We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Bank Inn
Nearby Hotels
Landmark Forest Park(Chitwan National Park)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Narayani Hotel(Chitwan National Park)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jungle World Resort(Chitwan National Park)
Hotel Orchid(Chitwan National Park)
Jungle Resort Chitwan(Chitwan National Park)
Hotel Seven Star(Chitwan National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Temple Tiger Green Jungle Resort(Chitwan National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
12
14
9
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
14
9
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 40 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This place is a typical decent Nepali hotel for tourists -- room was clean and comfortable, bathroom worked, just a single compact fluorescent lamp when "load shedding" is in effect. The staff is helpful, and a couple of them speak decent English. The hotel's jungle guide, Bishnu, seems very knowledgeable, speaks English fairly well, and is friendly. The location is nice -- about 3 minutes walk from "downtown" Sauraha (so it's easy to walk to alternate restaurants) and on the bank of the Rapti river (so it's got some views). Being a little away from the town center means that it is pretty quiet at night. You'll need a flashlight to walk to/from town in the dark.

As usual, the hotel's manager can arrange packages or tours. It's best to come with some idea of what you want. We did NOT purchase an all-inclusive package for this place when in Kathmandu, since we read that about 40% of that goes to the agent, and we wanted the freedom to eat elsewhere and to choose our activities. We did the canoe-ride/jungle walk (with Bishnu) the day we arrived and then caught the next morning's 8am elephant ride.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RobertTheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

In a country where electricity, running water, clean food, hot water, or fringe benefits of a stable infrastructure are fleetingly spotty at best, River Bank Inn has hot water, clean beds, and the same Chitwan packages as any of the other hotels/guesthouses/safari inns/travel agents in the area.
This area only has tourism because it has Chitwan Park, and the only access to Chitwan is via 3rd parties who contract with all the local tour/booking agencies based on head-count, where you stay has remarkably little bearing on your wildlife-viewing experience.
That said, River Bank Inn offers relatively clean rooms with relatively hot showers and a light that works overnight. They have access to all the standard and special tours and packages and are willing to entertain special requests.
The food is of a local nature and during my stay I contracted a form of intestinal distress that's endured two months of multiple forms of treatment, but if I had to return to the Gangetic Plain, this would be among my top choices.

Room Tip: Not bad, if you must leave the mountains.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tubador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We were in Chitwan for two nights and only had the day inbetween to do everything so we thought we'd go all inclusive. We didn't arrange this through any company but the owner of River Bank Inn approached us when we arrived.. this allowed us to haggle and we got him down to 11000Rupees including lots of things to do and all our food. Although this meant we didn;t have to plan anything (nice after two months travelling) it did mean we were tied to the hotel.

The food was boring and repetitive (veg noodles in different forms) and served in what could hardly be called a restaurant... it was still being built! We were told that our morning safari was at 6.30am so after getting up early we were suprised when no one came to get us and on quiring the manager he told us it was actually at nine!!!! Not great when that couple of hours sleep in the morning are pretty valuable.

The activities were good. Elephant safari, canoe ride, sunset viewing etc.. with the highlight being washing (whilst riding) the elephants, but unsurprisingly it could all have been done a lot cheaper if you don't take the package option.

To reiterate.. this hotel had no life or personality and the manager spent most of the day on his laptop (checking trip advisor) and reading the paper rather than letting his guests know what the schedule was for the day of anything useful like that.

To top it all off he emailed asking us to write him a good review on trip advisor... NEVER a good idea (I write this as I know he will read it) when the service has been second rate and the hotel semi-constructed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Backpack_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverBankInn, Owner at River Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2011

Dear Guest Thank you for your comment about River Bank Inn. because of constraction may be you didn't get what you expect in chitwan. It is only for this two month from agust we will run in full fashe I agree that with out provide good service no life this is service oriential business so definetly we serioulsy inproved in our service. about rate you get good rate. if some one want cheaper every were avilabe and you will relise when you do both.
I just said my guest to write your comment in tripadvisor I don't said only good comment because some guest they are not tell there comment while they are here so for them i use to say "please write your comment in tripadvisor" about food we are not only serve noodles i came to know you had once chinise meal spring roll, Veg cutlet, and spegetti. I am sure that we will came totally full fhase from Agust Then if you came here you will find more inproved.
I hope you will come next time and see diffrent
once again thank for your comment
with regards
River Bank Inn
Mgmt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Riverbank Inn. The hotel is located at the side of the river, just outside the little village Sauraha. Ones you cross the river, you enter the NP.
The safaries (by Jeep, Elephant, canoe, bike) where well arranged by the hotel and good fun to do. The rooms are spacious, good bed with fan and klambu and balcony with view of the river.
The people from the hotel are attentive and make you feel welcome.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmie-Jos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Best resort in the queue at Chitwan..... Staffs are good with pleasant behavior, tasty foods to offer...... nice scenic beauty all around.... Should wake up early morning to see the beauty of the river beside the resort. Elephants come to the river to drink water.
I will rate this resort 10 out of 10.....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rajeveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews