We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget choice in Pokhara”
Review of Fairmount Hotel

Fairmount Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmount Hotel
Ranked #98 of 108 Hotels in Pokhara
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is very clean and has great service to be a budget place. Location is good as it is not on the main busy tourist street of Pokhara, but just a 2 minute walk away from there. Nice communal balconies overlooking Fishtail mountain.

Room Tip: The higher up in the building the better view, but no elevator so also more stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sofia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 37 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

Close to lakeside, decent rooms, good food, good service overall.
The biggest letdown was that we felt cheated over the Tourist bus tickets to Chitwan arranged by the hotel. Although it was not a big amount, it ruined the overall experience. Would recommend others to either avoid doing any additional travel deals through the hotel or check for it beforehand.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roshan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bikalt, Owner at Fairmount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Mr Roshan,


Thank you for your review and particularly about your opinion about the Bus transfer to Chitwan.As far as it concerned there is only one single bus operator for Chitwan.and,as it claims to be a tourist bus but we never tell the guest that it's a tourist bus and we tell before hand what it is. and,there are no better options rather than going with Greenline Bus and taking few more hours on the road or chattering other mode of transfer which cost couple of thousands rupees more.As,i think we have not charged you more except with some service charge.and,all the customers are happy to pay couple of rupees more for the service as all the travel agents and ticketing agents do charge for their extra services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

For reasons we don't understand our tour operator put us in this hotel after our trek. We had been staying at the trek o tel previously.
The location was nowhere near as good. The room was very basic. It looked out onto an unpainted concrete building and some tin shacks. The headboards were very dirty and the bed was like rock. There was noise from the bar across the road.
On a positive note the staff were extremely nice and the breakfast was good. However, for the reasons given, I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeggiegirlMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet location. A stone's throw to restaurants and shops. It was the right size for us. Hot water worked well and great water pressure. Beds were comfy and though it was basic, it was much cleaner then where we were in Kathmandu. We used this hotel prior to our trek and after. It was truly a haven upon our return as our trek tested everything. Breakfast was basic but sufficient.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMSM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bikalt, Owner at Fairmount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear KMSM44

Greetings & Namaste !


Thank you for your review.we will try our level best to maintain our standard and will upgrade more in days to come.We are mid standard establishment but cleanliness with efficient service is our top most priority which we never compromise with it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fairmount Hotel both before and after our trek. The management were very helpful with every request we had and were happy to hold our gear for us while we went trekking. We were confident our gear was in safe hands with genuine and honest people. A big plus for us was that the management never tried to sell us anything in addition to our room. Our room had a view of the lake, Sarangkot and the Peace Pagoda. Although the room was nothing fancy, it was of a good standard, had hot showers and was quiet at night. There is also a great deck on each level to hang out on which we could have used better. Connected is Nemaste restaurant where the service is excellent and the food very good!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were happy with our stay. The location was great, off the main road so no noise but could still walk to everything in lakeside. If you book online there is a 30% discount so the room was very affordable. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed at this budget property for a couple of nights & liked almost everything about it. The quality of food served deserve special mention. The locality is quite near to the lake however there is a dance bar right opposite to the hotel. Overall a recommended stay for friends with high quality service produced by the staffs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#39 of 108 in Pokhara
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#19 of 108 in Pokhara
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lake Star
Hotel Lake Star
#27 of 108 in Pokhara
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crystal Palace
Hotel Crystal Palace
#10 of 108 in Pokhara
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Silver Oaks Inn
The Silver Oaks Inn
#7 of 108 in Pokhara
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peace Plaza
Hotel Peace Plaza
#42 of 108 in Pokhara
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmount Hotel

Address: Lake Side 6, Pokhara 401, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 108 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range: $17 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmount Hotel is located within a walking distance from the lake. All the rooms are well appointed with modern amenities. The hotel's restaurant serves multinational cuisines. Hotel's travel desk caters various travel arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmount Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing