We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel ruined by lukewarm service”
Review of Hotel Sense

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sense
Ranked #139 of 584 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel Sense is in a very central location in uptown Taipei. It's not near Taipei 101 or Town Hall or the more salubrious end of town, but its in a bustling neighborhood with quite a few restaurants, bars etc nearby - and its not far off the major expressway in from Taoyuan Airport, so its quite easy to get to. (Taxi fare from airport as at June 2013 should be about 1150-1200 TWD).

The rooms are also a pleasant surprise. They're large, with big bathrooms, and a clever interior design which places the minibar and flatscreen tv across the centre of the room on a kind of credenza, which thus divides the large space into a bedroom and a neat little lounge/sitting area for watching TV. There's a desk, a good sized wardrobe with safe etc., a large shower/bath areas with wonderful big Japanese bath and walk-in shower area.

So: very happy with the room, and quite pleased with the location. Why only three stars?

The staff. The staff were indifferent at best, and in the case of one young woman, absolutely rude and inept. If this is the best they can find, then Taipei is in serious trouble. If the management is reading this: TRAIN YOUR STAFF. Train them that when a guest arrives for check-in they should smile and welcome that guest, not chat amongst themselves and discuss how to refill a stapler or some such nonsense. Train them that when the keycard doesn't work, and the tired guest returns it to the front desk to get it re-programmed, they should smile and apologize, not snatch it away and then thrust another one at the guest without even making eye contact. Train them to make a bit of an effort and not look at the guest like he's ruined their day by patronizing their hotel.

Or the guest may decide not to come back. It's that simple.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peekay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angeltseng, 總經理 at Hotel Sense, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Peekay 68:

Warmest Greeting form Hotel Sense.

During your stay at Hotel Sense, our staff did not offer professional service performance,we feel very sorry, please allow me to apologize on Yours.

Thanks for the advice, we will train our employees, always provide the most sincere and dedicated service for client.

Sincerely invite you to stay again.

Best wishes,

Hotel Sense

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 176 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a business trip as the hotel is near the meeting location. Overall, a very central and convenient location in town. 5 minutes walking distance to the metro station. Many shops, stores and eateries around the hotel area. Hotel is more like a small boutique establishment. Rooms are small but clean and modern designs. Noticed many Japanese visitors in this area. Room is value for money. If you are looking for a place to crash out for 1 - 2 nights without spending too much, this might be a place to consider.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Great service, clean room and great location. The price for the value is good. They offer free breakfast and the quality of food is great. It is very comfortable hotel and all the facilities are all recently upgraded.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was in Taipei's Hotel Sense in Jan 2013. Good location with many convenient stores around the hotel, and the metro station is just 3-5 mins walk away.

Although the hotel is small, its rooms sizes is good and relatively larger than other hotels. Decor is quite modern. Enjoyed the room very much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terenceteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely hotel - large rooms and lovely, friendly staff. A pity that they were strict about checking in at 3pm as I arrived at 2pm and had to hang out for an hour. Apparently there were rooms with no windows, but mine had two large windows overlooking the front street. Very comfortable bed, large bath/shower room. Breakfast did not have a huge choice but adequate and satisfactory. Very central - 4 min walk from the Metro station. Taipei is a a lovely, friendly, warm and easy city

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with windows if you are claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. I had booked a room without a window (it was less expensive) and was OK.
The room was good size, the beds and pillows comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities in the room and a good selection of Western channels in the cable TV.
The breakfast buffet (offering Asian and Western foods) was good quality and varied.
The staff at the Reception was helpful. They changed me to a different room after I reported that the WiFi connection in the room was not working properly. They also lent me with an umbrella on a rainy day.
The hotel is located in a commercial/residential area full of small shops, local restaurants and not far from two underground stations.
Even though the hotel is not located in the middle of financial/shopping district, it was a good choice and the underground system allowed us to move easily throughout the city.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who prefers outside the financial/shopping area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adm496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and all we could say is this hotel in Over-rated and will not come back again on our next trip to Taipei! Room has no window, staff are extremely impolite and wifi was useless! Though, breakfast was provided (officially from 7am - 10am) but waitress no longer re-fill from 8:30am onwards and this happenned to us on the 2nd morning. Guests that came in at 9am had no choice but to eat whatever that were left on the hot and cold plates. A few guests complained and they were then provided with fried eggs including us. We then proceeded to the reception to enquire about this and the reply was....."There were too many people this morning"! Gosh....such an irresponsible reply from them! Bfast on the 3rd morning was a little better cos they stop re-filling only abt 9am.....! Every floor seems to have its own wifi connection, however....it does not work most of the time (say above 95% of the time)! This is a very BAD hotel! Only if you want your day to be ruin, then please stay in this hotel....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#74 of 584 in Taipei
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Riviera Hotel
The Riviera Hotel
#45 of 584 in Taipei
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Roumei Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taipei Gala Hotel
Taipei Gala Hotel
#84 of 584 in Taipei
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
FX Hotel - Taipei Nanjing East Road
0.2 mi away
Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sense

Address: No.477 Linsen North Road, Jhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 584 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $95 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sense 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sense is the trendiest boutique hotel in central Taipei. With its cleverly used living space and elegantly designed deco and furniture, Hotel Sense combines fashion and sophistication and redefines what a boutique hotel should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing