We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel
Ranked #35 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy place”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Travelled to Taipei in late Apr - early May & stayed at DD for the whole period of my stay. Location was great, the metro station is 5min walk away.

Got a single room with shared bathroom. room was small but perfect for a single traveller like me. was worried that I'll have to queue for the bathroom but I didn't queue a single time when I was there. there's hot water.

place is kept very clean, thanks to the staff. there's always drinking water available & washing machine for guests to use. they even leave small sweets or chocolates on a table every morning for guests.

DD is a quieter place compared to EE which is next door. The staff and fellow guests were all very friendly. Movie nights were cozy affairs @ EE. Had a blackout on 1 night but there was no screaming involved. The staff calmly lit up some candles.

Overall, the experience was like staying over a friend's place. =)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    26
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
94
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Everything about Eight Elephants and Dreaming Dragons feels like crashing at a close friend's place, and it made for a very relaxing and social experience, one that definitely complemented the heavy-food-ey nature of my (brief) Taipei trip. The young and certainly conscientious staff were always really friendly, and while I didn't have time to participate in the random "do you want to come with us" trip to hot springs or the bar, it was certainly a nice touch that you hardly can find elsewhere. It's the kind of place built by mutual trust, camaraderie and many interesting stories of every traveler's journey.

The hostel is always clean, the wifi strong, there's laundry you can do, and shower stalls that are never too busy. While I realize I haven't tried any other hostels in Taipei, this is one place I'd be happy to come back to in the very near future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank truediarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Eight Elephants is a great hostel with a fantastic atmosphere, helpful staff, decent facilities and a great location.

My friend and I booked a twin room with Eight Elephants, however we were designated to the neighbouring building which falls under the Dreaming Dragon brand. Unfortunately, this building is just not as good as the EE hostel. The main complaint here is the tiny toilet and bathroom facilities, particularly the flooding shower which meant you were showering in ankle-deep water. The room was spacious and clean enough. The beds weren't the softest in the world but bearable. The common room on the DD side was basically deserted and the overall vibrant atmosphere of a hostel is simply absent.

Luckily, we were welcome to use facilities on the EE side including the bathroom and common room. The bathrooms on this side are fantastic and a complete contrast to DD. The common room was a comfortable place to sit and meet other travellers, very well decorated and a homely feel.

The staff were really helpful, in particular Sara, who provided recommendations on where to eat and where to visit around the overall city. Her advice made our overall visit to Taipei pretty awesome, particularly for travellers without any Mandarin speaking ability. All the staff had excellent English!

Location is excellent - a short walking distance from Guting MRT but in a quiet, closed off street.

Overall, I would recommend staying here but only on the basis that you are booked in on the EE side and not the DD side (perhaps confirm this before booking). Though you could always walk over to EE from DD to use the bathroom and common rooms, it'd be a whole lot more convenient to just have a dorm or double room on the EE side.

Room Tip: Try avoid Dreaming Dragons side as it is not as clean or fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phinallycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed in ee a couple of times. It is a great place with clean facilities, friendly multilingual staff, and a perfect location (3 min walk to mrt, 10 to ntnu and shida night market). I've never had any issues with staff, who are all unquestionably good, kind people who i've regularly seen go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and welcome during their stay. Don't see how anyone could have a bad experience here. Kitchen with free tea and cheap beer, good food close by, great place to meet people, practice your chinese, and relax. Always clean, never walked in the door without seeing some staffmember vacuuming, folding clean laundry, cleaning the showers or toilets, or making sure the stairs are clear of luggage and guests shoes arent blocking the door. Best hostel ever.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Warm friendly enviroment, kind fun staff who will help with any thing you want to know, cemtral location 5 minutes walk to mrt station which convieniantly connects you to all of taipei. Market close by, local shops and resteraunts withn 3 minutes walk. Washing and ironing facilities, cosy common room, cooking facilities, fun parties, movie night, all in all a nice relaxing location after your hard slog around taipei. The dorm rooms are warm and quiet being located downstairs with showers upstair to keep noise down for guests. There is a second building called dreaming dragon which houses more private rooms, however anyone can still use the facilities at EE.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

like a home in Taipei~(the best comment i could give to a hostel!!!!
i travel with a friend. we met nice friends there and went to night market with them. a lovely staff gave us a map and showed us how to find the shops we would need(about milktea, cellphone number and so on) around the living place. the decoration of the hostel is so comfortable and warm, therefore we enjoyed a good time not only outdoors but also indoors. the staffs share delicious dumplings and cake with us during the festivals too. definitely would choose EEDD if we travel to Taipei again~

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank su x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My five night stay in Taipei was excellent and staying in EE surely played a great part.
The staff are fantastic: patient (thanks Romain for letting me in very late at night!), helpful (I witnessed the girls making so many calls in mandarin to help guests in whatever they needed) and make you really feel at home. Every area including the bathrooms/showers is very clean and wi-fi works just fine.
As I was travelling to Taipei on my own, I can only have enjoyed having met many people from different horizons in a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
The hostel is next to Guting MRT station which is very central and especially adequate if you want to visit the main places in Taipei as not all of them are located in the same area.
There are also 24hr shops as well as post office, ATMs and a cell phone shop - all being a 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank batedeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.3 mi away
Li Yuan Hotel
Li Yuan Hotel
#332 of 575 in Taipei
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency
0.6 mi away
Uinn Travel Hostel
Uinn Travel Hostel
#4 of 242 in Taipei
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fun Inn Taipei
Fun Inn Taipei
#7 of 242 in Taipei
165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oxygen Hotel Taipei Main Station
1.9 mi away
Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel

Property: Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel
Address: 1F,No.6 Jin-Jiang Street, Lane 48, Alley 4, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Elephants Hostel
Eight Elephants Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing