We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lin Yi Hui - nicest person ever”
Review of HOLO Family house

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOLO Family house
Ranked #104 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Reviewed September 15, 2013

i stayed here, I'm staying here, right now, as i write this. the dorm rooms are pretty big and the beds are wood and yadayada it's everything that every other basic accommodation hostel is. no they don't arrange trips or pub crawls, but that's not their fault, it just so happens that their is nothing to do in tai pei. unless you love sidewalks. but the front desk people at this place, it's what they say about Taiwan, the people are so NICE. there's one girl here, Lin Yi Hui, who honestly might be the nicest person outside of new zealand. she got me cake, and stinky tofu, and everyone falls in love with her. but everyone that works here is like that. they're all awesome. thats why you came to taiwan, for the people, and that's why this is a good place to stay. this is my first and only review on trip advisor. SO MUCH POWER!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for HOLO Family house
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 72 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hostel is clean, efficient and comfortable. Location is about as good as you could get. Rooms are mostly internal (i.e. no windows - other than the panoramic tatami room for 3). The walls are very thin so make sure you bring ear plugs.

To find it find south gate 3 exit from the Taipei Main Station, cross the intersection and the building is Asian Square (not labelled in English) which is to the left of the Mitsukoshi Department store (when facing from station). Hostel is on 22nd Floor.

Room Tip: There is a tatami room for 3 people with panoramic views over Taipei
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Most convenient to Taipei station (also close to the bus terminal).
Dorm and individual type are available.
Self-catering is required.
Hospitality as family-Like.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nobu_3jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had an amazing time there. There was free breakfast in the morning. It was right on the rail line. The staff was helpful. The room was clean.

We arrived at 2am (we told them we were arriving around this time). Rocky (the owner?) came to the front desk in his pajamas after we rang the doorbell. We didn't then realized we didn't have enough money for a nights stay... Rocky did not seem to mind and said we could pay the next day once we had money. He wouldn't take all of the money we did have, but gave some back so he knew we would have food to eat the next day. Rocky was a genuinely nice guy. Each night when we arrived back, Rocky offered us free drinks. It was a fun atmosphere hanging out with other guests there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanB538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights and the most impressive aspect was the view of Taipei from the 22nd floor. I would not say that is a place for romance, but it is incredibly convenient. We literally walked across the road from the Main train station and a great range of local food and entertainment surrounds this place.

It is a quirky space with lots of handmade touches and soft toy decorations, our room was very good value for its size. Sounds can carry from room to room but we had very respectful neighbours.

The central area is a little cramped for the free self serve breakfast, which consisted of a traditional savoury rice porridge and white toast with a good selection of condiments, I recommend the coconut paste butter on toast.

The bathrooms and bedrooms are cleaned everyday (It is mainly a bin change for the bedroom) and the place is overall kept very clean.

My only superficial criticism is the broken appliances that took up valuable seating space for the common area during breakfast.

There are a few mosquitoes surprisingly at this height, but apparently if you kill 100, you get a 100% discount off. At the time of writing this review, I was up to 10 kills in 4 days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metazorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I read all the reviews here before I decided to stay there. I was fully prepared and it was definitely not as bad as what they said. I talked to the owner holo and he was really humorous.

The room has four beds and the restroom is clean. The breakfast is basic and I was too full to have any more. I got to talk with people from other places and was really glad to have those conversations during my solo trip.

Free wifi, free water here which are charged when I stayed at some hotel in London which costed me 150 pounds one night.

The only complain is that the hostel people will often knock and come in my room to get food from the fridge. and the mattress is really hard which I don't really care but someone with a bad back might have to take into consideration.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigizhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After initial difficulties checking in (when the guy turned up (which involved skyping the hostel and being reconnected) he was either drunk/stoned or extremely sleep deprived), I had a great time. The rooms are clean and basic. Annoyingly there is an aircon in the room, but the staff turn it on for you as there is only 1 remote – you have to find someone if you want to turn it off or change temperature. The common bathrooms are fine, although as they are wet rooms, and there are no separate toilets, it can be annoying if someone has just had a shower. The views from the common view are amazing. Breakfast was toast, tea and fruit. The lady running the place was terribly friendly. I came back for a second stay a few days after my first.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Morwing Hotel - Fairy Tale
Morwing Hotel - Fairy Tale
#123 of 574 in Taipei
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
NYS Loft Hotel
NYS Loft Hotel
#8 of 247 in Taipei
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nihao@Taipei
Nihao@Taipei
#23 of 241 in Taipei
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Work Inn TPE
Work Inn TPE
#28 of 241 in Taipei
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smile Inn
Smile Inn
#178 of 574 in Taipei
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Here-There Hostel - Zhanqian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOLO Family house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOLO Family house

Address: 22F-2, No.50 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road, Taipei 10041, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range: $22 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HOLO Family house 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is situated at the heart of Taipei, giving travelers a spectacular view of the city.En-suites are well-maintained and catered to your needs. The Hostel contains full facilities for travelers such as free internet connections, a/c, laundry and guest kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HOLO Family house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holo Family House Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing