We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Nepal, lovingly prepared and cooked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were the only guests here when we stayed in February, so it was like having our very own private jungle lodge. The place is stunningly beautiful, and the service impeccable. It was a bit chilly at night and the open fire in the reception/dining area was most welcome. Even more so were the two hot water bottles placed in each bed, and the lovely mug of tea that was brought to us each morning. Food was outstanding, we are still trying to work out how the chef cooked his wonderful cabbage!
The disappointment was the lack of animals - we saw only monkeys, deer and a crocodile on our safari. And we were unlucky with the weather. But I would thoroughly recommend this as a lovely place to stay for the sheer experience of being there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaroRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 102 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2011

Peacefully set amongst rural villages in the buffer zone surrounding Chitwan National Park, Tharu Lodge has great charm in its simplicity. Rooms are clean and large with a double and single beds, though walls are thin. The food was very good with the Nepalese food served for lunch in the lovely garden at lunchtime a particular favourite. All meals are served by the friendly, charming and efficient staff (breakfast and dinner around an open fire pit), there are no buffets here. The 'river sunset safari' is particularly memorable, travelling by ox-cart to the river before floating down in wooden boats with oarsmen front and back as the sun sets. We really enjoyed our two nights here as part of a Saga tour.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We followed up our stay at the Tiger Tops Jungle Lodge with one night at this property. We were treated as honoured guests with unbelievably brilliant attention to detail and comfort. The rooms are clean and comfortable although relatively simple. The grounds of the property are gorgeous and unique to any other property I have visited. Staff from the Lodge took us on walks through the traditional villages, giving us magnificent photo opportunities as well as a way to truly see how the local people live. Nearby villagers treated to traditionally dancing as evening entertainment. This is a not-to-be-missed property, as are all of the Tiger Tops properties which we visited.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotravel903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed one night in Tharu Lodge, following 2 in Tiger Tops Jungle Lodge and 1 in Tented Camp. Tharu Lodge is of a different style and atmosphere, not so much Chitwan NP (it is located just outside of the park), but more a mansion in a nice garden.
The rooms are simple, but adequate, They are quite noisy.
Service and food are great and the garden is nice, with a variety of plants, trees, flowers and birds. Also a nice swimming pool.
We did a village walk, which was nice, but not extraordinary.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed here for two nights after leaving Tiger Tops Tented Camp and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The location was beautiful and the rooms and bathrooms adequate and comfortable. Due to the fact that it was January there was no real hot water for showers but buckets of hot water were provided at whatever time you ordered them - great fun! The service was absolutely excellent as was the food. Most of the provisions are supplied from their own organic farm (which you can have a tour round) and, I have to say, I have never tasted such beautiful vegetables - as a vegetarian, I really appreciated the mouthwatering dishes I received.

All the activities available were well thought out and well organised. We enjoyed the village walk, the ox cart ride and the sunset river safari.

A thoroughly enjoyable two days and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GRIZZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTJL_Cotton, Chief Executive at Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Thank you for your praise and kind words about Tharu Lodge - it is a wonderul haven and the entire staff led by DB Chaudhary are dedicated and passionately committed to ensuring guests are truly cared for - nothing mechanical or "by rote." I am particularly pleased that the special vegetarian meals provided were tasty - growing vegetables in real organic earth is the trick!

With all our good wishes,

Marcus, DB and all at Tharu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

If you are going to Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge in Chitwan National Park from the Jungle Lodge (another Tiger Tops property in Chitwant), make sure it is by boat. The 13 km downriver journey allows you to enjoy the tranquility of the blue waters, and usually presents opportunities to spot sun-bathing crocodiles and exotic birds flying around. And locals fishing using their unique, indigenous techniques. The last mile on ground is then covered by a two-oxen cart.

The Tharu Lodge is a hidden gem in many different ways – and here are some reasons why I would make this statement:

* Architecture and Landscaping: Used making local materials and designs, giving you a sense of blending with the surrounding Tharu villages. The lawns are well manicured, with many different trees and plants you would identify with this region for a highly soothing experience.
* A home for birds and butterflies: If you are fond of birds, and want to spot different species, you need not even venture beyond the lodge. They all come to live, hop around and feed on the trees and plants in the lawns; you look around and don’t be surprised to see scores of species including Hornbills. Their naturalists and guides ensure you get all the information about the birds and butterflies in the area.
* Culture: The management arranges for traditional music and dance programs by locals – and these come across as genuine and enjoyable and not something poorly orchestrated for tourists.
* Service: Right up there – prompt and courteous.
* Rooms: Spacious, with triple beds and attached bathrooms. Very clean, with bathrooms providing running cold water all day; hot water comes at specified hours in the morning and evening.
* Location: In the buffer zone of Chitwan National Park, near the river with local villages and fields all around. Whichever direction you venture to, you can expect to have a good time.
* Amenities: Swimming pool, well stocked bar, tea and coffee when you like and snacks and meals.
* Liked Best: The landscaping and the birds and butterflies hovering all over.
* Food Quality: Excellent. They make local dishes very well, leaving you desiring for more.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kunzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We took our three year old and a year after he still remembers the place. Tharu lodge has etched a memory in his young mind as it has in ours. The safaris were great, staff extremely co-operative, food excellent and accommodation fantastic. Elephant trekking, horse rides, boat ride, ox cart rides!!!!!The cultural show at night and the wonderful food was a plus. And did i mention the charming pool and the fascinating birds you can see from there? It has been one of the most awesome vacations we have ever had. Planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dhaka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chitwan National Park hotels
16.0 mi away
Safari Narayani Hotel
Safari Narayani Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
76 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle ...
#1 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
180 reviews
14.6 mi away
Kasara Resort
Kasara Resort
#2 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Meghauli Serai
Meghauli Serai
#2 of 14 in Chitwan National Park
35 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sarang Wildlife Sanctuary
Sarang Wildlife Sanctuary
#3 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
64 reviews
23.5 mi away
Green Park Chitwan
Green Park Chitwan
#1 of 14 in Chitwan National Park
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge

Address: Amaltari, Chitwan National Park, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Chitwan National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Chitwan National Park
Price Range: $318 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge offers guests the perfect blend of a quiet but captivating wilderness retreat, fused with local cultural encounters. A short walk from the Narayani River, the natural boundary between Chitwan National Park and the surrounding townships, takes you to doors of Tharu Lodge. Emulating the longhouse style of Tharu architecture and built from local materials, Tharu Lodge offers a unique and comfortable insight into Nepalese village life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiger Tops Tharu Hotel Chitwan National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing