We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Tainan”
Review of Hotel Tainan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tainan
Ranked #17 of 245 Hotels in Tainan
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Tainan”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is within a few minutes walk from Tainan Train Station, close to two big department stores, many good eateries around, super convenient. It's modern, clean, quiet and pleasant. During our stay they offered discount for paying by Citibank or HSBC visa. With the discount we paid 2,640 taiwan dollars per night, inc breakfast, excellent value for this solid four stars hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamfamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    86
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
18
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We got a regular room for NT3000 on that day itself due to change in travel plan. Let's see the not so good..., service was so-so they almost could not locate our booking, the breakfast are obviously catered more towards the Japanese my poor hubby who prefer western breakfast got not much to eat except cereal and bread.

The good stuff..It is reasonably clean room and quiet though we are next to the street. There are plenty to see and eat without having to travel too far. If you are just staying for the night, this is great location.

However if you are travelling by other mode of transport and wanted to see more such as the night market, you need to take a cab or ride out further like 15mins, cost us NT115 by cab. There is an Art street near the river that is quite a distance too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Tainan Hotel is very conveniently located, just off of the traffic circle that the regular train station is on. (FYI, the high speed railway station is about 20 minutes out of Tainan. Take the local train, which you reach by leaving the terminal on the left coming down the escalators, rather than the bus, which presents itself as the main way into town.) My room was very clean and fairly large. Though the hotel is right in the middle of town and my room faced the busy traffic circle, it was pretty quiet. The staff is very, very courteous and helpful. The restaurant is reputed to be excellent, though I didn't go to it. The breakfast buffet was pretty good.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor facing a busy intersection and I found my room to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tawuticany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Walk around the hotel and you'll have plenty to see and eat. I recommend hitting the night market on Saturday night.

The actual hotel is merely okay. It seems to be the best offering in the area for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yargnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

First time staying in a hotel in Tainan because we normally stay with family in the Zhongxi district. Location is terrific - right next to the main train station, a block away from Focus Square/Mitsukoshi, and within walking distance of all the historical sites in the Zhongxi district. (Taxi to the HSR station was 400 NT, and there is also a relatively new local train line from Tainan main station to the HSR station for 25 NT.) Most of the great street food though, is a little walk away. The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful with directions, handling our luggage, and arranging local transportation when we needed it. Most of them speak English well. I also give them high marks for dealing with my mother who was being difficult with them about a "smoky" room.
This was the only place that I could find which could accommodate my party of 9 (5 adults/4 small children) in 3 rooms. I personally had a "triple" room which was 2 full size beds, large enough for my wife and I and 3 small children. The rooms and decor could use updating. I did not find the bed all that comfortable, although my kids seemed to sleep well. One of the convenient room features for us was a small refrigerator. Unfortunately the pool was undergoing maintenance when we were there. Breakfast was okay - again, you can get much better street food very inexpensively if you're willing to explore. There was an eclectic mix of traditional Taiwanese and western food. Wifi, however, was spotty at best. I ended up purchasing a week's worth of wifi from from the phone company located next door) fairly inexpensively which worked better for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soonerfaninbhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We chose this hotel based primarily on its value for money and its location (it is situated on the roundabout where the Tainan train station is). So if you are coming into Tainan by regular train, it is the best possible location.

The hotel's central location also made it an easy walk to Tainan's other neighborhoods and attractions.

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Only complaint would be that the rooms looked a little bit faded but nothing major.

Free wifi was also present and worked perfectly fine for us in the room.

The buffet breakfast offered a great variety of Taiwanese and western breakfast items. There were also fresh mini-pastries and breads as well as fruit platters.

The staff were really friendly and there were always several waiting to greet you at the entrance. They also offered some guidance on attractions and can help to arrange taxis for you to visit outlying areas around the Tainan region (which for us were the Guanziling Hot Mud Springs).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Btrain2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is no 4 star hotel. room is old and run down, very dated furnishing and the hotel rooms needs a complete makeover. Wifi is weak, breakfast is decent though. Bed is ok though. but will not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tainan hotels
West Central District/ North District
Kindness Hotel - Tainan Chihkan Tower
East District/ Yongkang District
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan
West Central District/ North District
Tayih Landis Tainan
Tayih Landis Tainan
#6 of 245 in Tainan
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Central District/ North District
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#26 of 245 in Tainan
86 reviews
West Central District/ North District
Silks Place Tainan
Silks Place Tainan
#4 of 245 in Tainan
605 reviews
East District/ Yongkang District
Evergreen Plaza
Evergreen Plaza
#9 of 245 in Tainan
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tainan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tainan

Property: Hotel Tainan
Address: No.1 Cheng Kung Road, Tainan 70050, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Tainan > West Central District/ North District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 245 Hotels in Tainan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tainan 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tainan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing