We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakeside Retreat
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very handy for all the restaurants and shopping. Used before and after a trek, we experienced the garden lodges and new rooms in a block. Both good , but the garden lodges shaded it. Very friendly service, average breakfasts, but lots of good restaurants close.Prices were good, and would definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: garden lodges are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    68
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
42
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place was recommended by one of my friend who was in Pokhara on November last year. In fact apart from the rough road to resort. I am fully satisfied. the atmosphere, surrounding, clean rooms, attentive service I got good value for my money. My two night stay was not enough. After few days stay in Kathmandu I feel much more relaxed relaxed here in Pokhara. Thanks to every staff who made my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Quiet location by the lake side, Beautiful garden and very helpful staff. I have booked another trip in Nov in this property. Food fantastic. Very good choice of breakfast. Good value for money. On my previous visit stayed different hotel and paid lot more then what I paid in Base Camp. But the service was very poor. Now on my first choice would be Hotel Base Camp.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 Nights in Dec 2012 under New Management with group of 12 Pax and I must say service was exceptional. Cleaness, location, quality of food and hospitality was best I have ever had in Pokhara. Location to Lake side was few minutes walk and to best resturants around. I had most comfortable sleeps and secure atmosphere during my stay.

Communial gardens were attractive and espically with majestic view of mountatins around. I was also told Base Camp Resort was under new management and must say I could feel thought has been put for Guest for most comfortable atmosphere,convenience and accomodating to utmost standard to professional Hospitality.
I must say we enjoyed everything in Pokhara like Paragliding, World Peace Pagoda, Resturants and Tailored made sightseeing. All in all a most enjoyable and memorable stay for Dec 2012 .

Room Tip: Wodden Cottages are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBURA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was on trip to ABC I stayed each night after and before trekking. The place is off the main street. quiet beautiful garden, very helpful staff and live cooking egg on breakfast. I wanted to spent one or two night more but I had flight to catch. I will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: A place to be in Pokhara
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel staff were excellent, the location is good apart from the struggle up the unmade road in the dark. They really should fix it. The gardens are lovely and the view of the mountains is terrific. We only stayed 2 nights and so managed pretty well.

However, it is badly in need of updating. I imagine it was in a class of its own when it was built but the mattress was really hard, almost no give in it all and the area around the plughole in the bath was all peeling away. I think the bath had been painted to try to give it extra life, but really time to spend some money, especially since there are so many new hotels just opened or about to open. Reminded me of old fashioned Butlins chalets.
I suppose I should declare that we are in our 60's and looking for a bit of comfort. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadowmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

we stayed for just 1 night to go to sarangkot...this place is good and their food is very good especially their coffee is the best i would say during my stay in nepal...you can get a great view of the annapurna range right from your hotel balcony...you have free wifi and the staff if you can find them are very helpful he he he...

Room Tip: Take the higher floors and the rooms facing the mountains for a great view of the himalayan range (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kichukodoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.1 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#28 of 105 in Pokhara
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 105 in Pokhara
643 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dahlia Boutique Hotel Pokhara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#29 of 105 in Pokhara
271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakefront (P) Ltd.
Hotel Lakefront (P) Ltd.
#54 of 105 in Pokhara
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#17 of 105 in Pokhara
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeside Retreat

Property: The Lakeside Retreat
Address: 6 Lake Side | P.O. Box 495, Pokhara 33411, Nepal (Formerly Base Camp Resort)
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakeside Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Retreat Pokhara is an ideal space for peace and relaxation just a short walk from the banks of Phewa lake. Perfect for a business trip or lakeside escape, our plush accommodations and casual sophistication offer more than enough reasons to unwind. The Lakeside Retreats guest rooms and suites feature their own personal access and garden side terrace. Every room features air conditioning, satellite TV, tea/coffee facility, WiFi and security lockers.You'll appreciate our discretion - from the exceptional furnishings, spa-inspired baths, copious natural lighting and feather-soft beds - every sumptuous detail will satisfy you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing