We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the Tigers....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chitwan National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiger Tops Jungle Lodge
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We may have missed the tigers however our visit was one of the highlights of our trip to Nepal. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, Lodge was comfortable and relaxing. Food was good. Drive/boat in was great, lots of rhino sightings. Elephant safari was absolutely fantastic, early morning mist slowly burning away to reveal an amazing jungle teaming with wildlife, a mother rhino and calf, great photos. I could have spend all day on the back of my elephant... the ultimate 4X4 (legs) go anywhere!
Nothing like sitting on the veranda with a cool beer watching the sun go down and the night jungle sounds start!

Room Tip: Rooms are all good... remember its in the jungle :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Tiger tops jungle lodge is a one of a kind lodge inside the park itself. One has to change between car and boat 3 times before reaching the lodge. What is truely amazing about the place is beside the location, that the lodge have There own elefant Camp and Therefore gives you the oppertuity to go out ón your own hunting for Tigers with some of the Best wildlife guides in all of Nepal. The rooms are a bit run down and could use with a bit of renovation. But it is still a very charming place and among the Best of its kind in Nepal.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tannemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

After a hectic journey when we reached this place it rejuvinated our spirits.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. You will find yourself in the mist of wildlife. Very friendly staff and beautiful views. Had a wonderful memory.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jasazp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My 4 year old son and myself went to Tiger tops tented camp and lodge in February. WAOUH so wonderful memories! I spent such good precious quality time with my kid!! We did walking, boat, jeep and many many elephant safaris. Wildlife was plenty and YES WE DID SEE THE TIGER!! the staff, especially the guides, were so kind and made it so enjoyable for such a young kid. My son enjoyed very much the elephant experience : bathing, feeding and riding the elephant (we did the elephant safari at least 3 times and it lasted at least 2 hours, he never was bored) and also the tented experience : he felt like a real "jungle explorer". The Nepalese food was very good; the european food could be better. The rooms in the lodge could do with better mattresses, linen and more decoration. But I think they were planning on a renovation. Who said 4 year old were too young to travel? Who said children cannot remember their holidays? Try Tiger tops!

Room Tip: For a real jungle experience, go one night on the tented camp. Waking up in front of the bush is jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fabiola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This place was great, beautiful views, very friendly staff, elephant excursions, wildlife everywhere, good food, very accommodating. The rooms were spacious and clean, I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Chitwan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dfausner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

First the bad news : when we visited early May 2012, temperatures outside would have us running for airco in any other hotel, or the pool. Unfortunately, the remote location and eco-spirit mean that neither is available. Evening dinner was a sweaty affair, and perhaps calls for some clever environment management tricks like water spray or tunnel ventilation. So why not a 3 or 4 star rating ? Because this place offers the most amazing travel/safari experience. The arrival procedure alone merits an extra star, and the service is splendid. All excursions are well arranged and complimentary, and a tailored program is worked out within minutes of your arrival. We enjoyed and elephant and boat safari and even the connecting rides in roofless 4x4s are memorable. No tiger sightings for us, so we may have to return. I relish the prospect !

Room Tip: Rooms are on two levels, bottom level is on stilts. I guess it didn't help room temperature that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pubdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent four nights at Tiger Tops and enjoyed every minute, experiencing numerous elephant-back game drives, a few hikes, a FWD excursion and a boat ride down the river. Our game count included tigers, rhinos, wild elephant, four species of deer, sloth bear, two species of crocs, guar, countless species of birds, insects and plants (I am certain I left something(s) out), but you get the gist. We even experienced a small stampede of about 50 spotted deer that were driven on to the lodge lawn (right next to us) after dark by a tiger while we were sipping cocktails waiting for dinner. Won't be forgetting that anytime soon!

The staff was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, engaging and genuinely caring. We we're assigned the most kind and professional "personal" naturalist, Krishna, for our entire stay. Every time we participated in an activity, he was with us. Meeting at 0530 and getting back in at 1800 (or later) Krishna was there. Not only did this level of service add a very personal touch to our experience, as we got to know each other over the few days, but gave Krishna a better insight into our likes and dislikes so that he could better deliver a "Tiger Tops Experience".

The rooms are what I would expect from this type of facility. However, they could use some attention and investment. With that being said, we learned from our flight over subsequent interaction with the GM, that they are currently fighting to renew their lease (as with all lodges within Chitwan) which is up in July. It makes some sense as to why they are not investing money into the property, knowing that they may be forced to evacuate very soon. Bottom line...if the lease is renewed a basic renovation is needed. The rooms, however, were vey clean and comfortable.

The food was quite good and dietary restrictions were attended to without gripe or hesitation. All meals were in the roundhouse save one picnic lunch on the river (which was excellent).

All-in-all we enjoyed every aspect of our visit to Tiger Tops and would highly recommend this facility to anyone interested in this type of experience in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoffeeBuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chitwan National Park
0 mi away
Safari Narayani Hotel
Safari Narayani Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
80 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
449 reviews
0 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#3 of 12 in Sauraha
248 reviews
0 mi away
Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge
Tiger Tops Tharu Lodge
#4 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
111 reviews
0 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle ...
#1 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Tops Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Tops Jungle Lodge

Address: Chitwan National Park, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Chitwan National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Chitwan National Park
Price Range: $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Tiger Tops Jungle Hotel Chitwan National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing