We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri - La, of course.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan
Ranked #3 of 243 Hotels in Tainan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

As yet, I have not been disappointed by any hotel in this chain and this hotel lives up to the mark. From the initial greeting at the door, to reception and throughout my stay it was like I had stayed here many times before. Recognition and warmth greeted me in heavy quantities. The concierge who talked me through the local landmarks, the restaurant greeter, who despite not being able to understand all my words, saved a table for me at my requested time and picked me out from a queue and escorted me to my table. The view from my room, the quality of food in the restaurant, the service I received from the lobby bar, and the relaxing piano music accompanying the tea.. what is there not to like here?

Room Tip: aim as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear peter b,

Thank you so much for your thorough review on us! It’s our pleasure to read your compliments of our hotel- the well-arranged rooms with stunning view, the yummy dining experience and the friendly and helpful service by our team members. We really appreciate your staying and your time to share the valuable feedback with us. We look forward to seeing your again soon.

Best Regards,
Erich Kaiserseder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel may have been appealing 20 years ago, but now it feels like an old casino, especially in the dimly lit, low-ceiling hallways. The hotel buffet was excellent, however. The location is good, but about a 30minute drive from the industrial area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank neeldas98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Used to stay at the Thyai Landis back in the day but ever since this hotel opened up, it's the place to be. Situated right on the University ave, there are plenty of restaurants around to walk to, not to mention there is the FE21 mall attached to it that has a food court and grocery store in the lower level. Across the street from the hotel is the subway station and using the underground tunnel, is the popular Beiman Rd. It has lots of electronics stores as well as various shops. The rooms are nice and well kept. breakfast has a good selection and can get full during holidays. the gym and pool are nice as well. When possible, book the Horizon club level and enjoy the benefits of happy hour drinks and food. The staff overall is helpful and sincere. I always enjoy my stay there.

Room Tip: the horizon club level is a plus to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Rudy O,

Thank you so much for your wonderful post. It’s our pleasure to know that you enjoyed our convenient location, the comfy room and the outstanding services from our team members, as well as our facilities and dining. We appreciate your recommendation and we wish to see you soon for another amazing stay at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan.

Best Regards,
Erich Kaiserseder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed at Horizon Club Deluxe Room so I got to use the service from the lounge often. Overall, most staff were pretty good and polite. When i had any questions, the staff were be able to answer it all and found me the answer. So I really enjoyed during my stay.



  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Tainan is one of my favorite Shangri-La hotels and is definitely the best hotel in Tainan. The friendly staff will greet you with the warm southern Taiwan hospitality from the moment you walk into the hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. And the hotel offers a great variety of choices for the buffet breakfast.

We also love it for its convenient location. It's right next to the Tainan Railway Station and you can take a walk anytime you wish to the beautiful NCTU campus where you can see historic buildings, old banyan trees and big lush meadows.

Shangri-La Tainan is also famous for its superb value for money. It's arguably the most affordable Shangri-La hotel in the Asia Pacific regions and you'll still get to enjoy the most satisfactory stay experience. Its Horizon Club is highly recommended too. With a bit higher budget (US$ 30-40 more), you'll be entitled all the club benefits such as express check-in/check-out, complimentary fruits plate and evening cocktails at the club lounge. Their evening cocktail is more than a cocktail. It's almost like a full buffet dinner in a cozy and relaxed ambience. You would love it!

The only imperfect goes to the pool. The hotel has only an outdoor pool located on the 7th floor. Though Tainan is located in southern Taiwan, the winter could get really chilly sometimes. Even in the summer time, the kids will feel cold by the poolside when it gets windy. It would be perfect if the hotel could have had an indoor pool.

Room Tip: Book the Horizon Club rooms. Totally worth it! You won't regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllenFunIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear AllenFunIsland,

Thank you so much for sharing such a detail review with us! We are thrilled to be recognized as the your favorite hotel within Shangri-La Hotels & Resorts group and also the best in town! Moreover, we are happy to learn that you had enjoyed so many aspects in our hotel, especially the attentive service provided by our team member and the dining experience. We will definitely make a note on your review on the pool for further consideration, and hope you will come back again soon when it get warmer so you can enjoy the pool. We truly appreciate your wonderful recognition towards us and sincerely look forward to your next visit for another great Shangri-La experience.

Best Regards,
Erich Kaiserseder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It seems a little incongruous that a city such as Tainan should have a real 5 star Shangri-La, but it does. The building towers above the city and is right next to the central train station (not the HSR one, but the other one). The hotel also has a connecting door into the adjacent high-end department store. The hotel is just what one would expect from this luxury chain. If you like Asian style 5 star opulence this is your place. We paid about TWD 6000 bed and breakfast via the hotel's own website. The room was sumptuous, as were the dinner and breakfast buffets. We paid about TWD 800 for the dinner. But if you want beer or wine they are disproportionately expensive. Our dining experience was made all the more memorable by being served by the energetic and professional Nicky Chang. What a memorable burst of positivity she is!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank StokeNewingtonN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Michael_London_N4,

It is always a great thing to know our precious guests like you had a wonderful experience during the stay. We are thrilled to know you like our comfy rooms, convenient location and the dining experience. We always aim to provide the prompt and friendly services to make sure all our guests receive the expected service. I will definitely pass your encouragement to Nicky who truly provide you with the wonderful Shangri-La experience. We appreciate your review and we are definitely looking forward to your next stay.

Best Regards,
Erich Kaiserseder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent location. Most important, a team of heartedly professional service staff who made guests' stay too wonderful. Food at breakfast table are more than expected and delicious. Room are exceptionally spacious.


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Leung390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Leung390,

Great appreciations to your wonderful review on us! We are pleased to know that you received an unique shangri-la experience during your stay and found our team members attentive and helpful. Your wonderful recognition truly encourages us to keep providing the heart-touching services to all our respectful guests like you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon as Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan will always be your home away from home here in Tainan.

Best Regards,
Erich Kaiserseder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tainan hotels
West Central District/ North District
Silks Place Tainan
Silks Place Tainan
#5 of 243 in Tainan
634 reviews
West Central District/ North District
Tayih Landis Tainan
Tayih Landis Tainan
#8 of 243 in Tainan
444 reviews
East District/ Yongkang District
Evergreen Plaza
Evergreen Plaza
#9 of 243 in Tainan
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Central District/ North District
Kindness Hotel - Tainan Chihkan Tower
East District/ Yongkang District
Queena Plaza Hotel
Queena Plaza Hotel
#13 of 243 in Tainan
160 reviews
East District/ Yongkang District
The Place Tainan
The Place Tainan
#4 of 243 in Tainan
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan

Address: No.89 West Section, University Road, Dong District, Tainan 70146, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Tainan > East District/ Yongkang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 243 Hotels in Tainan
Price Range: $130 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Tainan, Shangri-La Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Tainan is the first internationally-affiliated deluxe hotel outside Taipei which offers an idea base for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has the largest guest rooms among Tainan hotels, with various choices of restaurants and first rate facilities and services. Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Tainan, sets a new benchmark for luxury in Southern Taiwan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing