We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Nice Location”
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #24 of 246 Hotels in Tainan
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for1 night recently after checking out the good review and it turned out to be a pleasant stay for us. The hotel is not far from train station and is perfectly located right along the street that you can find all kind of famous Tainan's food. It is also close to most of the famous sights here and to go further, the hotel offerd free bicycle.
Althought it looks dated from outside but the interior has been nicely renovated. Our room was really big . looks new and clean with Lcd tv. The breakfast consists of a variety of western and chinese items and they all taste good. There are magazines available for reading. The plus point is the friendly staff that will show you where to go food and what to see and will always greet you whenever they see you.
Really impressed with their service level.

Room Tip: Ask for room right at corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 95 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed 4 nights there during New Year Eve 2011. Our two families had four rooms with this hotel. All rooms smell badly cigarette; even we booked for non-smoking rooms. Tainan is famous with good food; but this hotel has the worst breakfast in Taiwan.

Also, the staff can't speak much basic English!

This is one of the worst hotel in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank x_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I was very happy with this hotel, which I found through this site, and just booked with my credit card from home, so I didn't really know what to expect. The staff were both professional and friendly. I especially want to give credit to all of the various front desk staff. They were unfailingly courteous, but also helpful beyond the call of duty. For example, I only needed to mention in passing that I was thinking of going somewhere for a visit, and they would find out all the information I needed about it. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room itself was very nice - spacious, well furnished, quiet, very comfortable, firm bed, fridge with freezer compartment in room (and you could get unlimited "drinking" ice from a machine on the floor above), large television, iron and ironing board, aircon, en-suite with bath and shower. For the price I paid (in pounds sterling under 40 per night) it was much better quality than anything I could have got in the UK. Laundry service was available, or the facilities to do one's own. Courtesy bottles of water left in room every day (you can't drink the tap-water in Taiwan). The price included buffet style "all you can eat" breakfast. The breakfast food was both Western and Chinese style. There was no breakfast cereal, but there was fruit, fruit juice, milk, tea, coffee, toast, butter, jam and a kind of scrambled eggs and usually chips ("fries" for any Americans reading) or something similar, as well as various kinds of good quality Chinese food. Possibly there was some kind of muesli but I can't remember for sure - I'm not so keen on muesli anyway.

I can't think that I've got any even minor complaints about the hotel. I'd highly recommend it.

As for location, it's only ten minutes walk from the main train station in Taiwan (that's the regular train, I don't think the high speed one was too far either), obviously less than ten minutes by taxi. The hotel is just down the road from the Chikan lou (site of old Dutch fort, now a Chinese temple / museum), which is I suppose one of the main tourist attractions of Tainan, though it would only take you an hour or two to look round it even if you took it real slow! There were other things to see not far away (Confucian temple, old South Gate), and plenty of shops and places to eat. As good a location as anywhere in Tainan for site seeing, I think, and fine for business purposes too I would imagine. I'm not too sure where you would call the centre of Tainan, but the hotel seemed conveniently sited.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reddeer084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

We had a great location with a quiet room, with no downsides. The place is well run and pleasant. If you want unique or quaint or full of character, it will not suit. It is a solid comfortable hotel and II would certainly stay here again.

The hotel is about 1 kilometer from the train station. It is very well placed for visiting all the usual Tainan tourist sites, and is right on some good bus lines. On weekends, there is a bus out to Anping.

The lobby staff are kind, speak reasonable English, and have information about buses and sights. Some of the information was a little vague, but it was information.

They have a free washer and dryer, although the directions are a little confusing (2 washers, and the directions are for the further washer....all buttons are in Chinese).

The breakfasts are excellent buffets. As is typical in Taiwan breakfast buffets, they have rice soup with garnishes, rice and stews/stirfries, (particularly good), fruit, western stuff such as eggs and toast, and salad. Why salad? They all seem to have it.

Our room was quiet, clean, and with good internet connection. The beds are firm by American standards, but not rock hard.

Price: $76, breakfast and taxes included.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ann_T_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank 仁誠劉
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 武鋸 吳
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MarkusVielleser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tainan hotels
West Central District/ North District
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#21 of 246 in Tainan
137 reviews
West Central District/ North District
Kindness Hotel - Tainan Chihkan Tower
West Central District/ North District
La Plaza Hotel
La Plaza Hotel
#27 of 246 in Tainan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Central District/ North District
Famous Hotel
Famous Hotel
#28 of 246 in Tainan
78 reviews
West Central District/ North District
Fuward Hotel Tainan
Fuward Hotel Tainan
#15 of 246 in Tainan
141 reviews
West Central District/ North District
Jia Hsin Garden House
Jia Hsin Garden House
#32 of 246 in Tainan
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Address: No.269 Section 2, Minzu Road, Tainan 700, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Tainan > West Central District/ North District
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Tainan
Price Range: $47 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Tainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing