We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price, but definitely could not stay here long term”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taipei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taipei Ximen BackPackers
Ranked #103 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Reviewed September 19, 2010

After the previous decent reviews, I decided to book a stay at this hostel in their private ensuite room for 5 nights while I looked for longer term accommodations. I'm currently here in Taiwan for 3 months attending the mandarin program at NTU. I figured 5 nights would bring me to just the beginning of September and if things worked out I could move into another place before the whole 5 days was up.

Getting to the hostel from the Taoyuan Airport was easy. The hostel's website does a great job giving you directions on how to get there. Once there, the hostel was on the 2nd floor, up a relatively steep flight of stairs and no elevator. So beware if you have lots of luggage; it'll be a bit of a struggle. I left one of my luggage at the bottom of the stairs while I went to check in at the front desk. The ensuite rooms (as the other reviewer mentioned) is in another building. One of the employees showed me to the ensuite room. It's only about a 5 minute walk, but being Canadian, I was not used to the heat while carrying a 65L backpack and dragging a medium suitcase.

Thankfully there was an elevator at the other building and my room was on the 5th floor. The room itself was pretty sparse. I ended up booking a double bed room as the single rooms were full. Bathroom was a good size with no tub (as is common in Taiwan). There was a mini fridge available and I opened it to find a cockroach scurrying around inside (welcome to Taiwan!!) - so I didn't end up using it during my stay. It didn't feel too cold anyway. The other furnishing in the room included a table with 2 chairs and a closet with some drawers. The bed was not the most comfortable - heck sleeping on a park bench would have been the same. But I didn't expect much from a hostel. The room does have air conditioning.

While out exploring my surroundings, I got a bit lost and thankfully bumped into one of the employees at a street corner. She took me back to the main building and gave me a few maps so that was nice.

The good - This hostel is in a great location, near the Ximending area. LOTS of food, lots of shopping and lots of things to see and do! It's only about a 5 min walk from the Ximen MRT station so it's very accessible. The ensuite building is off a lane as the previous reviewer mentioned, but I actually felt quite safe. I got back around 3am one time and did not feel scared at all (I'm female). There are quite a few businesses also on the same laneway. The private ensuite room ended up only costing ~$50 CAD a night, which is unbeatable for a solo traveller on a budget.

The bad - Cockroaches, and very unstable wifi connection. Wifi and being able to connect to the internet was very important to me as I needed to look online to find a place to live for the next 3 months. The internet worked fine the first day but on the 2nd day it didn't work at all. I knocked on the door of another room to see they might have the same problem and they said the internet connection cuts out from time to time. I called the main building to see if someone will fix it but no one ever did. The next day it happened again, and by then I was losing my patience. I ended up having to trek over to the other building with my laptop to use the internet there. Totally NOT acceptable and I let them know of my frustration. From then on, it happened another 3, 4 times during my stay (too often if you ask me) but the rest of the time they were good about going over to fix the connection promptly.

As for the cockroaches, I understand they're a part of life here. During my stay I saw a few scurrying around- no big deal. However, it got very annoying when I was packing my stuff up on my last time, and found one crawl out from my clothes. That was not fun. I had to repack everything and make sure I didn't have any cockroach stowaways. So it's best to keep all your luggage and stuff zipped up during your stay there!

All in all, not a bad place to stay for the price. However, if your budget was a bit higher, I'd definitely recommend another hostel/hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2010

I stayed at Taipei Ximen Backpackers for most of my trip in Taiwan. The place is very conveniently located in the Ximen district, near the MRT station. Directions there are clearly indicated on the website so it's not hard to find. The staffs are helpful and friendly.

I've stayed in both the double bunk bed rooms and the ensuite rooms. The bunk bed rooms are relatively small but it is clean and relatively comfortable, though the walls are kind of thin so you can hear people walking about outside the room.

If you are willing to pay abit more, which I did, the ensuite rooms situated at the opposite street ensures more privacy and I think it was well-worth the price as the room comes with a mini-fridge, tv, wardrobe, toilet/bathroom with heater and internet access.

They also provide a storage area where you can put your luggage if you planning for a short trip out of Taipei. Lockers are also available for rent.

Safety-wise, the main hostel is located along the kunming street, so I'd say it is ok. But the ensuite rooms are located in a small alley, and it can be quite dark at night, so for ladies travelling alone, I'd advise you not to go back too late.

Overall, this is a great place to stay at while you're in Taipei. I'd definitely choose to stay here again if I ever make another trip there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Had a great time staying here. They give easy to follow directions to find the place, and the staff at the desk were friendly and spoke good English. They offered advice on itinerary to us and offered to help us book tours and a cheap bus to the airport. We were also able to store our luggage after checkout. I travelled with a friend so we stayed in a private room which was clean, comfortable and cheap. It included tv, wardrobe, wifi, fridge and there was filtered water available. The room was located in a separate building 5 minutes away from the main building.
The location is great - right near the shopping centres, good restaurants and cinema st. It is in a very vibrant suburb of Taipei, a youth district, if you like. It was great! The backpackers was maybe a 5-10 minute walk to the train station along the main road with plenty to see along the way.
I wish I'd stayed in the dorm. It looked fun in the main building - nice little comfortable and colourful common area. I am going again next February and will book here again! Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewMcDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Clean and neat and effort made to make the room look nice with the bubbles painted on the walls and the dolphin printed bed linen, however, those of you who are of larger size, the bathroom and toilet may be a little too small for your liking. 1 suggestion would be to change the bath rug to one that is machine washable and softer in texture so as to make it more comfortable and also look cleaner. Warm water available in a flash which is good! 24 hours access which is good for night owls. Location is excellent, just a stone's throw from XiMenDing. Lots of good eating places all around. The hostel has 2 units, 1 at Kunming st which is where the Dorms are and 1 at Kang Ding Rd (cannot remember the lane or alley no. where the ensuite rooms are located in a building on the 4th floor. It is a little on the dark side so ladies who are travelling alone should stay on the Kunming st one if possible.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nugetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

This place is excellent in terms of hospitality and comfort. I went with 4 other friends and we had great fun staying there. The hostel owners are very very knowledgeable and have most of the information we need at their fingertips. From asking about odd streets which we could not locate on tourist maps to hot spring baths, they provided us with the necessary information including useful tips to get around the city.

The rooms are fitted with quilt covers and pillows, thus they are really comfy. The only drawback would be the thin walls separating the rooms, hence guests would have to lower their volumes when in the rooms.

There is internet access from 9 am to 1 am, if only the hours could be extended as guests usually stay out beyond 12 midnight before returning to rest.

The bathrooms are shared and they are dutifully well-maintained by the guests as well as the owners. I had no complains about the cleanliness at all. There are also toiletries available for sharing.

Another improvement could be the addition of a washing machine, though there's not much space to hang out laundry but it would definitely be a boost. There's a dryer though, which we can use for free.

The kitchen is also well-maintained and equipped with a tv. Though we did not really spend a lot of time here.. Obviously we go overseas to explore the place and not just sit in the kitchen to watch tv... =P

The location is really excellent, very near Ximen MRT station and also near to Ximending. There are quite a lot of food stalls/restaurants in the area where affordable and delicious food can be purchased.

Another thing is, if you r carrying luggage bags, this may not be the place to stay at unless you are confident of lifting your bag up the stairs when you check in and lifting it down when you check out. We carried backpacks hence it was not too difficult for us.

There is aircon available in every dormitory and there are 6 bed rooms available. This is a mixed dormitory, where ladies and gentlemen can share rooms. There are also lockers provided if necessary.

At checkout time, the owners allowed us to deposit our bags in locked compartments so that we can still go out to do last minute shopping before returning. They are also very kind to help us call up the Freego bus which picked us up and took us to the airport.

Overall, this place wins hands down in terms of the service and comfort level.

2  Thank xlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Chnisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 5, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Meander Taipei Hostel
#2 of 246 in Taipei
582 reviews
Fun Inn Taipei
#7 of 246 in Taipei
177 reviews
Backpackers Inn, Taipei
#18 of 246 in Taipei
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Space Inn Hengyang Branch
#11 of 246 in Taipei
219 reviews
Wanhua District
TW Hostel Taipei 1st Branch
Taipei York
#392 of 578 in Taipei
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taipei Ximen BackPackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taipei Ximen BackPackers

Address: 2F, No.113 Kunming Street, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range: $12 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Taipei Ximen Backpackers Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing