We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value with Outstanding Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Want Residences
Ranked #20 of 586 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

What stands out the most in San Want Residences is the staff, with exception of temp help during breakfast. The genuine attitude and willingness to make guests' stay most enjoyable is the token to success in hotel hospitality.

The 4-star hotel is well maintained, simple but functional. Its location is great, close to MRT with department stores nearby. The breakfast was up to expectation. I stayed at the Studio Suite for 8 days and it is spacious. Daily in-room Nespresso, fruits and snacks were a plus. Its bathroom has roomy shower area plus a deep soaking tub (Japanese style?). I would suggest the in-room furniture to be updated.

There was one drawback during my stay, which was the construction in front of the hotel. Although it's not the fault of hotel, but the noise, air pollution and inconvenience of lodging did affect the comfort of my stay.

Overall, I still give it 5 stars, mainly due to the service level in a 4-star hotel. After construction completes on the main road and furniture updated, it would be a great place to consider.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank legend2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public_Relati0ns, 公關經理 at San Want Residences, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Mr.Legend2x

Thank you for choosing San Want Residences Taipei and taking your precious time to share a review with us.

We are delighted to read that you found our studio suite spacious, and especially appreciate your kind comments regarding our service.Your suggestion on updating the in-room furniture has been noted as well. Some of the in-room furniture had been repainted since your last stay, we hope that if you return to Taipei, you will consider staying with us again.

In regards to your concern about the road construction in front of the hotel, we regret the inconvenience caused during your stay. We are happy to inform you that the construction has been completed at the beginning of February. Now all our guests have easy access to the lobby and complete their check in effortlessly!

Thank you once again for your comments as this will help us provide even greater comfort and enjoyment to our guests in the future. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to San Want Residences Taipei very soon.

San Want Residences Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 704 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for 12 nights and i had a great time here. the location was close to office and also to MRTs and bus stations.

the staff was awesome and was very helpful, greeted everytime anyone passed by. Being a vegeterian they took extra care of my food, which was truely a gem of a hospitality.

i would recommend this hotel to all.....

Room Tip: if you are looking for iron, in room coffee or in room kitchen this is not the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public_Relati0ns, 公關經理 at San Want Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Mr.Ankurgupta2499

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at San Want Residneces Taipei. As guest satisfaction is our highest priority, we are delighted to read that you had such a great experience. Above all, we are thrilled to learn that you would recommend our hotel to all. Your compliments are truly the best rewards for every member of the team,we will do our very best to continue deserving such high praise. Thank you once again for your review,we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel next time you are in Taipei.

San Want Residences Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Borderline between 4 or 5 stars. Would have no problem staying there again. Room is spacious, fancy, comfortable with really comfortable bed. Bathroom is well designed with a shower, bath, and mini hot tub inside. Maybe not 5 stars since isn't the best value for money in town--there are comparable hotels for slightly cheaper--but room itself is great and stay pleasant. Really nice lobby. Breakfast not bad, nothing life changing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackson830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public_Relati0ns, 公關經理 at San Want Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. Jackson830

Warm Greeting from San Want Residences Taipei! Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your precious time to share a review of your recent staying experience at San Want Residences. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and the overall customer service. Your comments are highly appreciated and have been shared with all the relevant departments. Thank you once again for your positive feedbacks and support, we look forward to welcoming you back at San Want Residences Taipei very soon.

San Want Residences Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel service team is polite and very attentive but it does get to me that they have to greet you verbally each time, all 7 of them if they are all there, it is awkward. I would rather a gentle smile of acknowledgement, but maybe it is catered for the Japanese who may like this sort of treatment, as they were many Japanese at the hotel. (my assumptions)

The hotel is across a park. With your train multi-value "Easy" card and local mobile number for pre-registration, you can rent bikes at the park, the first 30 mins is free. Bikes are great at less congested areas and to get you to nearby places quickly. It may actually save you much more time than taking the subway. However, bikes are not allowed entry into Museum grounds and some major tourist attractions. So do find out the nearest U-bike “port” to return your bike. This info is available at each subway station.

Strangely money changers are not easily found in Taipei. Change currencies at Bank of Taiwan or Mega bank for better rates than hotel or department stores.

Room Tip: Go for park view unless you like to look at buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windingpaths26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the San Want Residences on Nanjing East Rd. The hotel was several blocks away from an MRT subway stop, which made it a convenient location. However, it took longer to get the the MRT stop than it should have as lights to cross some of the streets are long (some cross streets did have underground paths which made it a little faster).

The rooms were comfortable, although on the small side. The bathroom, however, was quite large. It had a “full-service” toilet, whose lid opened and closed where one walked in front of it. I had fun walking in and saying “seat up” and the seat rose. Boy, am I powerful. And, of course, it had all of the “washing” features that one can find in some Asian hotels. It had a large nice rain shower and a step down Japanese-style soaking tub. The staff was very helpful and gave us good restaurant recommendations and directions.

Although many reviews of this place talked about how well the staff spoke English, we felt that they didn’t understand as much as one thought. Often they answered what they thought was the question versus what the question was. I don’t mean to single out this hotel for this issue and it was very common during our entire trip. But what is important is that they tried very hard. Usually when we asked a question, the person would call over 1-3 others, they would talk together in Taiwanese, and then the person would provide an answer.

The hotel had a little lounge area that had coffee and tea and little snacks available continually. When we originally arrived, they gave us a buy one get one drink coupon. To our surprise, they honored the coupon both nights (we didn’t ask the second night, they volunteered it). When we arrived back at the hotel after the bar closed at 9 PM, they were more than willing to bring some wine to us in the lounge area. Our room came with a buffet breakfast that offered an assortment of items for various nationalities.

Wifi was free throughout the hotel (and in the room) and was very good.

This is a very comfortable place, that was reasonably priced for what you got, and with a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank activeboomertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

San Want Residences ( not to be confused with the hotel of the same name) are small luxury units centrally located in sprawling Taipei. The bedroom is comfortable, though not large, with all of the expected amenities, though the bar fridge was only sparsely stocked. The bathroom is impressive with a step down Japanese style bath and huge rainfall shower head in a separate shower.
The staff very pleasant and helpful
The hotel is easy walking to the huge Japanese Department Group (Mitsokoshi) as well as the fast, cheap and efficient MRT ( Metro). There are plenty of eateries and a night market also nearby.
Great for a stay or stop-over in Taipei

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public_Relati0ns, 公關經理 at San Want Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. Graham B,

Thank you for choosing San Want Residences Taipei and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay and especially appreciate your kind comments regarding our service. Your positive feedbacks are the best rewards for us and have been shared with all the associates. Thank you once again for your compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back at San Want Residences Taipei very soon.

San Want Residences Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed - 14/12/2013

To all the lovely staff here at San Want....THANK YOU for a wonderful experince. I don't normally stay at establishments like this due to my budget. But I was stuck having to find a room for 1 night at the last minute and found this place. How lucky was I!

People have mentioned the big Japanese bath and other features of this wonderful hotel. So I wont go over that. For me, the best aspect of the hotel was the staff. From the moment I walked in, dripping wet with sweat from lugging my huge suitcase from Zhongshan mrt and from the rain, I was made to feel welcome and at home. I was swiftly checked in and shown to my room. Once there, I was shown all the features of the room and was even asked if they could make arrangements for me to get to the airport the following day. The great service and help didn't stop there. Any request or question was happly answered, from booking a massage, to local information on the best place for siu mei and dumplings, bars to try...the list goes on.

If I manage to get back to Taipei, I will certianly make sure my budget allows another stay here.

To all the staff, I hope you enjoyed the Australian chocolate I left with you as much as I enjoyed the reaction on your face....XiéXié

Frank

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Frankiej_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Grand Formosa Regent
#16 of 586 in Taipei
2,364 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 586 in Taipei
1,452 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 586 in Taipei
1,705 reviews
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#52 of 586 in Taipei
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Residences

Address: No.128 Section 1, Nanjing East Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taipei
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#13 Business Hotel in Taipei
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $132 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Want Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About San Want Residences TaipeiSan Want Residences Taipei formally opened its doors for business in March 2008 and aims to exceed guest satisfaction and achieve the attentiveness found in leading luxury hotels. San Want Residences Taipei is a sophisticated bolt-hole in the centre of Taipei, a tranquil alternative to staying in a bustling city hotel. Located in Taipei Nanjing East Road, and adjacent to the LinSen Park, the hotel is surrounded with international designers’ boutiques and offers easy accessibility to MRT station. San Want Residences Taipei is the latest boutique property carefully selected to join Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH). The hotel has an impressive collection of artworks and sculptures by contemporary Taiwanese artists, adding a special element to your experience. In addition to the museum boutique concept, the hotel also offers office use facilities especially for our business travelers. Equipped with selected office stationeries, the spacious office desk features multifunction HP laser jet machine to fax, print and copy. With an access to project laptop screens to the 37” High-Definition LCD television, each guestroom offers wireless and high-speed fiber optic Internet Access and free cell phone rental to fully support your business requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Want Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Residences Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing