We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't expect entertainment”

Taipei Confucius Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Taipei Layover Tour: Private City Sightseeing with Round-Trip Airport Transport
Ranked #17 of 547 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Didn't expect entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a marvelous singer with guitar accompaniment while we were here. Great place to relax and appreciate the architecture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelWriterDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    206
    93
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
166 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

At first, my initial expectation to this place is quite boring.
However, write from the time we alighted from the Yuanshan MRT station, until the time we returned we are delighted with the sights and experience we had.

Going to Confucious temple we took Yuanshan station, there were a row of food shops few steps away from the station. Oyster misua, dumplings and bubble teas were all delicous on those shops.

Inside the temple, there were traditional chinese band playing chinese sounds to set your moode for this place. Surprisingly, there was a 4D theater inside, and it has free entrance, what's more surprising is upon entering the theater you will be given a souvenir gift!

After this visit, we move to the neighboring temple: Pao An Temple.

We also walked around the Expo area which has several scenic spots, I would highly recommend to cross the red arch bridge and discover more scenic spots on the other side of the road!

Be prepared with aircrafts flying every 5-10 minutes around the area, since the local domestic airport is nearby.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olegna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sai Kung N.T., HONG KONG
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great "two-fer" tourist destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Bo-an Temple just down the street is a great place to start. Built (and later rebuilt a few times) in 1805, it is Taiwan's oldest and one of the most ornate. Then walk over to the Confucius Temple, first check out the map, and then go in the courtyard to your left to the main building, and around the left side, see when the 15 minute 4-D presentation will be next in English. Tour the grounds, walk through the slightly overpriced gift shop and then have a coffee or tea on the terrace.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaiKungSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not as 'touristy' as temples in central Taipei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

By subway from the Taipei Main Station on the Red line north towards Danshui or Beitou. Get off at the 4th stop, Yuanshan. Turn right out of the station and the Confucius temple is sign posted about 200 yards away. The smaller but very pretty Baoan temple is next door.

The Confucius Temple is much less ornate than the Taoist temples, they don't have as many carvings or icons, as they reflect the simple lifestyle that Confucius lived.

The temple attracts fewer tourists than those in central Taipei, being less ornate and a little way out. The temple sits in walled grounds and gardens and is quiet with a serene atmosphere. Look out for the red-breasted squirrels in the gardens, they are timid, they are quite different to either our red or grey squirrels.

Look up at the roofs, they have beautiful carved and painted water dragons which protect the temple from fire. The main hall roof has carved owls on it, they were said to be vicious birds until Confucius educated them.

Allow about an hour for your visit and about 20 minutes by the MRT metro each way from Taipei Main station.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
196 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a beautiful temple, and property! It was raining when I visited, and I still loved it and was able to get some great pictures. It's easy to walk to from the MRT station, and it's near Baoan Temple, also...as well as some other attractions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taipei Confucius Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing