We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent rooms but mediocre location”
Review of Taipung Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taipung Suites
Ranked #7 of 243 Hotels in Tainan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent rooms but mediocre location”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Service at Taipung Suites was impeccable. Staff were happy to provide us with options for food and recreation and were ever patient with our requests. Also, we left behind a couple of items after checking out and before we even noticed, the hotel had given us a call and offered to send the items to us if we were still in Taiwan.

The rooms were great too. Our triple came with a double bed and a single bed. The room was huge, as was the bathroom.

Location wasn't that great thought. While the hotel is near convenience stores and some restaurants, and is a 5 minute walk from a 24h Carrefour, it's not near any major attractions (apart from the Tainan city hall). You'd need to take a cab or drive to the temple area, the night market area or to Anping. Of course, Tainan is quite spread out so I doubt there are any hotels which are truly centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    86
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
120
75
12
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a short visit to Tainan. Staff was very friendly and helpful, with good English skills. Some nice features are the free bikes, free internet, computers in lobby, and shuttle to various locations.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkbSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Its our first time to Tainan and this hotel is a good base to explore the city. There are a few eateries and cafes nearby, 7-11 around the corner, so not to worry about getting food or drinks.
Hotel is very clean and well maintained. We stayed in a family room with a queen bed and a single bed, room is spacious and well designed with all the necessary amenities.
Hotel offered free bike rental for guest so we decided to go for a bike ride. We are very impressed with the service staff, they help to choose a bike for us and make sure the height is right and the brake is working. They even bother to walk out to the road to see us off, maybe a small gesture but it really shows how much they care for the guest.
Breakfast is another highlight of my stay, though not an extensive spread but well done.
Overall this has been a enjoyable and comfortable stay, definitely will recommend to friends going to tainan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights for business trip, and liked it enough to re-book it for a personal trip later in the year.

The hotel feels very new, from the lobby and restaurants all the way to the rooms. Rooms are spacious, full bathrooms with separate shower and tub, good sound insulation - thank god for corridor carpets, I've stayed in so many hotels in Taiwan where you can hear every step of the guests walking down to their room! Nice bed linens, comfy mattress, and very good breakfast selection.

The location is not perfect at the first glance as it is by the City Hall, in a cultural desert between old Anping District and old city center, with nothing but - well, the city hall and Carrefour - around. And some restaurants too, including a couple real nice ones. But after spending a couple of nights there, I think it's not that bad - a taxi ride to either of the historic districts would cost you $5 USD max, and if you are staying in one of the old districts - well, it'd cost you $10 to come to the other... It's a 10 min ride including traffic. Considering that the hotel is modern and quiet, it's worth the ride if you value good sleep without listening to honking and garbage truck songs all night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlyaDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I feel overly pampered by the excellent service provided by all staff from Taipung suites. One morning when I stepped out of the hotel, a staff rushed after me and offered me an umbrella as he told me that it would likely to rain in the late morning. He is caring and always place customer on priority. I want to give a thumb up to all staff in Taipung Suites, be it room service, counter staff, housekeeping or those serving in the restaurant, they are well trained and helpful. They have provided the best service I've ever received.
It is conveniently located near Taiping district, with the best facilities, clean and spacious room, I would come back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionCity2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Staff are professional trained to provide excellent service. Hotel rooms are well designed and very clean. Breakfast is okay. Hotel is walking distance to a wide range of excellent restaurants and a Carrefour Department Store where you can buy anything from an apple to a washing machine. Try Taku Restaurant, a 3 minute walk from Hotel. All you can eat (about US$15 for two hours) from an extensive menu of Taiwanese/Japanese dishes, all freshly prepared.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice and clean big room, we even have our own little cute outdoor space to enjoy the starry night. Staffs are very friendly and helpful! One of the best hotels I ever stayed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindySunK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tainan hotels
West Central District/ North District
Kindness Hotel - Tainan Chihkan Tower
East District/ Yongkang District
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan
West Central District/ North District
Tayih Landis Tainan
Tayih Landis Tainan
#6 of 243 in Tainan
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Central District/ North District
Silks Place Tainan
Silks Place Tainan
#4 of 243 in Tainan
595 reviews
East District/ Yongkang District
Evergreen Plaza
Evergreen Plaza
#9 of 243 in Tainan
248 reviews
West Central District/ North District
Jia-Jia-at West Market Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taipung Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taipung Suites

Property: Taipung Suites
Address: No.199 Younghua Second Street, Anping District, Tainan 708, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Tainan > Anping District/ Annan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tainan
#4 Business Hotel in Tainan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tainan
#14 Best Value Hotel in Tainan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taipung Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taipung Suites offers 103 guestrooms and suites on 6 floors. Opposite Tainan City Hall. Contemporary-style decor with floor-to-ceiling windows showcase views of the city skyline. Personal DVD & stereo system, 32-inch LCD TV in each room. Complimentary unlimited high speed Internet access in each room & in public area, daily complimentary Chinese/English or Japanese newspaper, bottled still water, European and Japanese Satellite Channel and Taiwan Cable TV; Bathrobes, slipper, safe, free shuttle bus service to several destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taipung Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipung Hotel Tainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing