We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Hotel Barahi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Barahi
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

HOTEL BARAHI .. Pokhara.. Nepal

On arrival we firstly encountered a nice small reception area with friendly staff, outside was a nice swimming pool area and all appeared to be going well, however that's where it ended,
On entering our very tatty and dated room (room No 212) the first thing you noticed Is there are no complimentary bottled water, no in room safe, no mini bar or fridge and the furniture is tatty and dirty. Power point next to mirror never worked.
The air conditioning unit was barely working and it took an age to cool the room, that is when it was working, each and every time the electricity flicked the air con turned itself off, not too much of an issue whilst you're awake but during the night the heat woke us up on several occasions.
Our room looked absolutely nothing like the photos on the Barahi's website.
Bathroom,,, oh my goodness here we had a mish mash of units, white sink and WC, pink bath and toilet seat and a blue litter bin, the bath was a disgrace, on first looking at it I thought that it was just filthy and had not been cleaned, but on closer inspection it was apparent that it was actually the fibreglass or material that the bath was made from was so old and worn out it had a shattered cracked look to it.
The bed was relatively comfortable but the pillows felt as hard as a rolled up blanket, I ended up utilising the spare quilt as a pillow.
This hotel is well overpriced. Had I paid around the 45 usd I would not complain but I paid three times that. Their website leads you to believe the in room wifi is included but there is a fee if you want to use in room, folks walking past and having a glass of water downstairs can use it free.
There are many hotels as good as this one for a lot less money. Do not let it's expensive room prices trick you into believing you are getting more than you really are. Also be aware that this hotel prices by per person and not per room .. Ill never stay. Here again. Contact me for photos, you'll not stay here

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnsamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 448 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel is walkable distance from lake and near the shopping area as well.Good clean rooms. Hotel staffs were very friendly and provided excellent service. The food was great and the prices were worth it. Can be highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms with Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiao Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was told this to be the best luxurious hotel around lake side area of Pokhara. But, the service received, the amneties offered were not worth the tariff!
To make the matters worse, there had been no power back up plan ( happened during my stay) there was a power cut for 25 mins and had to stay in dark in room itself.
Dinner is not included in tariff and neither does it offer great variety in dinner.
Morning buffet was satisfactory though, and yeah this was complimentary.

Bathrooms are smaller than one would expect of a luxurious hotel. No bidets on pots, all you got is toilet paper :P

Also, the beds! The beds are normal, I bet you got better ones in your guest room at home!

In Short my experience here: "It ain't worth it!"

Room Tip: First floor should be avoided, No view! Room 402-403 worthless for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mannku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Good clean rooms. Hotel staffs were very accomodative and provided excellent service. The food was great and the prices were worth it.

The traditional folk dance show happens every evening and was very entertaining.

Hotel is walkable distance from lake and near the shopping area as well.Can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel cost is kinda hight as service they offer, wifi is not working properly in lobby, good value buffet, although there is limited choice of item, but still you get what you pay for, it's worth money, buffet is about 500-800 Rupees, which is $5-8 only, they provide Chinese food in buffet, will visit again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaihanAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I think most of the staff feeling very proud of because they working in good hotel. I never found good response about rate inquiry and booking. hope all service are good but it is better to make quick response service. I seems that there was email & internet problem. Management should have to make well equip office.

Room Tip: hotel is not bad but we corporate person feel some problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank suman169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel before and after our Poon Hill trekking. They got this swimming pool where it's perfect for relaxing your muscles after all the exhaustion from the trekking. Too bad that there aren't any lifts to the hotel rooms.. can you imagine that we were all suffered with muscles pain after all the walking and hiking, but still needed to carry our heavy backpacks and climbed up the stairs to our rooms on 4th floors?! Others than that it was satisfactory. Try to wake up early and catch the morning sunrise on the rooftop!

Room Tip: pick those rooms that having the mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jinxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#9 of 106 in Pokhara
692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#25 of 106 in Pokhara
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#30 of 106 in Pokhara
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#4 of 106 in Pokhara
394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#17 of 106 in Pokhara
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 106 in Pokhara
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barahi

Address: Barahi Path | Lakeside, Pokhara 97761, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#10 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
#12 Family Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range: $69 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barahi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Pokhara’s prominent place “Lakeside”, Hotel Barahi boasts some stunning views of the Annapurna & Machapuchare Himalayans, Phewa Lake as well as easy access to the thriving lake street. We are 3 KMS away from Pokhara domestic airport. We offer 85 deluxe and suite rooms, fusion fine dining restaurant with every evening authentic live cultural dance show, cake shop, swimming pool, public bar, meeting rooms, and SPA decorated with comfort and elegance in mind. We are also the home for contemporary business facilities with three conference rooms & lawn to satisfy every one of your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Barahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barahi Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing