We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel we could find”
Review of Hotel Barahi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barahi
Ranked #27 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel we could find”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Very nice hotel. We were looking for a real treat for a few days, and this hotel beat out both the Fishtail and the Fulbhari. Finding a non-moldy room in this town is not easy. Rooms facing the mountains are better. Guru at the travel desk was terrific. Hot water was not consistent, but the shower head and pressure were great. The heater throws out hot then cold then hot air in some rooms. Friendly staff. The breakfast is mediocre. Location in Lakeside is excellent, while also quiet. The wifi is very expensive and doesn't work a good portion of the time - go to a free wifi restaurant in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ2Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    185
    65
    18
    11
See reviews for
81
111
39
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Really great hotel, right in the heart of Lakeside Pokhara!!! Swimming pool is great, rooms are large and comfortable. Great breakfasts!! Central to everything you want/need to do in Pokhara, as well as being a great place to relax after trekking.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMerrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

There is no word to explain abot the hotel. excelent service by food and beverage, rooms and request you all to visit pokhara if you go to nepal and tourist destination barahi hotel in pokhara.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prakriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Barahi was a good place to stay in Pokhara. Clean, good rooms, balcony with a view of lakeside in new building - free wireless internet connection is great! There is TV and AC. Every day like everywhere in Nepal there are powercuts but the hotel provides generator backup that doesn't supply the AC. Interior was adequate and clean. Also it has a nice, clean swimming pool -which then to be crowded. Every evenining there is a Nepali show with music and dancing. Breakfast was simple and basic. The staff were friendly. Good hotel within walking distance of lakeside and shopping street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

3 of us were staying in pokhara all in different locations but as my hotel was the best we always ended up back here.

Location is fantastic. Just off the main street so quiet enough but within steps of everything you could want

There is a full restaurant, a pool bar, a bakery and room service but there are so many dining options in pokhara I never ate at the hotel, you really need to eat at one of the lakeside restaurants.

The rooms are a good but basic standard, air conditioning and English language TV channels, nice balcony; double beds seemed hard to come by. Free wi-fi depends on what room you are in but there are a multitude of internet cafes for 100 rupees an hour. The pool was a bit noisy as over run by children.

There is no lift if that is important to you but my major problem was that all the power sockets seemed to be faulty so it was hard to charge up camera/phone/mp3 etc unless you held it in place manually.

Would I stay there again? I did!
My 8:30am flight to Katmandu was postponed because of the rain and poor visibility which I discovered to be a very frequent occurrence. I sat in pokhara airport all day and returned to Barahi soaking wet and exhausted at 5pm, I barely got halfway through why I had returned and they had me up to another room, which in fact was even nicer than the one I had before.

Don’t fly. Get the bus. It is cheaper and more reliable.

Booked directly on the hotel’s website for US$37 plus tax per night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _cornishpixie7_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Had a great view of Machapuchare (Fishtail) & surrounding peaks from our 3rd floor room. Could admire this view forever. Service was aimed to please, Room Service was quick & breakfast was quite filling. Seeing the other guests, one realized they must have done some serious trakking/outdoor activity to demolish all that they did.

Hoteel's just off the main market, where one can spend a happy time admiring artefacts,gemstones, music , books etc. If planning to buy-do haggle.

Parking at the hotel can be limited, although in true Asian style, everybody finds some place.
Overall, a good , inexpensive & safe place to stay

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

A completely acceptable 3-star hotel. It doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't - you get what you pay for, which is clean and comfortble rooms with cable TV, and a great location within easy walking distance of the Lakeside shops and restaurants.
The staff were friendly and polite, and willing to help out with my queries. The breakfast was OK, but I preferred to eat out at the many good cafes nearby, where the standard of food and coffee (Illy and Lavazza) was much higher. I wasn't able to access the Wi-Fi from the top floor, but could in the lobby, but apart from that everything else worked fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.5 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#29 of 105 in Pokhara
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 105 in Pokhara
643 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#20 of 105 in Pokhara
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#30 of 105 in Pokhara
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#3 of 105 in Pokhara
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuti Resort & Spa
Kuti Resort & Spa
#53 of 105 in Pokhara
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barahi

Property: Hotel Barahi
Address: Barahi Path | Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#10 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
#12 Family Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barahi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barahi is located by the Lakeside. It is away from hustle and bustle, and pollution. Enjoy here the comfort of lush garden. Hotel Barahi's ambience and decor of the lobby with 84 deluxe rooms provide an international standard of accommodation and service with warmth of Nepalese perfect and complete hospitality. Lakeside is one long, highly developed strip in Pokhara. Here hotel and lodges alternate with fields and farm-houses. Hotel Barahi is superb. With the modern and tradition facilities; Barahi with its outdoor swimming pool, every day ethnic cultural dance program makes your holiday more enjoyable and entertaining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Barahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barahi Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing