We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with excellent location”

Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency
Ranked #368 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with excellent location”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

we stayed at this hotel for over a week and found it great value. We were given a free airport transfer and found the rooms clean and the staff very helpful and knowledgeable. The location was great, right on top of the metro exit and near Shi Da area which is filled with good cheap restaraunts and places to spend the evening. If ever back in Taipei this would be my choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyBirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    27
    5
    10
See reviews for
24
9
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2008

We've stayed at the Friends Star many times, in fact, I've recommended this property to relatives and friends and they've stayed there as well.

The last trip was with my family during March 2008. We were there on family business. Our rooms were on the 9th floor, 911 and 922. 911 was a room in the "middle" of the complex, which meant there were no windows. It was a Japanese-style room, with a full size bed and a small seating area with a table, as well as a make-up table and mirror. Our room, 922, was an exceptionally small room - there were no closets to hang out clothes in and there was minimal walking room. We didn't mind all that much since we didn't expect to stay in the room too long. There are min-fridges in every room - but you can easily store your own purchased goods from the neighborhood 7-11.

There is complimentary buffet breakfast each morning, both Western and Chinese style. There are an abundance of choices - my mom really liked the home-cooked vegetables.

The rooms are clean, and the housekeeping staff is friendly. The rooms come with the standard amenities of shampoo, soap, lotion, as well as toothbrushes and toothpaste.

Friends Star is located very conveniently to an MRT stop, GuTing Exit #8.

If you are a business person or even just a couple on a budget, this hotel is definitely for you.

  • Liked — Close to transportation, clean but still within budget.
  • Disliked — Some rooms don't have windows! Which is pretty common in Asia... you definitely have to ask for one.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

My family and I have just returned from a 2-week vacation from Taiwan. We stayed at this hotel on our last 3 nights before our departure. My wife booked the hotel online. We got it for around US$50/night. First impression of the hotel was very clean. The location was great since it is next to the Taipei subway which is very convenience. One thing I really dislike about the hotel is the smell of smoke. The hotel clearly posted no smoking signs and you could still smell heavy smoke on the hall way and in the guest room. The room we were given smelled like a crack house. There was also an ashtray in the guest room even this is a non-smoking hotel (kind of oxymoron). When we approached the cleaning lady, she replied saying nothing much they could do. My wife called up the front desk and demanded for another room since we could not stand the smell. The front desk lady was professional enough to give us another room at different floor. The room was better but the hallway still smell a little.
Most of the hotels in Taiwan provide free breakfast and so does this one. The breakfast was average with toast (butter, jelly, and peanut butter) and plain porridge plus coffee, milk and OJ. The breakfast room was very small with only a few small tables. If you show up during peak hour (around 7:30-8:30am), you may end up sharing the small table with other guests. The hotel provides free internet. There was a small gym but we never used it. The hotel provides free shutter to the CKS International airport if you stay more than 3 nights which saves you around (1,000NT). The hotel also provides shutter to drop you off anyway within the city limit but you need to notify the front desk 2 hours in advance.
Overall, this is a clean, cheap and reasonable hotel. If you have asthma or sensitive to smoke, stay away from this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room smells like crack house
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank drcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taipei hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2006

We were a party of 4. My husband and I, my one year old son and my maid. The rooms were terribly small. There was no walking room left the minute we opened our luggage. The breakfast was tucked right up on the 7th floor in a tiny restaurant. The spread was terrible. The staff was also not friendly at all. Thank goodness we only stayed there for one night before flying off to Hualien.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 11, 2005

***Winner: TripAdvisor's Best Review of a Hotel With No Reviews Contest***

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Friends Star hotel from August 28th - September 9th, 2005 (a total of 12 nights).

This is a hotel chain, which is reputable. Nothing sleazy or 'motel' like, so you can stay here even with children in confidence.

The hotel has an airport pick-up service, which costs 1100NT (less than $40USD roundtrip) for your group, not individually. If you stay for more than 7 nights, this service is free of charge.

At first glance, the hotel is very small. It is situated on a busy street in an area that houses many electronic stores. It is a fairly clean area, with a KFC across the street and a McDonald's across another street. Around the corner, there are coffee shops, a 7-11 and many food shops. Literally right outside the hotel is the GuTing MRT Station (Exit #8) so taking their form of the subway is not a hassle at all. This station is also very convenient in terms of getting to the other places. Although it is not a central stop, it is a hub for two other lines on the MRT and is a fairly 'central' point on the MRT map so that you are never really far from the other places. I'm not familiar with the bus system in Taipei, but there were a few buses that stopped in front of our hotel as well. There are two universities in the area, one that is quite famous. This is a safe neighborhood as you will see many students milling about.

We arrived at the hotel at approximately 9AM. Check-in time is at 12PM so they notified us that in order for us to check-in at 9AM, we would have to pay 200NT for every hour (600NT total for the 3 extra hours). This came to about less than $20 so we agreed, even though we thought this was quite unreasonable since the room was ready. One note - be sure to ask for a room with a window because Taiwan hotels have rooms without windows and for those that are semi-claustrophobic, like me, I need to see the sun and the moon. These rooms also cost a little more than the rooms without windows.

The room is cozy; not large but not too small. Just what you can expect in a small country such as Taiwan. The bathroom is full of amenities - toothbrushes, toothpaste, comb, shampoo, etc. The TV is fairly large and there are a good number of channels to select from. One thing that bothered me about the room was the fact that it had speakers installed on the ceiling, where you can listen to the radio. When you turn off the radio, you can still hear faint music from the speakers. I am a very sensitive person to noises so of course, this bothered me at night when I tried to sleep. My boyfriend heard nothing, so it all depends on the person.

Complimentary breakfast is served from 7:30-10:30. HOWEVER, if you get there past 9AM, there is usually a lack of selection available. They have both Western (toast, eggs, meat, fruit, cereal) and Chinese (rice porridge, man to, 7-8 dishes) as well as the usual coffee, tea and juices. I have to commend them on this as there is a wide selection and it is provided FREE OF CHARGE.

The one thing I strongly disliked about this hotel (which is also true for many of the hotels in Taiwan) is that they did not let you carry your own hotel room key with you when you left the property. They keep the keys at the counter. Normally I would not have qualms with this, however, there is not much security in terms of who can have access to these keys. I don't know if they recognize us or not (since the ladies at the counter rotates everyday) but all you had to do was tell them your room # and you received the key. There is also no computer system; everything is manual.

We paid 1875NT per night, which comes out to be about $60USD. In American standards, this is dirt cheap, especially for the type of room we had. I would recommend this hotel for those on a budget, and those wishing to be in a good area.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Li Yuan Hotel
#332 of 571 in Taipei
44 reviews
Saual Keh Hotel
#217 of 571 in Taipei
141 reviews
Wing Hotel Taipei
#286 of 571 in Taipei
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wanhua District
Inhouse Residence
Inhouse Residence
#252 of 571 in Taipei
23 reviews
Good More Hotel - Shida
#367 of 571 in Taipei
7 reviews
Hotel 73
#17 of 571 in Taipei
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency

Property: Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency
Address: No.11 Section1, Ho-Ping West Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friends Hotel-Yo Xing Regency Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing