We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Tail Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fish Tail Lodge
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

Pleasant surroundings, prices sky high for food and drink compared to what you get in a short walk to Pokhara's many restaurants. Shower fitments falling off walls, bath dirty, room not made up on arrival, the most expensive beer in Nepal.
This was our second visit, would not rush back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    178
    55
    16
    9
See reviews for
122
192
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Fishtail Lodge was the best hotel we fond in Nepal. Lovely gardens on a peninsula across the Phewa Tal Lake. Fantastic views. Food good and staff helpful and friendly. If staying in Pokhara please consider visiting Namaste Children House [-] on Lakeside. The kids are fabulous and love to practice their English - see the good work that Visma and his team are doing. Our time spent at the orphanage was extremely rewarding and one of the highlights of our time in Nepal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paynes-Grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Great location! Avoid the restaurant though. My wife and I had a banana lassi and both got sick afterwards and although we hadn’t left the hotel premises at all that day, hotel staff insisted that it was not their fault (we suspect that the fridge is not powered by a generator which is asking for problems in a country with scheduled power blackouts)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacktulipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

Prince Charles once stayed here so why not? :)
Good: Beautiful gardens and views, quiet, nice restaurant, swimming pool, nice rooms
Bad: A bit further from the action, taking the raft over to the hotel may get tired on long stays, expensive wifi
Verdict: If you have the money I don't think you'll find much better in Pokhara

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lghulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

FishTail Lodge in Pokharra has one of the nicest surroundings I have ever seen. The small island is green and lush, the grounds are well kept and the views are spectacular. It is a pity thought that the hotel quality does not match its environment.
Fishtail lodge badly needs some major uplifting. The room was pretty old and tired; the carpet is completely worn out and smelly. The bathroom was damp and clammy and ants were running all over the place. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The place is definitely outdated!
I was not impressed either by the food quality either and had much better meals in town.
WiFi is inexistent there. I paid close to $ 15 for a day of service but the internet never worked.
Unless the place goes through some major renovation, I would not advice to stay there, especially at the price (close to $ 200 a night).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed about 3 days and 2 nights at Fishtail lodge, Pokhara, Nepal. This is a unique property in an island kind of environment where in you will be taken in a raft / boat to reach the property. The location is so nice and excellent such that you will start loving it from moment one. They provide two kinds of accommodations namely deluxe and standard. I found the standard accommodation is much more convenient and cozy compared to deluxe accommodation. You can demand the cottage / room which is pool facing, which are the best amongst all rooms.

The rooms are relatively spacious and clean. The bathrooms are very good. The property is fully landscaped. The views from the property are out of the world. The Phewa lake and the whole Annapurna ranges are visible to you (from your room) on a clear day. The restaurant is very good and they serve good food.

Another attraction is the lake side bazaar which starts from the doorstep of the property. This is very good bazaar to shop at. You will also find many restaurants over here.

Overall, an excellence experience.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JyothiNaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

After a reasonably spartan 8 day trek, we rewarded iourselves with a few days of bliss in this hotel, separated from the razamatazz of Pokhara Lakeside by a short ferry ride. Facilities were as good as we saw anywhere in Nepal, beautiful grounds, friendly staff and great food. We were not in the best season for views, but when they came there were spectacular views of the Fishtail Mountain and some fo the Annapurnas. Plenty of birdlife around, with a local expert in the person of the Restaurant Manager

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 99 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#2 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#22 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#19 of 99 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#6 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tail Lodge

Property: Fish Tail Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 10 | Lakeside, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokhara
#4 Family Hotel in Pokhara
#6 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tail Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a peninsula with the Fewa Lake on one side and a forest-covered hill on the other, the Fish Tail Lodge offers spectacular views all round making it a unique lake resort. Guests are received and transported to the Lodge on its shuttle-floats or boats.Established in the late 1960’s with unique round cottages set amidst a lush garden, the Fish Tail Lodge is ideal for travelers desiring the charm of a small hotel with very high service standards. A choice of 48 standard rooms, central dinning room and bar contained in five ‘rounds’ and 12 deluxe rooms blend in harmony with the landscape.All profits generated by Fish Tail Lodge are donated to the Princess Jayanti Memorial Trust. The Trust provides free cardiac care to underprivileged Nepalese people and conducts various programmes to raise public awareness regarding the causes of heart diseases in Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fish Tail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishtail Hotel Pokhara
Fishtail Resort Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing