We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello from greece”
Review of Trek-O-Tel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trek-O-Tel
Ranked #85 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good hotel, realy nice big and clean rooms with a very very good quality of service, near the lake and close to the center of the city, good internet conection and clean kitchen with various foods to choose

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Argiris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Trek-O-Tel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 153 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great lake view from the garden. Breakfast in the garden was memorable. Good Internet connections and great hospitality. Overall, great place to chill out and stay close to the lake side buzz! I thanked the rainy day, as we had to stay put and soak up the environment...Amazing fun I thought!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golden E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent place to stay Food was excellent. Lake is across the Hotel and staff was courteous. Rooms were not in front. If curtains are removed, your activities inside the rooms can be seen from outside hence curtains are to be put on always.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guptaashok_0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Trek-O-Tel is on the lakeside, just across the road from the Phewa Lake and close to restaurants, cafes and lots of shops. We stayed there before and after our great Annapurna Trekking. It has a very nice garden with a cozy little cafe- restaurant which serves a good breakfast as well as other delicious dishes. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WaveriderBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed in Pokhara many times, but as my usual hotel is being rebuilt (as is much of Pokhara, and Nepal in general at the moment) I had to find somewhere new. The room was at the front of the hotel, so we had a great view of the lake, and it wasn't noisy at all. The bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water. The bathroom slatted window wouldn't shut, so I found myself bending down so that I wouldn't be a shocking sight for the poor taxi drivers outside! The breakfast was okay, although I found having to wait for the waiter to come out with tea a bit frustrating, as I consume about 50 pints of the stuff at breakfast. It would just have been easier to give me a pot, but it seemed that was not the done thing. The buffet wasn't extensive, although we had enough choice. To be honest I couldn't really warm to the place, although I can't put my finger on why not, which is why I've given it three stars, although the actual hotel probably deserves four stars. The staff were professional but not particularly friendly, with the exception of one of the guys on reception. I also thought that it was quite expensive (I know things are more expensive in Pokhara than in Kathmandu, but even with a 20% discount it felt expensive).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a second choice, since the nearby hotel we wanted was fully booked. However we liked the setting of this hotel, and the quiet location of Gaurighat, a beautiful stretch of Lakeside with full view of the lake. There is plenty of souvenir shops, stores and restaurants nearby. A pier for boating and the avia club office for glider flights. Service at the hotel is friendly and the small garden is a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pramila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

"Lakeside" at Fewa Lake at Pokhara is the centre of the trekking and tourist community, well away from the main Pokhara town centre. It stretches a couple of kilometres from Fishtail Lodge, roughly following the lakefront, until the main centre of Lakeside, where the bulk of the shops, restaurants, and cheap accommodation is located. There are "shops" and cafes the entire distance (including around the Trek-O-Tel), however most shut much earlier at night that those in the more populated centre of the Lakeside tourist precinct. The walk along the length of the Lakeside road can be very dark at night, and often the taxis are few and far between.
I have been to Pokhara previously, and decided that next time, I would book a hotel in the centre of the main shopping precinct of Lakeside.When I booked Trek-O-Tel, I thought it was located in the heart of the tourist precinct, but in reality it is at Gaurighat, about halfway from Fishtail to the main shopping area. This only poses a problem at night.
A couple of very nice restaurants in close proximity are the Thakali Nepali Kitchen next door, Caffe Concerto (for Italian, and pizza), and the restaurant at the Temple Tree Hotel, just around the corner.
The hotel itself comprises of a number of octagonal 3 story brick buildings just across the road from the lake. Some of the front rooms will have views of the lake. Unfortunately neighbouring "highrise" hotel development has pretty much taken away all of the sweeping Pokhara mountain panorama from any of the rooms - in fact, the spendid mountain view from my room was almost completely blocked by the appropriately named "Hotel Splendid View" next door.
The room was basic but comfortable, with a very clean and tidy bathroom, and an airconditioning unit I couldn't get to work. No iron or ironing board in the room. The quirky octagonal design of the buildings mean that rooms have strange tight corners, and many room windows face into the windows of the neighbouring blocks - so if you value privacy you may need your curtains pulled. Likewise I had a balcony that walked directly in front of my neighbour's bedroom window!!
Breakfast was a pretty hit and miss affair. Coffee service was prompt, and it is able to be eaten inside or in a garden terrace on the roadfrontage. The breakfast buffet itself was very average - pre=cooked fried eggs served in large stainless steel pans, etc - obviously geared up for groups more than individual diners.
All in all I thought it was a pretty standard hotel, with no real features that would make me insist on staying again next time i return to Pokhara.

Room Tip: Upper floor, lakeside for the only views you are likely to get.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#21 of 105 in Pokhara
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Raniban Arcade
Hotel Raniban Arcade
#23 of 105 in Pokhara
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid View & Spa
Hotel Splendid View & Spa
#11 of 105 in Pokhara
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 105 in Pokhara
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#29 of 105 in Pokhara
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Trekkers Inn
Hotel Trekkers Inn
#25 of 105 in Pokhara
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trek-O-Tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trek-O-Tel

Address: Gauri Ghat, Lakeside, P.O. Box 2769, Pokhara 977-61, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range: $35 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trek-O-Tel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Phewa Lake with the Annapurna range of the back droop. Trek-O-Tel is so near, yet away from the hustle & bustle of the lake side bazaar. This gives the hotel an advantage in its location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trek-O-Tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trek-o-Tel Hotel Pokhara
Trek o Tel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing