We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels good at Astar Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Astar Hotel
Ranked #229 of 564 Hotels in Taipei
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Feels good at Astar Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Anyone who plans to visit Taipei, I would highly recommend ASTAR HOTEL. It is located at No. 98, Lin Shen N. Rd. Taipei Zhongshan. It is a 45-minute drive from the Taoyuan International Airport Terminal 1. The hotel receptionists are very courteous and warm. Since it is not English speaking place, they tried their best to make you feel welcome. Though some of the receptionists find it hard to communicate in English they will find a way to express themselves. The hotel room is big, cozy and organized. The wifi signal is very good.
I love the location. It is near and usually 10mins walk to the bus station and the MRT station. The shopping establishments are just around the corner. There are also lots of convenience store and restaurants in the nearby area.
This is on top of the very cheap accommodation rate. For 3 nights we just paid 9122NT. 

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
14
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This was a great little hotel for our stay in Taipei. We stayed 8 days while we played tourist and visited lots of Taipei. It is very convenient to the MRT - 2-3 blocks and the main train station. Lots of little shops and restaurants. Excellent staff - took great care of us and our lack of Chinese speaking ability. Beds were great, rooms clean. An overall great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Checked in around 2 am from a flight and checked out the same morning. We just needed a nice shower and a few hours rest after a flight. Staying at a nice hotel that morning would have been a waste. Our room had no window but at that time it wasn't important since we just intended to sleep there, hence preferred darkness. Small room, low ceiling, no window = claustrophobia warning. Clean bathroom. Rest of the room seemed clean but not fully inspected due to short stay and darkness. 5-10min walk to the Taipei High Speed Rail Station - ideal if you have a train to catch early in the morning - or any time actually so you won't have to bother with traffic. Path going there is wheeled luggage-friendly but not covered. I'd stay there again if I had the same flight and/or need to go to the HSR station.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

The hotel is located about 10mins walk from Zhongshan station, along the way you will pass by a variety of shops. Near the hotel are also good places to eat, 50 Lan for good bubble tea, a japanese curry place just beside the Macdonalds and also a ramen place just beside the jap curry place. From our hotel, we took about 30min to walk to the nearest Ningxia Night Market, which has awesome pork soup and other kinds of food.
The hotel looks slightly old but the rooms are comfortable. Our room 306 was much larger compared to our friends' in 307. The TV offers pretty good channels and there is a good working safe as well. If you bring along a laptop, they will provide a cable for you to use the internet. One thing that could be improved on - each person only has 1 lumpy pillow to sleep! Quite insufficient in my opinion, and it really was quite a lumpy pillow.
In terms of service, the night staff are really quite clueless about things to do and where to go. The lady looked quite bored and was not very helpful. However we tried asking the morning staff and they were much more helpful and knowledgeable.
Overall, our stay was comfortable and pleasant :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpletravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

The hotel is quite old but they renovated it. It's the usual budget hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights and we were very pleased on how we were treated. The Hotel Executive Manager was the one who attended to our needs. He was very nice to us during our entire stay in the hotel. I therefore recommend this hotel to those you would like to have fun in Taipei. The only thing I was not really happy about our stay in Astar was the free breakfast.

By: LovemyMan

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovemyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Liz Hotel
Liz Hotel
#187 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
THE Tango Taipei LinSen
THE Tango Taipei LinSen
#139 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Hotel Linsen
Rose Hotel Linsen
#411 of 564 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charming Castle Hotel
Charming Castle Hotel
#238 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
THE Tango Taipei ChangAn
THE Tango Taipei ChangAn
#142 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mai Hotel Zhongshan
Mai Hotel Zhongshan
#188 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astar Hotel

Property: Astar Hotel
Address: No.98 Lin Sen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 564 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Astar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing