We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever”
Review of River Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Bank Inn
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great place to stay
Yogesh really looked after us well - and we were treated like good freinds
We did an all inclusive package - incl elephant ride and washing
Canoe trip
Jungle jeep safari
Jungle walk
Do the elephant breeding centre ~ 3.30 when they are all coming in from the jungle

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkGailJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We read other reviews of this place and thought it would do the job (clean, simple, cheap, nothing more). While the room was adequate, what irked us most was their persistent attempts to swindle us. Our room was $10 a night but we booked over $100 of activities trough them, several we learned were a rip off (for example, we wanted an afternoon jungle trek, and they were going to charge us $13/person for 3 hours... then we read in our guidebook it should cost not even that much for a full day, so we haggle them down to $10/person for 4 hours).

When we were leaving (catching the morning bus to Kathmandu) they refused to give us a lift to the bus station even after spending $100 in a day, although they'd be willing to do it for pretty penny. In the end we had to walk/run the mile to the bus stop with our bags in the rain; uncool.

So while some of the staff is really nice, overall I'd recommend to browse your options on arrival. There are more hotel rooms in Sauraha than they can possibly fill, and all of the surrounding hotels looked much nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location is OK, near the river bank but with no view. RoomS are simple, some with AC for extra payment.My bed had ants on it. The Staff is nice. Food is basic. Last line if you can try another hotel in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bermanyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I traveled in southen Nepal in Aug, 2012. I stayed 2 nights with my friend in no.203 of main house. The room was clean but high humidity. There was a big ceiling fan, but it's not good for decreasing temperature, even with annoying sound.
Crews were kind and gentle. Food was not bad. the cite is safe and calm, so good for rest.
For elephant watching or Safari trip, tell crew to order package service.
The price is reasonable.
I still have good memory on River Bank Inn.
I just recommend here to a traveler who can endure a little uncomfortable.

Room Tip: The room of Villa building is much better than same of main building in vetilation and lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BicBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were so much looking forward to our stay at River Bank Inn during our North India / Nepal Tour. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our 3 night stay there. The main reason for this was the lack of electricity. Even though the hotel had its own back up generator they were very reluctant to put it on even when there was no electricity coming from the main grid. Therefore the 1st two nights were very uncomfortable as the temperature even at midnight was 35c and with no fan, a/c or lights the rooms were like ovens. Room 108 where we were staying had a very poor air conditioning unit and was virtually useless. When you wake up at 00:30 and there is no fans no lights no generator or anything I went down to the reception area and there was no members of staff about. The situation did improve slightly on the 3rd night after the manager assured us that the problem would be resolved. We did have light and fan for some of the time and a useless a/c. The bathroom had fittings missing and black mould on the bedroom wall from the adjoining bathroom. Overall very disappointed

Room Tip: Avoid the deluxe room 108 as very poor a/c unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetervCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Was very enjoying my stay at the river bank inn staff are friendly, they even inviting me for night fishing Tharu style. The room are cozy and clean and just on the spot where the elephant bathing are happening, right on the river bank where I get to swim with local children's. restaurant, and bar hut are close to this property and you can enjoying the amazing sunset from the balcony. The jungle walk guide was very experience and taking me to the track where not much crowd, and I get to face to face with the Rhino and tiger on that day. Food are nice and clean, feel like family when I was staying there. Will staying up there again and recommended.

Room Tip: Choose highest floor so you can view the sunset and national park, plus get fresh breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyrider144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Safe, clean, very friendly and helpful staff and boss. I stayed there for two nights, supposed to travel from Chitwan to Lumbini on the 3rd day but the local was on strike and I was left alone as my friends has already travel back to Kathmandu in the morning. The Hotel boss Mr Yogesh helped me to arrange a private car, even make sure I had safely arrived in Lumbini. Thanks so much for your great help Mr Yogesh ! Jess from Singapore

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chitwan National Park
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seven Star
Hotel Seven Star
#3 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jungle Wildlife Camp
Jungle Wildlife Camp
#7 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
122 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chitwan Safari Camp & Lodge
Chitwan Safari Camp & Lodge
#5 of 14 in Chitwan National Park
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chitwan Forest Resort
Chitwan Forest Resort
#12 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bank Inn

Address: Bachhuli-2, Sauraha | Chitwan, Chitwan National Park, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Chitwan National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chitwan National Park
Price Range: $14 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Bank Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Bank Inn,A Complete Safari ResortWe are situated in a peaceful and serene location on a bend of the river Rapti. River Bank Inn gazes out on the grassland and sal forests of Chitwan National Park. A beautiful spot to watch the sunset, wash out elephant and listen to the birdsong and animal noises.Our terrace restaurant and mini bar serve you large choice of hard and soft drinks, both local and imported.Our spacious and hygienic kitchen serves delicious continental, Indian, Chinese and Nepali food and most of the fruit and vegetables are grown in our own fully organic kitchen garden.Our clean spacious, tasteful decorated 20 room have tiled en-suited facilities and solar heated hot water 24 hour a day allows you to relax after a busy day in the park and nearby community forest.Depending on your schedule and according to the length of your stay, your programes will include:Elephant Safari,Dugout Canoe Trip,Village Visit,Tharu Culture Show,Jungle Drive,Night Stay at Tower,Special Bird Watching Tour,20000 Lake Visit and Many More............. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing