We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fullerton Hotel East Taipei
Ranked #340 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is an old hotel with it's a standard facilities. Room is large enough but the facilities inside must be updated. Breakfast in the shall restaurant with a limited menu. internet connection is good enough, wifi in the lobby area a and cable in the room......

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fajar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 172 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2012

1. At the airport, if you don't want to spend a lot of money on cab fare, you can take a coach bus. The one I took was 建明飛狗 (sorry don't know their English name). It costs NT$140 and get off at the 榮民服務處 (veteran affairs office) stop. Walk towards the rear of the bus (that direction), keep walking until you see a main street, turn right and you'll see the hotel on your right shortly after. The only thing about taking a coach bus is the driver doesn't load or unload your bags for you. But it's a much cheaper way to go!
2. The hotel staff is very courteous and helpful.
3. The hotel is a bit far from the closest subway station (the Sun Yat-Sen Memorial Hall station), about a 15 minute walk. But I was told that a subway station close to the hotel will be opened in 2014. In the meantime, you could take a cab from the station back to the hotel. Get out at exit 5, turn right at the light and you'll often see cabs there. It costs NT$90 (gratuity is not necessary in Taiwan).
4. If you want to go to Taipei Main Station, take bus 307. Make sure you ask the staff which direction to go as 307 runs in both directions. Some of the buses announce the stops, but some don't. If it doesn't, ask someone or have the hotel write the name of the stop in Chinese for you, so you can ask someone. The Taiwanese people I met are all very nice and helpful.
5. When you return, take bus 204. Sorry didn't take this bus on my way back, so I don't know which stop to get off.
6. When you want to go to the Taoyuan International Airport, you can take a cab. Or, if you want to save money, take a cab to Song Shan Airport (about 5 minutes away), tell the driver you're going to 國光號 (sorry don't know the English name), a coach bus. It costs NT$125. Again, you need to load and unload your own bags. But considering the money you can save, I think it's still worth it. One thing to note is there is a coach stop at Sun World Dynasty Hotel to Taoyuan International Airport, but this bus goes all over town before getting on the highway to the airport. So, taking the Song Shan Airport and bus route saves time. It took me about 45 minutes (without traffic) to Taoyuan on the bus.
7. Breakfast is included in my room. Not a lot of variety, but it has Western and Chinese choices.
8. There is a 24 hour Watson (like a Walgreen in the States) and Japanese rice bowl restaurant (sort of like a fast food place) near the hotel. Plus, there is a convenience store right next to the hotel. There are also other convenience stores, such as 7-11 close to the hotel as well.
9. My last comment is my room looks clean but a bit old. I was told that they're in the process of remodeling the hotel. The lobby is done, and they're working on the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonTraveler9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a small business hotel but it was comfortable and very convenient. The MRT was just 5 minutes walking from the hotel and from there you can go to all destinations in Taipei with MRT. The surroundings is clean and orderly and there is a beef noodle soup fast food and also a chinese restaurant nearby. The famous weekend market is walking distance too, about 15 minutes.
The staff of the hotel are accomodating and nice, although not everyone can speak english well.There is also free wifi and the breakfast has a lot of selections.
The Taipei 101 is also within site but is too far to walk. There is a bus that goes to the 101 at the MRT station as well.. i will surely come back to this hotel and to Taipei. Taipei is a nice and clean city, and the prices of their goods are reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a high floor and a room facing the 101 building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdsaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

If you want a hotel within walking distance to MRT stations, this is not the hotel for you. Nanjing East Station is close to 2 km away while Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall Station is slightly more than 1 km away. There is not much to see between the MRT stations and the hotel. It is also not a easy walk with traffic junctions/small roads along the way. The way between Nanjing East Station and the hotel is also affected by construction sites. Taxis are ok as long as there's no traffic jam.

Room is spacious with adequate lightings, and the hotel provides things like soap, shampoo, hair dryer, slippers, bath robes, safe, kettle, bottled water, toothbrush and toothpaste etc. Only complaint is that the hotel uses centralised air con system so you can't switch it off when you woke up freezing during the night.

Staff are friendly and efficient. The chambermaid/housekeeper greet us every time and she finished making up the room when we had our breakfast.

Hotel provide free WIFI in the lobby and the restaurants but the signals were not very stable.

Buffet breakfast is ok. Not a wide spread but there is sufficient variety. Also, the restaurant is not big so you've got to be careful when walking around with food/drinks.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed for 1 night in this hotel. Location is not close to metro station, anyway i can take taxi to access Taipei 101, or nearby night food market.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggytsang2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed here as part of packaged tour for 2 nights. Was actually supposed to stay at a different place with better location so was a bit disappointed with arrangement. Hotel room seems renovated though quality was lacking. Many eateries and shops along both sides of hotel entrance. Hotel buffet breakfast was average but seats were very cramp, no walking space in between. They should change all tub chairs to something smaller as guests have no qualms about pushing their chairs to block walkways.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Snoopy6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel, I felt that a little bit "aged"! Location is ideal, anyway i am not so care about the location of this hotel, cause i can take taxi to access... THE MOST IMPORTANT THING to me is SERVICE here IS REALLY TERRIBLE!!!! NOT HELPFUL STAFF!!!! The frontdesk counter staff, and even the staff who working in restaurant seemed indifferent and uninterested in answering questions.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen_ng1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Capital Hotel Nanjing
#348 of 578 in Taipei
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Songshan District
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel Taipei
Hotel East Taipei
#143 of 578 in Taipei
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fullerton Hotel East Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fullerton Hotel East Taipei

Address: No.32 Section 5, Nanking East Road, Taipei 105, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $62 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fullerton Hotel East Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fullerton Hotel East Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing