We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right choice to stay in Taipei”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch
Ranked #13 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Right choice to stay in Taipei”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is my first time to Taiwan and Dandy Tianjin gave me an excellent impression and I would really love to visit this city again sooner.

Dandy Tianjin is located in a small street but in a very convenient location. Just 5 mins walk to the MTR station with Taipei's powerful MTR roadwork, living in Dandy Tianjin makes the travelling extremely easy no matter where you go. Zhongshan station is also a lovely place with lots of shops worthy to go around.

We stayed in room 2F10, which cannot remember the exact category. The room itself looks nothing special comparing to other hotels, but several design details are pretty good. The bed is very comfortable and the AC is working well to help us cope with the cold winter in Taipei.

The part I loved most is the breakfast provided by Dandy. You cannot ask for more with free meals, but what Dandy serves are really lovely that it always gives you a best start of the day and make your rest of the day enjoyable. The choice comparing to five star hotel buffet is of course limited, but every dish is yummy, especially there juices and soy bean milk. I have never had such good drink from a hotel ever before. After this stay, I have stayed at two five stars in HK and Shanghai, none of them can compete the breakfast with Dandy but charged more than 30AUD pp. Also they change the main dish every day and will always supplement even at the last ten minutes of the breakfast time.

Another highlight is the service standard. Everyone is so friendly in Dandy and they can always remember your name without any problem. And they will keep your room card while you are out which is very helpful for people like me easily lost stuff when travelling.

One issue I would like to mention for future improvement:
The room floor is not so clean when I first check in, there are small biscuits left on the floor which obviously coming from the last visitor.

Overall it's a good choice for staying in Taipei.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank featheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute your review and we all highly appreciate your recommend .

It's certainly our pleasure to accommodate you and we sincerely look forward to your staying with us again.

Yours faithfully,

Jay

Supervisor

Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    212
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
193
195
114
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

A fresh, modern boutique hotel in the middle of a bustling part of Taipei, yet on a fairly quiet and quaint street. The hotel was only a 6 minute walk to the subway and directly across the road from coffee shops, convenience stores and eateries.
I wasn't sure what kind of room we'd be getting and I was hoping for one of their crazy 'design' rooms and we were actually lucky enough to get one! We stayed in 'Scandinavia Cottage'... what a funny surprise walking in to a room covered in astro turf with interesting wall art - it even had an astro-turfed mini organ. Crazy and fun but still classy at the same time. The king size bed was incredibly comfy and the room was spotlessly clean and quite big. I loved their quality linens and down doona. The bathroom had a full bathtub and an awesome, giant shower head. I loved the little touches the hotel provided... complimentary water, good toiletries, a few snacks and even a condom. Don't worry, it's definitely not a 'love hotel'... that was just an extra, novel service that I've never seen outside of Taiwan.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. They spoke excellent English and organised an early morning taxi ride for us. Because we were checking out before breakfast even started, they went to the trouble to pack sandwiches and drinks for us in a bag to take away! I can't ever imagine a hotel in Australia (where I'm from) doing something like that.
Great location, great rooms, great price. What more could you want?

Room Tip: if you're into quirky design, try for a 'Design Room'. Very cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinytini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute your review and we all highly appreciate your recommend .

It's certainly our pleasure to accommodate you and we sincerely look forward to your staying with us again.

Yours faithfully,

Jay

Supervisor

Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotelrooms are very confusing - the smallest and cheapest room are the elite double and the most expensive one is the elite twin - that really screwed me up! We spend the last 3 nights there and they had some renovation going on during the day ( should definitely have offered some discount for the mess if they expect people to stay in painfumes). we were upgraded to a double room from elite double but it was the room next to renovation so no thanks!!! However they did not have an elite double apparently and we were upgraded to an elite twin ( with a double bed) . It is impossible to figure out which room I paid for and what I got but at the end of the day the staff were very helpful and tried to fulfill our wishes ( basically all we expected was a room without severe pain fumes). The hotel is nice and located in a nice area near the MRT so I might stay here again. My advise to fellow travelers is to try to figure out what to expect from the room and make sure you are at the right hotel. NOTE: lonely planet only mentions the hotel near Daan park!

Room Tip: At Tianjin street room 9 on second floor is very nice but I cannot tell what type of room it is. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to contribute your review.

We are sorry that we failed you in some areas particularly the painting construction.
Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience caused.

We provide 4 different kinds of rooms and you would see clear descriptions on our website, hope it could help you to choose the room you are satisfied with next time.

Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and we will hope to accommodate you again.

Yours faithfully,

Isolde Lin, Supervisor
Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is the 2nd time we stayed here. The first time was 4 years ago when they newly opened. We had a great stay both times.
The 8 of us spent 10 days in Taiwan, of which 5 days we stayed here. We left Taipei for south, came back, left again for east, then again came back to Taipei. Both times, we left our big luggage with the hotel. All were safely returned to us when we were back.
The staffs are very helpful and polite. Room is considerably small (we booked standard room) but clean & modern. Near to ZhongShan MRT (around 5-7mins walk) which is located next to a mall. 7Eleven is just right opposite, we could get snacks or drinks anytime we need. Good Food is easily accessible too as there are lots of restaurants & small eateries around the area (till wee hours)
Hotel breakfast is a typical Taiwanese style- porridge and light dishes, simple but delicious. Some western dishes were also served. The most convenient thing is they offer free self service laundry service, which is excellent to us as we didn't have to bring a full 10-day clothing.
I will definitely go back again. :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute your review and we all highly appreciate your recommend .

It's certainly our pleasure to accommodate you and we sincerely look forward to your staying with us again.

Yours faithfully,

Jay

Supervisor

Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had a great 3-day there till 13 Dec 2011.

In the courteous and friendly society of Taiwan, we must say the thoughtful and generous service provided by the team left an indelible mark on our trip. On the last day, we even had pre-packed breakfast to be consumed along our way to the airport.

The hotel is clean, comfortable with good-sized rooms. We got a room cutely decorated with little gnomes, animals and plants. It skirts the Zhongshan district and a short 5 minutes walk to the Tube and Shinkong Mitsukoshi. Plenty of interesting eateries abound, especially Japanese concept joints.

Finally there is a quirky Art Park by the side of Shinkong that track the underground tube towards the Taipei Station that is worth exploring.

Room Tip: Grab the room with the cute decor on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinvinceng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Google Translation
Dearest Guest,

Thank you for taking your value time to contribute this review.

We appreciate your feedback as it will help us to be better at what we do. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and we hope to accommodate you soon in the future.

Best regards,
Jay Lu
Supervisor
Dandy Hotel Tianjin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed at Dandy hotel for my recent trip to Taiwan. I must say the location is great, just 5 minutes walk from the mrt. the staff were great ! I had a morning flight to catch the last day, the staff offered to prepare some bread and coffee for us before the breakfast time. we were touched by their kind gesture. we didnt want to trouble them in the end. i would say my stay at Dandy was a great one.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank minnie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Google Translation
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute your review.It's certainly our pleasure to accommodate you and we all sincerely looking forward to serving you in the future!

Yours faithfully,

Jay Lu, Supervisor
Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch ,New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

A very comfortable and homely boutique style hotel in a good location to explore Taipei. The rooms provide all you need with very comfortable clean beds, good bathrooms, and nice light tonings. The rooms are smaller but all you need if you want a base while exploring Taipei.

The staff provide a very high level of service and interest in making my stay a pleasant experience. Nothing is ever a problem and the staff had a good understanding of english language. The breakfast was very tasty and catered for both chinese and european tastes - included scrambled eggs, toast, cereals and a nice selection of fresh fruit. The aircon worked well and both cooled and heated the room when needed.

There is a high level of security as the reception keeps a very close watch on inwards and outwards movements of guests and visitors. So you can feel quite safe at this hotel.

The free wifi worked really well and doesn't require any passwords to connect. The rooms also had a multi power plug which meant I could plug New Zealand mobile phone and laptop directly into the wall plug.

At the right price, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as an excellent base to explore Taipei and Taiwan.

As an aside, if you need to change money, go to the Bank of Taiwan which is between the hotel and Zhongshan MRT station which doesn't charge any fee and offers a very good rate. Remember to take your passport with you to change money.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet, but don't have a view as look at to old build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Google Translation
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to contribute your review.
It's certainly our pleasure to accommodate you and we all sincerely looking forward to serving you in the future!

Yours faithfully,

Jay Lu, Supervisor
Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 73
#15 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch

Property: Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch
Address: No.70 Tianjin Street, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Taipei
#18 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#37 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking into the Dandy Hotel, one will immediately find a bold contrast to the city’s often plush and over-powering hotel lobbies. Dandy Hotel’s Nordic ambience is calming with minimal décor; It is a place where you can relax and soak in a natural elegance.In the Dandy Hotel, take a break, log online, or just listen to delightful internet music. The elegant yet low-keyed fashionable city life gives you a new experience life. Every staff in the Hotel is your private secretary and housekeeper; they are ready to take care of you., every detail, any time. Take your time; enjoy the independent natural lifestyle of this hotel in the city.The “Dandy Hotel” Tianjin Branch in the Zhongshen district revealed new version of an old Taiwan hotel that stands on a new world stage. After a completely new remodeling, the Dandy hotel still shows you traces of history from the unique balcony of the 50’s. Stand on the balcony and recall the era of 50 years ago, when so many high officials and leaders visited here!The “Prince Hotel” opened at Hachijoudoori and Tianjin St. corner in 1960. It used to be a tourist hotel to host foreign tourists, which very few hotels in Taipei could do; plus the hotel was close to the American Ambassador Residency (which now has become the Spot-Taipei Film House), and was located on Tainjin St. where Japanese tourists gathered. Therefore, the Hotel was also a social place for officials and leaders.The Prince Hotel, with almost 50years of history, had become worn down by time and turned thoroughly obsolete. However, four professional teams, such as those from CityInn Hotel and Hotel 73, spend several months reorganizing it. You may find that the signboard of the old Prince Hotel is gone if you pass by the corner of Tainjin St. What has taken it over is and all white northern European building; the Prince Hotel has been renamed the “Dandy Hotel.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dandy Hotel(Tianjin Street) Hotel Taipei
Dandy Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing