We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Tara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tara
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited Nepal in March-April 2013. Had the excellent experience in staying at Hotel Tara during our stay in Pokhara. Excellent ambience. Beautiful rooms. Nice balcony. Hot water. Clean bathrooms. Nice food too.
Only issue is that there is no lift. So if your room is in a higher floor, be prepared for some Everest climbing!

Room Tip: choose a room in lower floors if climbing is not your cup of tea, as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuprao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm review.

We are glad to know that you had a lovely stay at our Hotel. It was great having you here at our Hotel. I am extremely sorry that you had a problem climbing the stairs. As we don't have a lift, climbing stairs is the only option. We hope the beautiful mountain view from your room made a bit relief and worthy climbing to higher floor. We hope you will visit us more often in near future and recommend your friends and family too.

Thank you once again!

Warm Regards,
Hotel Tara
+977 61 466496
+977 61 466497
Dilip Kumar Gurung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    45
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
53
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on route to and from the Annapurnas. Good location near to the lake and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Lovely clean rooms, and hot water (i think generated by solar power so shower early to be sure) . Room size is fine but can only fit one extra bed so if you have 3 children you will need two rooms, and I don't think there are any interleading rooms in the hotel. The manager and reception staff are lovely and very helpful, and will go out of their way to assist you, but the kitchen may be understaffed so I think the poor cook gets in a tizz if the restaurant is too busy. (We waited for an hour for lunch which was only cheese and salad sandwiches.) However, the slow kitchen would not deter us from staying here next time we come to Pokhara!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich_Vintcent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are glad to know that you had a lovely stay at our Hotel. I am really sorry that you waited so long to get your lunch. Actually one of the chef was sick, so he didn't come to work that day because of that everyone faced that problem. Rather than showing excuses, we would like to apologize for the delay. We have taken that situation very seriously and it won't repeat again.

Besides that I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our newly built Hotel. We hope, we will get an opportunity to serve you, your family and your friend in coming days.

Many Thanks
Hotel Tara
+977 61 466497
+977 61 466496
Dilip Kumar Gurung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Hotel Tara as part of our honeymoon/travelling trip and over Christmas and we are soooooo pleased we choose this hotel. We had been in Nepal for over a week and looked at and stayed at various other hotels and this was far the nicest. It was very modern, clean, the staff were friendly and the views from our room were fantastic. The staff were on hand to help and ensure we had a great stay. The breakfast was basic but well cooked and more than sufficient and the best included in the room price breakfast we had eaten. The beds were one of the comfiest we have stayed on and rooms were cleaned everyday. On Christmas day we are if we could have breakfast in bed and our request was met. The hotel is also in a great location; a short walk from the main tourist road and very peaceful. Pokhara is a little more touristy than other places we have visited but great if you want a few home from home comforts, like beautiful scenery and like hiking/mountaineering/activities. Overall we had a great time, would definitely return, would recommend this hotel and would like to thank once again the staff at Hotel Tara for making our honeymoon and Christmas so enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are really glad to know that you had a wonderful time with us.

We are very happy and overwhelmed to read your review. Our guest satisfactions is what we need.

Hope you will visit us again and give us a chance to serve you, your family and your friends.

Thank you once again!
Hotel Tara
+977 (0)61 466496
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Clean and new hotel. 24 hrs hot water. Excellent food for breakfast. Thanks to Dhilip for making our stay comfortable. Rooms with great views on the Annapura Range. Must book rooms facing the mountains.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limjames88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank You for your kind review, we really appreciate that. We always try hard, for our guest satisfaction and comfortableness. We believe we will always maintain this quality and standard. We haven't got any words to express how wonderful we feel to have a guest like you. Hope we will get an opportunity to serve you again.
Many Thanks
Hotel Tara
+977 61 466496
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed in several hotels and guest houses in Nepal, and this place is definitely a favourite. The rooms are furnished in a modern way, and the bathrooms are nicely done. There is ample hot water. Electricity is available 24 hours/day for lights, and there is a generator that powers the A/C and televisions during power failures up to 10 pm (after which they turn it off because of the noise it makes). The owner and all the staff are very friendly, attentive and accommodating. They are also responsive to feedback. It is clear that because this is a new hotel, they wish to improve it however they can. There is a lovely view from the rooftop balcony. The beds are very comfortable, though the pillows are perhaps a little bulky. Our room (601) had a small bathtub drainage issue (if you drain the tub too quickly when it is full the water leaks out of the floor drain), but this was not a huge problem, and the owner is working to fix it. The shower drains without a problem and has good water pressure. Wifi (free) works well, and the breakfast is quite good. We will definitely stay here again and will recommend that our friends do the same.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you don't like walking up stairs choose a room on a lower floor (the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weikaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hotel Tara appreciates your kind and warm review and we take your comfortableness as our priority. Regarding pillow we are thinking about it but the drainage issue has already been fixed.

It was wonderful having you here. We hope you will visit us more often and recommend Hotel Tara to your friends and family too.
We are glad to know that you had a wonderful stay at Hotel Tara
Many thanks !
Hotel Tara
Lakeside, Pokhara
Nepal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

When you visit Pokhara, the best thing you can do is to ensure that you stay at Hotel Tara. The hotel sets itself apart by ensuring excellent service, excellent (and exceptionally clean) rooms and by putting the needs of the guest first. Mr. Shyam, the hotel manager especially has customer service in his blood. For example, we had booked a tour, through the hotel, to the World Peace Stupa, and he told us not to go because the weather was not great, and rebooked us to go next morning, where he promised that the weather would be better. We listened to him, and it was the best decision ever. So get in touch with Mr. Shyam from the time you are arranging the trip to Pokhara, and listen to his advice, because everything, from the season, to the predicted weather during your stay has a profound influence on your experience in Pokhara in general.

Room Tip: The season really matters in Pokhara and truly defines your experience. So make sure you check with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRezels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review Sir.

It was pleasure having you in our Hotel. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at Hotel Tara. Hope we will get an opportunity to serve you, your family and friends in coming future.

Thank you once again!

Warm regards,
Hotel Tara

Dilip K Gurung
+977 61 466496
+977 61 466497
www.hoteltaranepal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This new hotel was the best lodging we visited in Nepal. The owner, operator, and staff were all extremely friendly and helpful as well. The rooms were clean, with as much window as wall (304). Nice rooftop to catch 360 views of the Lake and surrounding area. They offered a sizeable breakfast and arranged several quick and easy tours with their hotel driver. The location was a short walk from the main strip of tourist restaurants, bars, and shops. Hot water, generator, electrical converters as well. I highly recommend the spot when passing through Pokhara.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much James, much appreciated!

Thank you for letting us know that you had a great experience in Hotel Tara. Our whole team is dedicated to provide warm service to the guests.

Hope you will give us a chance to serve you, your family and your friends too. Thank you once again for your kind review!


Warm regards,
Hotel Tara
Dilip K Gurung
+977 61 466496
+977 61 466497
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#31 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#9 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#4 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lake Star
Hotel Lake Star
#25 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trekkers Inn
Hotel Trekkers Inn
#20 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#5 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara

Property: Hotel Tara
Address: Shivalaya Marga, Lakeside - 6 | Gaurighat, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city of lakes, Hotel Tara set in the heart of Pokhara is more than willing to take care of your accommodations and travel needs while you are staying with us.We have 22 quiet deluxe/super deluxe rooms, tastefully furnished luxury rooms each fitted with LED Television, air condition, free Wi-Fi and are all self-contained with bath tubs or showers as per the guest requirements. The rooms are warm and pampering, with private balcony from where you can get a view of mighty Himalayan peaks of the Annapurna Range. The beds are so comfortable that you may find it difficult to get up for breakfast. We provide healthy and hygienic whether it’s English breakfast or typical delicious lunch or dinner on our guests request. With a dedicated and well-trained team, the hotel is always at your service. Moreover, we offer our services at reasonable amount of charges. Our Hotel Tara is a secure oasis of peace and tranquility, a luxurious place to stay and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing