We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Tara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tara
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in Jan 2013 and the hotel was spotless, service was excellent, hot water worked consistently, and the rooms stayed warm at night (huge luxury in Nepal in January). Excellent location near the lake. Cleanest rooms with best amenities we've seen at this price in Nepal. Very reasonable prices. If this hotel is within your budget range don't look anywhere else!

Room Tip: All rooms have big windows with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NISchulze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are pleased to know that your stay at our hotel was a luxurious one. We hope you had a great time staying at our hotel. I hope you will give us chance to serve your friend and family as well.

Hope to see you soon in future.

Warm regards,
Hotel Tara

Dilip K Gurung
+977 61 466496
+977 61 466497
www.hoteltaranepal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 177 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Me and my wife spent 4 nights at the Hotel Tara, and it was an undivided joy! From the first moment we felt well looked after, the service is very good, smile of the staff is never far away - and it's a professional atmosphere. We got rooms with views of the Himalayas, everything was nice and clean and there was hot water in the shower :) The hotel is characterized by beeing brand new, and if there was something we missed, the staff fixed it right away. We ate most meals down by the lake which is only minutes walk from the hotel, but we can recommend to try the hotel Nepalese dishes that were really tasty
I would recommend anyone going to Pokhara to stay at Hotel Tara!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Himalayas, it is a bit more expencive than the other rooms, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrmr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your warm review.

I went for trekking with our guest so I am extremely sorry for replying you late.

It was really nice to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will always work hard to satisfy our guests. We ensure to maintain our quality and standards.

We hope to see you soon.

Many thanks.

Hotel Tara
Dilip k Gurung
+977 - 61 - 466496
+977 - 61 - 466497
www.hoteltaranepal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My Husband and I spent 2 nights in Pokhara during our honeymoon in Hotel Tara. We had a great experience staying in the hotel. Staffs are helpful and services rendered to us were excellent. The hotel is new, therefore, it is very well maintained, clean and pleasant with hot shower. Perfect during autumn and winter! We enjoyed our stay in Pokhara partly because we had a beautiful place like Hotel Tara.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee Ii Li F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thank You Lee Li, much appreciated !

Thank you for letting us know that you had a beautiful experience in Hotel Tara. We hope to see you again.
We are sure, we will always maintain this quality and standard.
Many thanks.
Hotel Tara
Dilip Kumar Gurung
+977-61-466496

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hi its me again. Third time in Nepal in a month! Well, this is a planned family holiday. Found this hotel while checking with Tripadvisor. Was apprehensive because there was hardly any reviews so far. Again thanks to Tripadvisor and her members., I managed to email other Tripadvisor members to find out about heating and hot water. Descriptions by other members were almost exact. Heard that they just open in October this year. Hardly any teething problems by now. We had continuous hot water supply as it is solar-powered. Being solar-powered, it takes awhile for the hot water to arrive at your taps - so patience is good :) They have their own power generator which they use at appropriate times when there is power outage ( a common thing in Nepal) . So we get our rooms heated up sufficiently for the night :) Check with hotel staff on power availability. In the morning, they definitely have generator on for an hour for guests . Excellent service by staff of all levels, always smiling and trying their level best to please and serve us. My daughter has special dietary requirements. We bought our own food and asked the kitchen to cook. They obliged readily but told us nicely that they can only cook it just before or just after the busy meal hours. I think that is absolutely fair. Free wifi at acceptable speed. Nice new rooms. Comfortable beds, clean crisp linen. Soap and shampoo not caustic like some other Kathmandu hotel. Oh, they provide a pair of slippers/fliplflops in the room. How thoughtful .As with most 3* hotels, no wardrobes,just some hooks and hangers but it's ok. Its 5* service 4* infrastructure paying 3* price. They have a small restaurant with limited menu items but sufficient if you are not looking for anything fancy. Breakfast is simple but tasty and wholesome. Location is also good, near lakeside. leaving hotel tomorrow for Kathmandu. So wrapping up my in Pokhara now.
Rooftop terrace has excellent views of mountains and for star gazing.

Room Tip: Choose rooms towards the rear or corner rooms on left nearer to mountain side, You will have excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DIYholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thank you, Madam !
We are very happy that you really had a wonderful time in our hotel. Everyday we do our best to serve each and every guest but we get review from some of our guest only. But whenever it happens, we get very happy.

We always gets encourage from guests reviews. So, Thank you for encouraging us and letting us know that you an awesome time in HOTEL TARA. We hope to see you again in future.
Dilip Kumar Gurung
Hotel Tara
+977-61-466496

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

New hotel, very clean and comfortable, only 2 months old. All of the staff are very friendly and make you feel right at home. Hotel is close to every thing you need such as shops, illy cafe (real coffee) and lake fewa e.c.t. I have stayed in hotel tara for 3 weeks and would love to stay again!! Hotel Tara keep Rockin on!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thank you Julian, thank you very much !
We believe we are going to maintain this quality even after decades and decades.
Hope we will get an opportunity to serve you and your family or friends in coming future.
Many thanks.
Hotel Tara
+977-61-566496 /
Bipin Gurung
+977-9856032747

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A very outstanding performance from the owner and staff, always made to feel welcome from arrival to departure, this is the first time I have stayed in a brand new hotel and felt so comfortable on the other side of the world. Breakfast on the roof is a must. See you next time, thanks Dilip

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Much Appreciated Glen !
I would love to serve you again. Our guest satisfaction is what we need. Thank you Sir for staying in Hotel Tara and letting the traveler to know about us.
We are always here to serve you.
Hotel Tara.
Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed here for a week and enjoyed it thoroughly. Sham and the staff are so friendly and the rooms are bright, modern, and spotlessly clean. We had a killer view of the mountains from the room too.

The best part for us was that the immaculate room had a nice bathroom with scorching hot water morning and night. Yes!

Probably our only complaints were that the room doesn't have a wardrobe or any place to hang up clothes. The staff provided hangers for us but there wasn't a good place to hang them. Washing clothes was also tough. The TV was a nice addition but its very small and reception isn't great. And like most hotels we've seen in Nepal, the typical marble stairway that winds up the center of hotel means that you can hear everything at all hours (doors banging, stomping footsteps and conversations).

Breakfast is decent and the staff were flexible so we could mix it up each day.

After our grueling trek, Hotel Tara was so nice for us. Clean, comfortable, with smiling staff eager to please. You can't really ask for more!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heartandsoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip Kumar G, Manager at Hotel Tara, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate that. As you know, we are new in this business, it just been 2 month we had an opening. We believe we still have few more things we need to add in our room.

Yes, we been thinking to get wardrobe as soon as possible. One of the guest suggested us to get the sponge on our door frames to avoid the door banging noise. We did that already.

We been thinking to get carpet on the stair so that the footstep, conversation echos will get reduce.

We are very happy to get your review, we are doing lots of advertisement these days. We are adding each and everything that makes our guest comfortable to stay in Hotel Tara.
Many Thanks.
Hotel Tara, Pokhara, Nepal.
tel: 00977-61466496

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#39 of 109 in Pokhara
303 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#9 of 109 in Pokhara
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lake Star
Hotel Lake Star
#28 of 109 in Pokhara
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#10 of 109 in Pokhara
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Silver Oaks Inn
The Silver Oaks Inn
#13 of 109 in Pokhara
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Crystal Palace
Hotel Crystal Palace
#11 of 109 in Pokhara
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara

Address: Shivalaya Marga, Lakeside - 6 | Gaurighat, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range: $18 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city of lakes, Hotel Tara set in the heart of Pokhara is more than willing to take care of your accommodations and travel needs while you are staying with us.We have 22 quiet deluxe/super deluxe rooms, tastefully furnished luxury rooms each fitted with LED Television, air condition, free Wi-Fi and are all self-contained with bath tubs or showers as per the guest requirements. The rooms are warm and pampering, with private balcony from where you can get a view of mighty Himalayan peaks of the Annapurna Range. The beds are so comfortable that you may find it difficult to get up for breakfast. We provide healthy and hygienic whether it’s English breakfast or typical delicious lunch or dinner on our guests request. With a dedicated and well-trained team, the hotel is always at your service. Moreover, we offer our services at reasonable amount of charges. Our Hotel Tara is a secure oasis of peace and tranquility, a luxurious place to stay and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing