We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Trek Heaven”
Review of Hotel Barahi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barahi
Ranked #26 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Post Trek Heaven”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a week's trekking around Annapurna and staying in the en route Tea Houses, we descended into Pokhara for a couple of days rehab prior to returning home.
What a great place? Superb location ,walking distance to everywhere and a poolside bar catering for all tastes. The rooms are basic but adequate and clean. Hot water is plentiful and the bathrooms are fully functional. The full body massage, after all the exercise, was very welcome and relaxing.
A full breakfast buffet offered just about everything apart from bacon.
All the staff seemed happy and helpful , we all agreed that another stay here would be acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for the "New Block" overlooking the pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    185
    64
    18
    11
See reviews for
81
110
39
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The location is good. Barahi hotel is very near the Pokhara downtown and Phewa lake, so it is easy for shopping, dining and sight seeing. The room is simple but comfortable and clear. This hotel will be still my option for next time in Pokhara.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ying-hsin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I really liked this hotel. Centrally located with easy access to lots of restaurants and the lake.
The pool is clean, where meals and drinks are served. Breakfast was varied. I recommend the omellettes!
Electricity can be a problem in Pokhara. During the night, power was lost, meaning the air con stopped, which resulted in the room becoming quite warm (first world problem).
This is all part of what to expect in Nepal.
Hotel comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilv402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a banquet for 25 people at the end of the trip and they pulled out all of the stops. Great food and great entertainment.

There are many places in lakeside pokhara that you can go, even this late in the season, but they did a great job in making it all come together.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

HOTEL BARAHI .. Pokhara.. Nepal

On arrival we firstly encountered a nice small reception area with friendly staff, outside was a nice swimming pool area and all appeared to be going well, however that's where it ended,
On entering our very tatty and dated room (room No 212) the first thing you noticed Is there are no complimentary bottled water, no in room safe, no mini bar or fridge and the furniture is tatty and dirty. Power point next to mirror never worked.
The air conditioning unit was barely working and it took an age to cool the room, that is when it was working, each and every time the electricity flicked the air con turned itself off, not too much of an issue whilst you're awake but during the night the heat woke us up on several occasions.
Our room looked absolutely nothing like the photos on the Barahi's website.
Bathroom,,, oh my goodness here we had a mish mash of units, white sink and WC, pink bath and toilet seat and a blue litter bin, the bath was a disgrace, on first looking at it I thought that it was just filthy and had not been cleaned, but on closer inspection it was apparent that it was actually the fibreglass or material that the bath was made from was so old and worn out it had a shattered cracked look to it.
The bed was relatively comfortable but the pillows felt as hard as a rolled up blanket, I ended up utilising the spare quilt as a pillow.
This hotel is well overpriced. Had I paid around the 45 usd I would not complain but I paid three times that. Their website leads you to believe the in room wifi is included but there is a fee if you want to use in room, folks walking past and having a glass of water downstairs can use it free.
There are many hotels as good as this one for a lot less money. Do not let it's expensive room prices trick you into believing you are getting more than you really are. Also be aware that this hotel prices by per person and not per room .. Ill never stay. Here again. Contact me for photos, you'll not stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnsamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel is walkable distance from lake and near the shopping area as well.Good clean rooms. Hotel staffs were very friendly and provided excellent service. The food was great and the prices were worth it. Can be highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms with Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiao Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butwal, Nepal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was told this to be the best luxurious hotel around lake side area of Pokhara. But, the service received, the amneties offered were not worth the tariff!
To make the matters worse, there had been no power back up plan ( happened during my stay) there was a power cut for 25 mins and had to stay in dark in room itself.
Dinner is not included in tariff and neither does it offer great variety in dinner.
Morning buffet was satisfactory though, and yeah this was complimentary.

Bathrooms are smaller than one would expect of a luxurious hotel. No bidets on pots, all you got is toilet paper :P

Also, the beds! The beds are normal, I bet you got better ones in your guest room at home!

In Short my experience here: "It ain't worth it!"

Room Tip: First floor should be avoided, No view! Room 402-403 worthless for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.5 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#28 of 105 in Pokhara
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#9 of 105 in Pokhara
634 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#19 of 105 in Pokhara
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#29 of 105 in Pokhara
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dahlia Boutique Hotel Pokhara
1.7 mi away
Hotel Jal Mahal
Hotel Jal Mahal
#51 of 105 in Pokhara
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barahi

Property: Hotel Barahi
Address: Barahi Path | Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#10 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
#12 Family Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barahi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barahi is located by the Lakeside. It is away from hustle and bustle, and pollution. Enjoy here the comfort of lush garden. Hotel Barahi's ambience and decor of the lobby with 84 deluxe rooms provide an international standard of accommodation and service with warmth of Nepalese perfect and complete hospitality. Lakeside is one long, highly developed strip in Pokhara. Here hotel and lodges alternate with fields and farm-houses. Hotel Barahi is superb. With the modern and tradition facilities; Barahi with its outdoor swimming pool, every day ethnic cultural dance program makes your holiday more enjoyable and entertaining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Barahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barahi Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing