We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable, FREE WI-FI, relaxing courteous service, plus full breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Lake Hotel Taipei
Ranked #208 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable, FREE WI-FI, relaxing courteous service, plus full breakfast!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This 14 story property pleasantly surprised me. When I arrived on Christmas Day, 12/25/2011 I was concerned about the photos that I had viewed on the internet regarding the hotel, so I asked to see a room thinking that if I was not satisfied, I would only stay for a couple of nights instead of the full week I had originally scheduled. Upon entering the room, a king sized bed, sofa, 37 inch flat screen, full working desk, black out curtains was what I saw. "I can do this," I thought.

In addition, it is often the small things that make the difference in 3-4 star hotels. This property "gets it". Free wi-fi. For many business and non-business travelers alike, the internet is something desired and believed that it should be complimentary.

Though the hotel does not boast of valet parking, the desk staff is fluent in English and at least a couple other languages. They were very helpful in assisting me to the local lunch fairs and shops. There is a complementary bottle of water every day. Oh, and snacks too alternating between fresh fruit and cheese and crackers. The little things do make a difference.

The bathroom is also spacious and offers a generous amount of amenities including toothbrushes, swabs, lotion and shower gel. The air conditioned room has easy-to-use control at your disposal.

Many hotels in Taipei offer free breakfast however the City Lake Hotel has both hot and continental style items. The spacious area for seating gives guests the feeling of comfort without bumping into other guests. The omelet station chef cooks to your order and the display includes salad items, cereals, freshly brewed coffee (or espresso!) and hot milk, a unique attention to detail. (I don't know about you but hot coffee with cold milk makes no sense to me).

Finally, the location is tough to beat. 3 minutes walk from the subway station. Access to the hotel from the international airport takes about 90 minutes the inexpensive way (express highway bus to Songsang domestic airport, then change to the subway...about 9 US$) or 1 hour the unbelievably expensive way by taxi or hotel limo service, about 50 US$.

For about US$ 100 a night, this service, attention to detail and comfort is tough to beat.

Room Tip: 1) Go to the hotels website instead of using other companies. You will save minimally 80$ US. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harmonyeternal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    37
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
5
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Solo trip to Taipei and I was really impressed with this hotel. Its clean and rooms are a decent size. Its a good 30 mins on the MRT to central Taipei but the MRT station is right outside the hotel. Hotel staff where really friendly and when my air con broke in my room they moved me pretty much straight away without me even asking. If it was just a little bit nearer Taipei centre I would definately return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable. The room that I was staying in was relatively spacious with a king bed and 2 arm chairs, and still affording sufficient empty space around, but the air-conditioning did not seem to be working too well as even though I had selected for the temperature to be at 22 deg, it hovered around 26 deg but felt warmer especially during the day when it was really hot outside.

There was a desktop provided in the room for guest use but it was so slow I would advise against using it if you have your own laptop with you. Wireless came complimentary with the room too but somehow I wasn't able to connect at all most of the times unless at very specific spots in the room. There was also a DVD player provided as well which I did not make use of.

City Lake is located in the Neihu district which by subway (within 3-5 minutes' walk from the hotel), is about 20-25 minutes to the Taipei City Hall station where the 101 is. There are a number of convenience stores/eateries around the hotel so even if you choose to not eat at the hotel (which I didn't during my stay), it is not difficult to get your meals settled.

Other facilities of the hotel: a small gym and a washing area (with washing macines) on the top floor of the hotel; complimentary shuttle services to certain areas in the city and also the Neihu business district (just need to prebook a day in advance); airport transfers (depending on your length of stay/room type it could be complimentary as well).

Buffet breakfast was basic with a small selection of bread/bagels/buns, some local fare of porridge and condiments, an egg counter and cereals/oatmeal with some cheese.

It was not too bad a hotel for a business stay since it was about 25-30 minutes' drive to the office (by shuttle bus) but for holiday, I think I would prefer to stay closer to the city area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verena_amber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Pros:

- Friendly staff
- Convenient location for Neihu district

Contras:

- Mediocre breakfast
- Rundown rooms, quite old
- Slow internet connection
- Quite expensive considering the hotel standards
- Very noisy if windows are opened
- Very limited choice options at the restaurant (same applies to in room dining)

Would not return here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We were actually taken to a room to veiw before booking in to see if it was to our liking!!!!mini bar was included and also the internet.There were snacks and coffee available in the lobby.dinning was excellent and the breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Centrally located in Neihu region and has a good Metro connectivity , accessible by road easily to Taipei 101. good local bus transport. Rooms at the top floors have a good view of the greenery of the near by hillock and a good distant view of 101.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenkyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

You can enjoy good breakfast, especially if you are Asian. The hotel serves you a variety of meals for it. The location is good that you can take public transportation services near the hotel to go to where you want. The rooms are clean and quiet. A lot of restaurants and food shops are located very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taipei
La Maison Hotel
#215 of 571 in Taipei
40 reviews
Neihu District
Hotel June Taipei
Hotel June Taipei
#309 of 571 in Taipei
28 reviews
The Koos Hotel Dahu
#315 of 571 in Taipei
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital Hotel Dazhi
#258 of 571 in Taipei
67 reviews
Fushin Hotel-Taipei
#20 of 182 in Xinbei
60 reviews
Neihu District
Elegance Hotel
Elegance Hotel
#493 of 571 in Taipei
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lake Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lake Hotel Taipei

Property: City Lake Hotel Taipei
Address: No.462 Section 5, Chengkung Road, Neihu District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lake Hotel Taipei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your City Lake Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing