We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a fantastic boat-ride to reach Fishtail lodge!!”
Review of Fish Tail Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fish Tail Lodge
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a fantastic boat-ride to reach Fishtail lodge!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The most fantastic thing about this hotel is that it is on the other side of the lake!! So every time you wish to cross it they take you boating in a colorful nepalese boat or a "ferry" that is made out of wood and a rope. I found that exciting every single time!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    182
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
125
197
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
affligem
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

A year ago my wife and I went to Nepal (fotthis was journeys number 7 in Nepal).

We saw the Fishtail Lodge for the first time in 1997 and from this day we dreamed to come back to this lovely place in the Pewa Lake.

In 2008 we where 4 days in Fishtail Lodge and we found this amazing. There are no words for described the vues from the hotel, the Annapurna's, Mount Dauglagiri, and ... the Mount Fishtail (Matchaputshare).

We recommend this hotel at all the Nepal-lovers.

  • Liked — the vues and the garden
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ikkeAffligem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

OK, you first need to qualify any review of the Fishtail with a quick comment on what you're looking for when visiting Pokhara. This place is located at the premier picturesque spot in Pokhora, on the lake, with a spectacular view of the Himalaya's. The service is first rate and friendly. Now, this isn't for the people that want to 'touch' the Nepal lifestyle and be apart of the scene that is Pokhora. It's an oasis of sorts, accessible only by a hand pulled 'raft', with a distinctively colonial feel to it. The staff wear uniforms and are embarrassingly deferential to your every need. The rooms are fine, if not luxurious. The food isn't great, but there are plenty of places in town that you would want to check out anyway. I noticed it was a big hit with the higher end tour groups, as it is well suited to handle large groups in an efficient and friendly manner. The gardens are spectacular.
So, there are other very nice places to stay in Pokhora that are easily half or one third the price, but it's a different experience. This is a place for those that like the feel and service of a resort, albeit a resort in a spectacular location. It's not for those that want to pop out or bed and within 5 minutes be sitting on the sidewalk with their cup of tea or coffee saying 'Hi' to the local crowd. It is a place for those that seek security, quiet and a sense of 'no surprises'.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I expected this hotel to be first class, ~after all most of the reviews claim that this "charming" and beautifully located lodge situated on an island that can only be reached by a raft...Well I was in for a huge let down. The rooms were mildewy, the carpets dirty, and I came down with a miserable asthma attack which foced us to leave the place ahead of schedule. Despite the fact that large tour groups come in day after day (from Estonia, Germany, you name it) and that it's "the best" that Pokhara has to offer", I will never ever go back. I'd take Hotel Nirvana at $20 a night over the $150 rip off any day of the week!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Pleasant surroundings, prices sky high for food and drink compared to what you get in a short walk to Pokhara's many restaurants. Shower fitments falling off walls, bath dirty, room not made up on arrival, the most expensive beer in Nepal.
This was our second visit, would not rush back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Fishtail Lodge was the best hotel we fond in Nepal. Lovely gardens on a peninsula across the Phewa Tal Lake. Fantastic views. Food good and staff helpful and friendly. If staying in Pokhara please consider visiting Namaste Children House [-] on Lakeside. The kids are fabulous and love to practice their English - see the good work that Visma and his team are doing. Our time spent at the orphanage was extremely rewarding and one of the highlights of our time in Nepal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paynes-Grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Great location! Avoid the restaurant though. My wife and I had a banana lassi and both got sick afterwards and although we hadn’t left the hotel premises at all that day, hotel staff insisted that it was not their fault (we suspect that the fridge is not powered by a generator which is asking for problems in a country with scheduled power blackouts)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacktulipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 102 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#6 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#24 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#18 of 102 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#23 of 102 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tail Lodge

Property: Fish Tail Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 10 | Lakeside, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokhara
#4 Family Hotel in Pokhara
#6 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tail Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a peninsula with the Fewa Lake on one side and a forest-covered hill on the other, the Fish Tail Lodge offers spectacular views all round making it a unique lake resort. Guests are received and transported to the Lodge on its shuttle-floats or boats.Established in the late 1960’s with unique round cottages set amidst a lush garden, the Fish Tail Lodge is ideal for travelers desiring the charm of a small hotel with very high service standards. A choice of 48 standard rooms, central dinning room and bar contained in five ‘rounds’ and 12 deluxe rooms blend in harmony with the landscape.All profits generated by Fish Tail Lodge are donated to the Princess Jayanti Memorial Trust. The Trust provides free cardiac care to underprivileged Nepalese people and conducts various programmes to raise public awareness regarding the causes of heart diseases in Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fish Tail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishtail Hotel Pokhara
Fishtail Resort Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing