We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Safari Narayani Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
West Cork Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Yes the accommodation is basic but it is the 'jungle'. The rooms whilst not luxury were more than adequate. The staff ensured a good stay. When we were there there were several large groups staying and made getting space to eat in the restaurant interesting. The elephant safari and swimming with the elephants will stay in memories for a longtime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed two nights at Narayani Hotel. Previous guests have commented on the lack of air conditioning and hot water but neither proved a nuisance as we weren't there to sit in our rooms all day! Beds were comfortable and rooms clean, a couple more pillows wouldn't have gone amiss though. Excellent friendly staff who pack your days for you- plenty to do and see.
Central bar/restaurant with nice terrace overlooking the river. They do only take cash though so go prepared as nowhere nearby to change/ get out money.
Food was good and plentiful for all three meals with a balanced mix of Nepali and Western food.
Great shame they have drained their swimming pool I thought.
Elephants were awesome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed three nights during November 2013. Initially, having spent the previous week and a bit in 5 star hotels, this place was a shock to the systems after 24 hours or so, the lodge grows on you and you realise that it's a beautiful, relaxing location. The rooms are basic, but have all the services you need. The lodge houses the dining area and this is fine. The food is a little limited, but good. To be honest, we found that we didn't need to eat a great deal, just stay hydrated. The staff are helpful and attend to your requests promptly.

As a base, this hotel is perfectly placed. The rangers on site took us out on various activities and these got great reviews from all who attended. If you stay here, you must try the elephant ride in the jungle. It's a perfect way to see rhinoceros and spotted deer without scaring them away.

One quirk of the hotel is that there is limited hot water and is is rationed to an hour or so in the morning and again in the evening, so showering means getting the water before anyone else does!

On the whole, this is a great place to stay if you want to relax and see the wildlife, but still retain a little comfort.

Room Tip: See if you can get the rooms in the 100 series, as these are close to the lodge and a lot closer for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Located close to the river, the rooms are huts/chalet types which are basic as you would expect in an eco-resort. No TV or A/C but the location, the people and the hospitality make up for that. Rooms are small but clean with nice patio where you can enjoy a drink. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was great served in a buffet style with Nepalese cuisine and one BBQ'd food. Make sure you take cash to pay the bar bill etc… as they do not accept cards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simonbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The rooms are nice (no AC) but the location is the best! The food was good with tables overlooking the river. Take the elephant "safari" ride! We saw rhinos which was a real treat. Get Tulsi as your naturalist if you can. His knowledge is unbelievable and he is so enthusiastic. The staff was very helpful. Wish we had 3 nights here, instead of 2.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Visited as part of a tour and stayed for two nights at the beginning of February. The location is fantastic, refreshing break from the hustle and bustle of the cities. Sitting having a nice cold beer overlooking the banks of the river hearing the birds and animals is fantastic. The staff were very nice, looked after us very well. The food was good and something for everyones taste. Did the elephant ride which was an experience!! Be prepared for your early morning wake up call! Enjoyed a walk that was supposed to be birdspotting but was good to just see the local area and walk down by the river. One of our group helped a lady at the well and realised it was not as easy as he thought! Everyone was so friendly and we were kept well entertained.
The only reason for only 4 rating - 'the beds' . So hard !! Also, the dampness in the rooms.
Remember that you are in a nature reserve and you will not get 5* rooms. It is basic and eco friendly (limited times for hot water) but totally charming! Would not have missed the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DerbyshireScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberporth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a lovely place, with lovely friendly staff. It was located right overlooking the river and the food was very nice - the porridge at breakfast was lush. The rooms were quite damp, but we learned that we were the first tour of the new year, and presumably they had been closed up for a while. They smelled very musty, but once you opened the door and windows and put the towels out to air, they weren't too bad. Also the very welcome hot water bottle did help us sleep (along with the bottle of wine!)
The elephant safari was wonderful, we saw rhino and spotted deer, although it was very misty and quite cold as we set off before breakfast in the dark! My highlight was later in the day when we were taken for a bird watching walk to the river and they brought an elephant down to the river to wash, and we were able to have photos up close, and even sitting on its knee!
We had a boat trip to see a crocodile farm, but unfortunately everyone stood up all together on one boat, and one poor lady fell into the river - needless to say from then on they made sure everyone got up one by one on any of the boat rides!
We also went to see a village by ox cart, and this was fascinating, seeing how the people lived and we took gifts for the children, we took crayons, and to see their little faces light up was amazing. Later on some girls from the village came to dance and sing for us. The couple of days finished off with a slide show, which was very entertaining.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PugseyAberporth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chitwan National Park
7.4 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
182 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
428 reviews
7.9 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#3 of 12 in Sauraha
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seven Star
Hotel Seven Star
#2 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
101 reviews
10.4 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle ...
#1 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
178 reviews
10.0 mi away
Meghauli Serai
Meghauli Serai
#2 of 14 in Chitwan National Park
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Narayani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Narayani Hotel

Property: Safari Narayani Hotel
Address: Ghatgai, Paithani, Bharatpur 28, Chitwan National Park, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Chitwan National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chitwan National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Narayani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Safari Narayani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing