We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service that would beat the W ANYDAY!”
Review of Hotel Eclat Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Eclat Taipei
Ranked #25 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service that would beat the W ANYDAY!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Last time we stayed at the W hotel in Taipei, and was very impressed with the service...
This time we decided to stay at the less boisterous Eclat, and had a pleasant stay.
The hotel rooms are well furnished and comfortable, with excellent sound insulation.
The hotel is decidedly smaller, but the district around is also lovely, with plenty of trees and a laid back atmosphere.
Breakfast was very satisfactory.
The only think I did not like was the room fragrance in the lobby...oh well : )
Whilst the location is less convenient than in the Xinyi district, transport is still very acceptable, and when you're on a holiday, who's rushing?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire team at the Hotel Eclat, Taipei, we thank you for staying at our Hotel and delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us. My team and I are constantly striving to improve ourselves and it is through kind feedback like yours that we are pressed to do even better.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    174
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
99
248
72
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Friendly staff with a beautiful, cosy lobby even with the artworks around it! Conveniently located and easy to hail cabs from, our room was well designed with a soft ambience thanks to the lighting! Loved also the complimentary Nespresso and Molton Browns~ Was a lovely hotel to stay at being in Taipei for the first time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3ssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the Hotel Eclat, Taipei!

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Eclat, Taipei, being first time in Taipei and I am delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team and I sincerely appreciate your encourangement and feedback so that we may serve our guests better in the future.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent 5 days, 4 nights in Taipei with my wide and 10 year old son for a city break. We picked up the Eclat hotel because of the comments in tripadvisor, its location and reasonable price. The fact that the are members of the "small luxury hotels of the world" also help the choice. Finally as I was not able to book a suitable room on-line I called the hotel and courteous staff proposed me a suitable solution at a suitable price. I had a good impression even before getting there.

The hotel is very conveniently located, we could walk to Taipei 101 or take the MRT to visit the city.

Our room was smaller than what we are used to but we are three and we were cost concious for once. The equipment and decoration of the rooms is top notch, there is enough space for our two suitcases and decent wardrobe space. The bathroom space is no separated from the room, this is very "design" but make the room more suitable for couples than families. Did I mention the free soft drinks, including beer? The very good set of amenities? And something very rare, they even provided some sleepers and a bathrobe for our son.

The hotel has a small restaurant in the lobby where breakfast is served, but we did not try if for lunch or diner. In the basement is "Cafe Bellini" am Italian restaurant or good quality that we patronised a couple of time. On the second floor the bar "Georges" is a small and cosy place to stop by on the way to you bedroom. They can manage decent cocktails, but the decoration is not on par with the rest of the hotel.

What did I forgot? Above all the staff is extremely nice, and you quickly fell at home. This is the one of the rate hotels where I have nothing to criticize really, nothing that manages to exasperate me over these five days.

Room Tip: The hotel faces a large street, but there are rooms on the back that are quieter. We were on the 9th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LePoulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings and it is our pleasure to have you & your family to stay with us during your recent trip to Taipei.

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our services and facilities. I am pleased to learn that you had enjoyed each one of them such as the ambience of the room, mini bar and even the bathrobe / slippers for your son. It is our mission to provide the utmost service to our guests or what we call it the “Éclat Essentials” to make them feel welcome while they are away from home.

Once again thank you for your praise and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Dali sculpture in the lobby!

The hotel is small and rooms not very big but packed with nicely designed items.

Non-alcoholic drinks in the room are free. Pineapple cake is put on your bed every evening.

Breakfast is rich and filling.

Service is just great! Very helpful staff.

The negative point is - not many shops nor restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings and thank you for taking your time to post the kind comments about your recent stay at our Hotel. We sincerely appreciate the positive feedback and it will be shared with the team.

Thanking you and we look forward to welcoming you to stay with us in the near future.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The staff were all very friendly and happy to have a chat. The room was a good size and very contemporary. The lighting was a nice touch. The amenities in the room were excellent and included items like loofah and lip moisturiser. It was also nice that they included stationery items like scissors in the desk. The breakfast was excellent. There is a small buffet along with a la carte egg menu that you select from. We also enjoyed a dinner in the lobby lounge which was great food but the service was a little slow with my husbands meal arriving well after I'd eaten mine. A drink that I ordered when we sat down didn't show up until I'd finished my meal. This was very different experience to the breakfasts we enjoyed. This hotel is popular with business men.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty76Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings and thank you for choosing the Hotel Eclat, Taipei during your recent stay.

We would like to thank you for your valuable comments. Guest comments are vitally important to us and improvement are only possible if we truly understand our guests' experiences.

We regret and sincerely apologies for the shortcomings that you and your husband had experienced during your meals. Your valuable comments have been very much appreciated and will form the basis for our on-going training and effort to avoid any repition in the future.

I hope that nevertheless you have enjoyed your stay with us and your positive feedback in other areas will be shared with the team.

Thanking you and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here during a weekend while visiting family in Taipei. It's the first time I've stayed in a "Small Luxury Hotel" and I was impressed (I consider myself having stayed in a wide variety of hotels compared to the average joe).

The room was fitted out in luxury: Automatic curtains, full size X.O & VSOP & Vodka bottles, B&O stereo, Nespresso, Mont Blanc stationery, even deluxe japanese Toto toilet seat. The a/c is also one of the best I've experienced in a hotel - I've never had to adjust the temperature at all (which is a first).

The service is top notch as expected and given it's a boutique hotel with limited number of rooms, they do add that extra personal feel / touch to it.

The location is not great for public transport - however given how cheap (and how many there are!!!) taxi are in Taipei, I'd imagine most people who stay in this hotel would choose to get a taxi.

I'd definitely recommend it.

Having said that, here are some constructive feedback to what will make this fantastic hotel a GREAT hotel (IMHO). These are all small details but that is what counts when it comes to great hotels:

- consistency - house cleaning forgot to replace bottles of water
- courtesy - one afternoon the house cleaning just came in without ringing the door bell (albeit quickly realised someone was in room and exited)
- breakfast quality could be improved. Overall feels average e.g. the scrambled egg is more like scrambled omelette. This hotel was famous for their afternoon tea - I'd love to see them being famous for their breakfast as well.
- the bar is located on the second floor with closed windows - seriously? Would be much better moving it to top floor with _some_ natural light and view of 101 at least.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings and thank you for choosing the Hotel Eclat during your recent trip to Taipei.

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our services and facilities. It is our mission to provide the utmost service to our guests to make them feel welcome while they are away from home. However, at the same time we regret to learn of the inconvenience caused to you in regard to our Housekeeping. Your valuable comments have been very much appreciated and will form the basis of our on-going training and effort to avoid any repition in the future.

Thank you and once again we look forward to be at your service in the near future.

Warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Possibly one of the worst hotel i ever stayed. we landed and couldn't check in we had to walk the city for three hours before we can get into our room. once we checked in, the TV in the room doesn't work and the room was freezing. multiple hotel staff came in and out of the room and TV was still not fixed. we were told they couldn't adjust the room temper and asked us to switch off the aircon in the room if we were too cold.

we booked the premier 9 room - nothing was working in that room. not ever the hair dyer.

I would strangely recommend others not to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank StormHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel Eclat Taipei, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the Hotel Eclat, Taipei! We would like to thank you for your valuable comments. Guest comments are vitally important to us and improvement are only possible if we truly understand our guest's experiences.

We regret to learn that you had to wait for your room at the time of check-in as, most unfortunately, the previous guest occupying the room had a sudden bout of sickness and was therefore unable to check-out on time. As the hotel was booked to capacity on the day, our Front Office colleagues offered you a Deluxe Room for you to rest, assuming that you will be tired after your flight, and then change room once your booked room is ready. However, I understood that you decided to explore the city instead.

As to the TV not working properly, technical problems as such are unpredictable and TV was replaced by a new one in a very short time. In regard to the hairdryer, it is in fact working, however for safety reasons, as at most hotels, the temperature is set at not too high a level. We apologies if this did not meet your requirements.

Your valuable comments have been very much appreciated and will form the basis of our on-going training and effort to avoid any repetition in the future.

I hope that you nevertheless have enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you to the hotel.

Thanking you and warmest regards
Jessica Liu
Hotel Eclat, Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Swiio Hotel Daan
#6 of 571 in Taipei
335 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#5 of 571 in Taipei
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madison Taipei Hotel
#72 of 571 in Taipei
303 reviews
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#40 of 571 in Taipei
535 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#51 of 571 in Taipei
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eclat Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eclat Taipei

Property: Hotel Eclat Taipei
Address: No.370 Section 1, Dunhua South Road, Da'an District, Taipei 10684, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Taipei
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#12 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#15 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Eclat Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly located in a quiet part of Taipei’s most fashionable district, Da-An, is Hotel Éclat, an eclectic, elegant new boutique art hotel. All 60 luxuriously appointed guest rooms equipped with state-of-the-art amenities, including a 42 inch LCD TV offering the largest selection of TV channels and movies available in Taipei today, Bang & Olufsen CD-player with MP3 connectivity, Nespresso coffee machine, Riedel glassware, Montblanc desktop stationery, Molton Brow bathroom amenities, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Eclat Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eclat Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing