a local night market, situated between 2 stations (10min each direction), easy train ride to major tourist destinations.

Room Tip: corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the Hotel Eclat, Taipei.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with us. We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place. Service and attention to detail was fantastic as well as location. We highly recommend the Italian restaurant in the basement floor, especially their pizza menu.
Certainly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed and would love to come back to.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank viguela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Came to Taipei for Countdown at Taipei 101, it's a short walking distance there.
The twin room is small, there is not much space to have large luggages. I was not given an upgrade even though I am SLH member and the front desk doesn't acknowledge anything as well.

The floor outside the bathroom was slippery like it;s been oiled, I slipped and fell, the staff did everything to stop the bleeding by bringing ice and first aid kit but I was surprise they did not change my room after the accident, neither did they offer to bring me to the doctor to see if my cut needed stitching. Luckily I was only staying for 2 nights and left. Disappointed overall with how I was handled after being injured in their hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Per5ephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the Hotel Eclat, Taipei!

It is with deepest regret to learn of your unfortunate incident during your recent stay with us and please kindly accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

Guest experiences are very important to us so that preventive measures are taken to avoid repetition in the future and as you had mentioned the "floor outside the bathroom was slippery like it;s been oiled", unfortunately we do not "oil" any area of the guestrooms as every measures are taken for the safety of our guests.

I would very much appreciate if you could contact me at jessica.liu@eclathotels.com with your full name and exact period of stay as I would like to further investigate into this matter.

Thanking you and I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay. A stylish place with quirky features but some irritating problems which other Trip Advisor reviewers have already mentioned countless times. So be prepared to wait in line for the mediocre breakfast. The young staff try their best but are often overwhelmed by guests' requests. Unusual sharing of one door for both the toilet and the shower room mean that if the toilet is being used and you want a shower, there will be water all over the floor. Slippery floors can be very dangerous, particularly when the lighting in the room is "subdued moody". The gimmicky strip lighting on the corner of the shower was amusing to look at for about 5 minutes.
Though the staff at the reception desk were professional, the presence of unsmiling, unfriendly black suited security guards at the entrance and in the lobby really made for an uncomfortable experience. Trying to manoeuvre through this group of stern glaring men
every time we passed the lobby was frankly intimidating. As the lobby area was just one sofa opposite the check in desk, and there was nowhere comfortable to sit, (no complimentary tea or coffee or biscuits, common at other hotels of this price range) The lack of any real effort to make guests feel welcomed and at home really impacted on our enjoyment of this place. Stylish design and gimmicks are no substitute for service with warmth.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greatbroad48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review during your recent stay with us. We highly value your comments as we are constantly striving to improve ourselves to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is with regret that I learn we have not exceeded your expectations.

Please be assured that we have informed our relevant departments regarding your comments in our breakfast and the layout of the room which unfortunately our Premier Room has one door for both the toilet and the shower, however, floor towels are provided in the "shower room" so as to prevent any unfortunate incidents.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Éclat Taipei to convince you of our passion for hospitality.

Thanking you and warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 582 in Taipei
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#498 of 582 in Taipei
2,475 reviews
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#29 of 582 in Taipei
2,597 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#37 of 582 in Taipei
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eclat Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eclat Taipei

Address: No.370 Section 1, Dunhua South Road, Da'an District, Taipei 10684, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#5 Business Hotel in Taipei
#12 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $149 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Eclat Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly located in a quiet part of Taipei’s most fashionable district, Da-An, is Hotel Eclat Taipei, an eclectic, elegant new boutique art hotel. All 60 luxuriously appointed guest rooms equipped with state-of-the-art amenities, including a 42 inch LCD TV offering the largest selection of TV channels and movies available in Taipei today, Bang & Olufsen CD-player with MP3 connectivity, Nespresso coffee machine, Riedel glassware, Montblanc desktop stationery, Aesop bathroom amenities, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eclat Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eclat Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing