We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel
Ranked #31 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in Eight Elephants for three weeks.
You get to know a lot of new people and the staff is super friendly.
The hostel has a great location with easy access to metro station.
I would love to come back some day.

Great place to stay long term.

Thank you all

Room Tip: The dorms are a bit dark during the day, because there is no sun coming in, so it can be a bit diffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacking_Eskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    26
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
93
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed three nights in a single room and one in a Shared Dorm. The hostel is a very social place with long term guests and staff making it very homely and welcoming to the outsider . Great set up starting with the cosy basement den, mixed dorms and other rooms. Decor is very lived in but in a good way, the rooms are clean and tastefully done and the showers/toilets separate from the rooms which meant there was never any need to queue. Good location to discover Taipei from as the MRT station is only a few minutes walk with a 7-Eleven on the way and a Starbucks on the corner. Staff were very helpful throughout and went out of their way to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: The single room on the ground floor was lovely for three nights especially as I was arriving late fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianinsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location, unfortunately the bed was not as clean as it could of been, maybe it needed de bugging! Room was nice, location was nice, Very close to the next door neighbour. if you were at the window when they were you could probably kiss them.. thats how close it was. unfortunately the neighbour liked to put on the TV loud at 530-6am, so no chance of lie in. We were in the double room. Interior was fab, showers good, nice staff members, very helpful. Just dont stay in the double room unless you want to get up early!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momo1975coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Travelled to Taipei in late Apr - early May & stayed at DD for the whole period of my stay. Location was great, the metro station is 5min walk away.

Got a single room with shared bathroom. room was small but perfect for a single traveller like me. was worried that I'll have to queue for the bathroom but I didn't queue a single time when I was there. there's hot water.

place is kept very clean, thanks to the staff. there's always drinking water available & washing machine for guests to use. they even leave small sweets or chocolates on a table every morning for guests.

DD is a quieter place compared to EE which is next door. The staff and fellow guests were all very friendly. Movie nights were cozy affairs @ EE. Had a blackout on 1 night but there was no screaming involved. The staff calmly lit up some candles.

Overall, the experience was like staying over a friend's place. =)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Everything about Eight Elephants and Dreaming Dragons feels like crashing at a close friend's place, and it made for a very relaxing and social experience, one that definitely complemented the heavy-food-ey nature of my (brief) Taipei trip. The young and certainly conscientious staff were always really friendly, and while I didn't have time to participate in the random "do you want to come with us" trip to hot springs or the bar, it was certainly a nice touch that you hardly can find elsewhere. It's the kind of place built by mutual trust, camaraderie and many interesting stories of every traveler's journey.

The hostel is always clean, the wifi strong, there's laundry you can do, and shower stalls that are never too busy. While I realize I haven't tried any other hostels in Taipei, this is one place I'd be happy to come back to in the very near future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank truediarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Eight Elephants is a great hostel with a fantastic atmosphere, helpful staff, decent facilities and a great location.

My friend and I booked a twin room with Eight Elephants, however we were designated to the neighbouring building which falls under the Dreaming Dragon brand. Unfortunately, this building is just not as good as the EE hostel. The main complaint here is the tiny toilet and bathroom facilities, particularly the flooding shower which meant you were showering in ankle-deep water. The room was spacious and clean enough. The beds weren't the softest in the world but bearable. The common room on the DD side was basically deserted and the overall vibrant atmosphere of a hostel is simply absent.

Luckily, we were welcome to use facilities on the EE side including the bathroom and common room. The bathrooms on this side are fantastic and a complete contrast to DD. The common room was a comfortable place to sit and meet other travellers, very well decorated and a homely feel.

The staff were really helpful, in particular Sara, who provided recommendations on where to eat and where to visit around the overall city. Her advice made our overall visit to Taipei pretty awesome, particularly for travellers without any Mandarin speaking ability. All the staff had excellent English!

Location is excellent - a short walking distance from Guting MRT but in a quiet, closed off street.

Overall, I would recommend staying here but only on the basis that you are booked in on the EE side and not the DD side (perhaps confirm this before booking). Though you could always walk over to EE from DD to use the bathroom and common rooms, it'd be a whole lot more convenient to just have a dorm or double room on the EE side.

Room Tip: Try avoid Dreaming Dragons side as it is not as clean or fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phinallycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed in ee a couple of times. It is a great place with clean facilities, friendly multilingual staff, and a perfect location (3 min walk to mrt, 10 to ntnu and shida night market). I've never had any issues with staff, who are all unquestionably good, kind people who i've regularly seen go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and welcome during their stay. Don't see how anyone could have a bad experience here. Kitchen with free tea and cheap beer, good food close by, great place to meet people, practice your chinese, and relax. Always clean, never walked in the door without seeing some staffmember vacuuming, folding clean laundry, cleaning the showers or toilets, or making sure the stairs are clear of luggage and guests shoes arent blocking the door. Best hostel ever.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.7 mi away
Banana Hostel
Banana Hostel
#38 of 241 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fun Inn Taipei
Fun Inn Taipei
#7 of 241 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.1 mi away
We Come Hostel
We Come Hostel
#17 of 241 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Apartment10F, Taipei Main Station
0.6 mi away
Uinn Travel Hostel
Uinn Travel Hostel
#3 of 241 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleepy Dragon Hostel
Sleepy Dragon Hostel
#10 of 241 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel

Property: Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel
Address: 1F,No.6 Jin-Jiang Street, Lane 48, Alley 4, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Elephants Hotel Taipei
8 Elephants Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing