We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great stay, hope to return again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Want Residences
Ranked #20 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

stayed for 4 nights (5300 per night) with my wife and the in-laws (separate rooms, obviously).
checking in was smooth, polite and trilingual (my wife prefers to communicate in japanese, whilst my preference is english).
the lift can not be used without your room card key adding security.
the room itself was clean, large and comfortable.
great bathroom.
wi-fi was smooth.
dressing gowns, slippers, amenities by l'occitane.
complimentary fruit with complimentary peeling upon request.
complimentary bottles of mineral water.
quite centrally situated, fifteen minutes cab ride to the airport and 150-200 cab fare to 101 mall. 7-11 practically next to the hotel (behind) and walking around the area during the night felt safe.
breakfast buffet selection was great.
their morning newspaper service may be the only little hiccup for me but then again i do not know for sure how non-local papers are in abundance in taipei.
check out was smooth, although they initially charged us with a bar tab that was not true.
all in all, very good establishment and will return if we next visit taipei.
be careful not to get it confused with san want hotel
and they also have a no children policy
(some reviews criticise this policy, however it IS peaceful because of this policy)
and smoking is only permitted outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fortysomethingmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for San Want Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 696 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Somewhat unassuming from the outside but friendly and helpful staff welcome you in. Decor is contemporary Asian, and good room amenities. My room was Park view side, not particularly interesting view but perhaps better than the other side called "city". Surrounded by many small local bars and restaurants including many catering to Japanese businessmen visitors. Comfortable bed. Good soundproofing from busy road. Confortable loung off the lobby for reading or business meetings, with snacks and tea & juice all day. Hotel restaurant has good western & asian breakfast buffet, & dinner menu limited but adequate & reasonably pricedl. 2 for 1 drinks using check-in coupon, helps! 15 minutes easy walk to central bus, High Speed Rail & train station. Staff very helpful with directions and information for getting around when you can't read/speak the language.

Room Tip: I was by the elevator, but didn't hear any related noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globelmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very comfortable hotel, it is very old school but has its charm. Room is clean, a bit old, but very comfortable. The reception was friendly and provide good service, got exchange (good rates), left luggage and a business centre with free Internet. Breakfast is good, with good variety. I will stay again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank amesinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed for NYE and while i preferred a hotel in the xinyi district, this hotel was half the price with nearly the same hotel class and amenities as the nice ones.

Has a business travelers vibe to it with free breakfast in the morning, some couples, and no kids.

its about 10-15 min cab ride from taipei 101, so its close, but not in the middle of the action.

Room Tip: i always like high floors. it was jam packed nye so i didnt get any upgrades or anything.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

It is a great hotel overall, we did not know they do not take kids under 10, but when we show up, they were polite enough and explained their policies. They were also very courteous and polite to my kids. I enjoyed the room, they have small nice bath spa to relax in. The staff are attentive, even pro actively organised breakfast boxes since we had to leave really early and were all ready at the lobby for us. If I have to travel for business, I would come back again. It is more for business stay I feel. There is a neat little local eat street just around the corner , very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oppsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

On advice from Tripadvisor I chose to make reservation for my friend and I at the San Want Residence Taipei. We booked 2 deluxe rooms.

Excellent.
Bathrooms - Excellent
Bed and linen - Excellent
Room size - Excellent
Hotel Staff - Reception and Concierge - Excellent.
Location - Good. Metro 5-10 min walk, Taxis very affordable
Taxi to and from airport 1,200 TWD.

Recommended! Hotel caters for the discerning Japanese tourist - so the service really is outstanding.
Only a small hotel with 60 rooms or so.
Difficult to upgrade, FOM not that obliging otherwise - Totally recommend this property.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room style - Larger options. High Floor!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitebrioche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed in this property during early Nov for 5 days business trip. Small but exclusive. Even a small details are carefully looked into. Staffs opens the door for your, greets you everytime you leaves or comes back. Luxury toiletries and super nice bed with a japanese onsen bath tub. Breakfast is served with quality food. Very near to Regent Taipei and Grand Okura taipei, McD, Starbucks and many nice restaurants and bakeries.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirgoldencircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#8 of 574 in Taipei
1,389 reviews
Regent Taipei
#21 of 574 in Taipei
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#50 of 574 in Taipei
902 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Taipei Garden Hotel
#24 of 574 in Taipei
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Residences

Address: No.128 Section 1, Nanjing East Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taipei
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#13 Business Hotel in Taipei
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $129 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Want Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About San Want Residences TaipeiSan Want Residences Taipei formally opened its doors for business in March 2008 and aims to exceed guest satisfaction and achieve the attentiveness found in leading luxury hotels. San Want Residences Taipei is a sophisticated bolt-hole in the centre of Taipei, a tranquil alternative to staying in a bustling city hotel. Located in Taipei Nanjing East Road, and adjacent to the LinSen Park, the hotel is surrounded with international designers’ boutiques and offers easy accessibility to MRT station. San Want Residences Taipei is the latest boutique property carefully selected to join Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH). The hotel has an impressive collection of artworks and sculptures by contemporary Taiwanese artists, adding a special element to your experience. In addition to the museum boutique concept, the hotel also offers office use facilities especially for our business travelers. Equipped with selected office stationeries, the spacious office desk features multifunction HP laser jet machine to fax, print and copy. With an access to project laptop screens to the 37” High-Definition LCD television, each guestroom offers wireless and high-speed fiber optic Internet Access and free cell phone rental to fully support your business requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Want Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Residences Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing