We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance and Service top rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Machan Country Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Individual lodges and a truly hospitable staff made our stay at Machan Country Villa an absolute delight. Planned events and tours included elephant back safari, walking safari (watch out for the occasional charging rhino!), a serene river paddle, and a great opportunity to sit around the campfire at night discussing life experiences with the guides, staff, etc.
Clean, well situated and unearthly in its stillness, Machan was a needed tonic to the rambunctious and hectic pace of Katmandu.
The waitresses and chefs were very accommodating and we felt like family.

Room Tip: Opt for the villas instead of the Long House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bburnett13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakiran, Manager at Machan Country Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful review. It always motivates us when we read such wonderful comments by our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Machan lodge and villas are okay but not 5 star by any stretch. The food is good, and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. My problem is their vehicles used to transport visitors to and from the jungle; they are VERY old and dilapidated. One crankshaft broke while we were crossing a river; they put those passengers on top of our old "jeep" and proceeded to drive through the jungle, with the springs bottoming out and the vehicle swinging from side to side. Fortunately the ride wasn't more than a mile or two. If they had better transportation, I would rate them 4 stars overall.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms are okay, and all have back decks/portches. We didn't see the insides of one, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewM_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had planned to stay at Tiger mountain's Tharu lodge, which is just down the road, but it was shut for refurb. we therefore had to reluctantly stay at Machan, having not known anything about it.
We were very wrong to worry: Machan was wonderful for us. I've stayed at 2 other lodges at chitwan, and my parents have stayed at Tharu: I think machan rivals the best, and is significantly cheaper than Tharu.
We were lucky, as we also were the only guests, having arrived in the first week of the season. The team looked after us so well: we really are very grateful to them all. there is a great family feel to the set-up, and i genuinely think the staff a probably well-treated by the owners and managers. The guides are wonderfully friendly and clearly very knowledgeable and the food and service was also excellent.
we stayed 2 nights, and in that time we had 3 elephant safaris (lots of great wildlife, including loads of rhino, and 2 LEOPARDS!!!!), an elephant learning and bathing session in the river, a village walk and cultural dancing! we certainly got alot for our money, and will definitely return there when we're back in Nepal. We really would recommend Machan when compared to the other options available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Freddie199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakiran, Manager at Machan Country Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful review. It always motivates us when we read such wonderful comments by our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank relebeib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prabin S, Front Office Manager at Machan Country Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filiz ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Frida1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YAGO-LOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish S, Guest Relations Manager at Machan Country Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chitwan National Park hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Seven Star
Hotel Seven Star
#3 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
105 reviews
6 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle ...
#1 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge
Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge
#4 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Sarang Wildlife Sanctuary
Sarang Wildlife Sanctuary
#3 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
70 reviews
15 mi away
Kasara Resort
Kasara Resort
#2 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
187 reviews
24.1 mi away
Jungle Wildlife Camp
Jungle Wildlife Camp
#7 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Machan Country Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machan Country Villa

Address: Gochada, Chitwan National Park, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Chitwan National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Chitwan National Park
Price Range: $51 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Machan Country Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Machan Country Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing