We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Machan Paradise View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Machan Wildlife Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chitwan National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Machan Wildlife Resort
Dorset England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Machan Paradise View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

As mentioned two different properties are being reviewed under this title
1. Machan Paradise View (without pool) which is reviewed here
2. Machan Wildlifr Resort (with pool)

The accomodation are in two story blocks of 4 and is basic. We never did get the air con to work properly although the staff tried hard.

The food was OK

What made the trip memorable were the activities and the staff, who were so friendly, happy, knowlegable and eager to please.
The resort works closely with local villages, from where most of the staff come and we were taken on a vilage visit and proudly shown our guide's house.
The elephant safari was wonderful, only surpassed by bathing the elephants in the river and being allowed to ride one back to the stables.
My (adult) daughter adored the elephants and the manager arranged for an extra trip to help bathe the elephants for her and asked the mahout to let her drive the elephant on the second safari - which made her holiday
The jeep safari, canoe trip and nature walks were also breath-taking.
The position of the lodge is great with seating to sit looking over the reserve spotting rhino and lots of exotic bids.

All in all a wonderful place to stay - but don't expect luxury!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandapatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Terrible resort. Room facilities worn out and dirty. Towels & sheets were grey and thin. Heater did not work in the middle of nite and room became awfully chilly. No toiletries provided and room smelled as if not opened for some time. Staff tried their best to fix lights and provide service but over all bare basic accommodation. Food acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Della G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chitwan National Park hotels

Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

we wanted to be inside the national park to have a great experience. the man at the agency told us that it was better to be outside ( and it is really less expensive)....but we didn't believe him and booked this machan wildlife resort. we thought that with the price we paid , it will be a luxury resort with amazing activities ....... we were wrong, and it was a nightmare !!!!
the swimming pool is so small and never clean. the food is OK ( we are in nepal) but we were not allowed to have more !! ( and it was very light)
the activities are just ridiculous !!! for example boat on the river was only for 15 minutes, walk in the jungle 20 min, the elephant briefing is a circus show ! there elephant breeding is so sad to see, elephants look mistreated.
we were supposed to have elephant bathing but they told us that it was not the season and bad for elephant .... it is totally wrong !!! they always lie to us. the dancing show ? maybe not the season and bad for the dancer as well?

an other bad experience : the rooms are situated in little houses made with wood. when we came in, it was smelly, like the moisture, so we decided to open the windows..... but behind the house they made a fire, they burnt a steel pipe and barrel....imagine the black smoke !!!! and this black smoke in our room !!!!!!! we could not come inside anymore ! we didn't see anything and couldn't breath because of he smoke, all are clothes and bags were smelly and dirty .
we wanted to change the room but they told us that it was no possible ( we didn't see a lot of people in this resort !!!) always lies ....

Some people ( managers) are not nice and doesn't mind about us. the guides are not real guides ( they read you a book), if you are lucky, you can ask a question with an answer inside the books !
we are not stupid, and we knew more than the guide !
we have more to tell but it is too long, here is the most important!

we were so disappointed , luckily we had more time to spend in this area, so we decided to go by ourself to the village : Sauraha, ( just outside the park in front of the rapti river). we booked a little hotel very cheap but very very good with a nice staff ( we can't compare with machan) it was so good ! we had activities like elephant riding, elephant bathing ( it was the season outside he park :), and a jungle walk ...one full day jungle walk !!!!

so we advise you to stay outside the park and choose the activities by yourself.

and for Machan wildlife resort , we advise them to close !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

This lodge is very basic but the wildlife makes the stay worthwhile (although we did have a rat in our bedroom that was not welcome). The food is very good and something for everyone. We had 2 elephant trips and they were exciting especially when we tracked a rhino. There are 2 jeeps, one where you are sitting in the open and therefore able to stand up and see all around. Unfortunately the other jeep is closed in. If you are nimble enough to climb onto the roof then thats ok but if, like me, you have to sit inside then you can't see much of the wildlife.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minispud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

I'm slightly confused here so I'm not surprised if you are too... Could it be that some of the contributors here are talking about different establishments?

My comments relate to Machan Paradise View, which is a cluster of five two storey chalets (each two up, two down) with no swimming pool or tented accommodation.

It's a great location and we felt the accommodation was quite good with a decent bed, plenty of storage space and an effective shower (we were in Parakeet 1).

The evening meals are served on a two-night cycle - with a basic buffet one night and a barbecue the next limited - so choice is limited especially if, like our party, you're there for more than just two nights.

I've no knowledge of the competition but I would imagine this lodge would be perfectly adequate for most visitors. We certainly had some very good safari experiences, especially the early morning elephant ride in the fog - we didn't see a lot but it was very atmospheric!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Did some background reading about this 'resort' so really did not expect much, however was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were all very professional, accomodation acceptable and there was certainly a genuine willingness by the manager and the guides to make you happy and to make your stay enjoyable.

Food was basic but acceptable.... good bar selection however, accomodation clean and everyone friendly.

The elephants and the ability to get up close with them during bathing in the river was certainly a very memorable and enjoyable experience. The canoe trip was truely an adventure (crocs and alligators swimming alongside!) and the walk in the Jungle was fun despite the leeches!!!! Didn't see any tigers (didn't expect to.....) but did see alot of Rinos and some very pretty birds..

It was not five star or anything special however given the costs and where you are, I feel it would be almost delusional to expect any more. What the place lacks in 'mod cons' it certainly make up for in the attention and warmth of the staff. Thanks to Sarwan and Suman, our guides for a great time....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsorguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We checked all options beforehand so if you want a review thats unbiased and wellinformed read this:

We are a couple (22/25 years) visiting this place end of september 2011. To be honoust, it was not as good as we expected it to be. Although most of the staff is friendly and try their best, we felt that we didn't get what we paid for. The rooms are nice and clean, but its just not quite enough: broken tap, the toilet doesn't flush well, the upper beds weren't as clean as they could have been, etc. The food is OK too, nothing special.

We didn't see a lot of animals, which was understandable and we do not blame the staff, although the small annoyances continued during the tours: 1 hour 40 minutes instead of the promised 2 hours, photographers taking our pictures during the tour for some reason, etc.

All in all, we do not know how the other hotels compare but we would recommend sleeping outside the park and paying a WHOLE lot less while having practically the same experience. It's just not quite enough value for money inside the park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chitwan National Park
10.4 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 7 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sarang Wildlife Sanctuary
Sarang Wildlife Sanctuary
#3 of 24 in Chitwan National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rhino Resort Pvt Ltd
Rhino Resort Pvt Ltd
#4 of 4 in Meghauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Machan Country Villa
Machan Country Villa
#9 of 24 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kasara Resort
Kasara Resort
#2 of 24 in Chitwan National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.6 mi away
Eco Wildlife Lodge
Eco Wildlife Lodge
#30 of 57 in Chitwan District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Machan Wildlife Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machan Wildlife Resort

Property: Machan Wildlife Resort
Address: Eastern Park, Chitwan National Park, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Chitwan National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Chitwan National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Machan Wildlife Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Machan we offer you an arrangement that promises exceptional vistas of the Royal Chitwan National Park, and days full of exciting adventure. Machan Wildlife Resort is our luxury camp in the eastern part of Chitwan. It has the charm and beauty of a deep-forest retreat inside the Royal Chitwan National Park, with all the amenities and services of a class hotel. Complementing this well-known resort, a new hotel under our care is only an hour’s drive ride away towards the western edge of the Park. We call it Paradise View, reflecting its spectacular setting along a riverbed, across the tall trees of the jungle. Our new addition comprises of 20 rooms in 5 separate bungalows. The conference hall is unique among the Chitwan lodges and caters to a hundred participants. Paradise View is also ideally located close to the Park Headquarter and the Gharial Breeding Farm. Nearby also lie the serene Tamar and Lami Lakes. Visit to the Park Museum can be an eye opener. A few days in each location guarantees the wildlife enthusiast an optimal number of wildlife sightings, allows discovery of different ecosystems and landscapes of the beautiful plans of south Nepal, besides offering a selection of comfortable and relaxing accommodation. Safari on elephant back is one of the most exciting rides one can experience in the jungle. The Greater One-horned rhinoceros is a familiar sight here. Common langurs, four species of deer, sloth bear, wild boar and many other mammals are found within the jungles of Chitwan. But there’s a lot more to safari camps than just wildlife sightings. We take you on village walk where you gain insights into the rich culture of the ethnic people. Watch their enchanting folk dances - or even join them in their merriment. A silent canoe ride gives you the luxury of catching wildlife by surprise. Or go on a refreshing bird-watching trip. Chitwan plays host to more than 532 species of birds - pick them out in our checklist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Machan Wildlife Hotel Chitwan National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing