We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, motel 6 quality rooms”
Review of Fish Tail Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fish Tail Lodge
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel was recommended by an Indian friend of mine who raved a out how wonderful this hotel was etc,etc, so we asked our agent to book this hotel. What. My friend neglected to tell me was that she hadn't been here for over 20 years and at that time, this hotel may have been top of the line but no more. No updates or improvements have been made since my friend was here and updating is seriously in order.

First the good parts of the hotel
1. Killer view of the lake and mountains from our room
2. Very peaceful setting, ideal for soothing frayed nerves from maneuvering through the city
3 gorgeous landscaping
4 hotel clean
5 staff super friendly & helpful and go out of their way to greet you.

So you may wonder with all these positives why only give it 3 stars?
1.room decor & lack of basic amenities in the room I.e. luggage rack, chair to sit on other than desk chair, night tables on both sides of bed.
2. Bathroom has only very small shower tub
3 poor storage space for luggage.

Room Tip: We chose room 19 which has an excellent view of the lake. We vsd ROP, 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 552 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

For BUDGET tourists, stay a night or two is a good choice. Phewa lake directly in FISHTAIL LODGE boat dock to dock, very private garden noble feeling, The gardens are lovely,location is perfect, its charm, due to the lovely location right by the lake

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephallen321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during by business trip to pokhara. Hotel is bit outskirt of main market. But not too faraway. Located as a seprate island type resort in the lap of mountains and fewa lake surrounding the hotel. View from my room was excellent. Rooms are bit cottage type with ok standard. Food is not excellent but not bad too. You can get taxi outside hotel easily to go to downtown. This is good place to stay if u r on vacations.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalit_Agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we spend 2 night there.place is soo cull, lake view is supper & including Fishtail mt view, lots of things are there, room is good, location is perfect,food extra good, thank you.see you next time,and defennetly we will recommend to ours family member & other coming Nepal friends, rely good idea after trekking relax,

Room Tip: left down lake view room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a dated hotel but it still has its charm, due to the lovely location right by the lake, with the backdrop of Mount Fishtail. The gardens are lovely, the rooms a bit old and lack some maintenance, especially in the bathrooms. The restaurant is fine for breakfasts and light snacks, but Lakeside offers much more in terms of dining out. Service is ok, they kind of take you for granted, need some rewamp of training if they really want to compete.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms are a bit carmped and small, the food is nothing to write home about, but evrything pales into insignificance when you wake up in the early morning on a clear day and withhold the spectacular view of the Macchapicharu mountain from your room window.We had booked cottage no. 17, and were surprised to learn that previous guests who had stayed in the same room were Prince Charles, Jimmy Carter and N. Sanjeeva Reddy. Not bad!! The Spa is an excuse - we've seen better, the restaurant serves average food in the buffet, service is good. The rope pulled catamaran service is unique and fun to get to the hotel but beware - in the evenings and during rainy or cloudy weather, the service is stopped by the hotel and then you have to paddle across in small low wooden boats that are not very clean. But all said and done, the morning sun's rays capping the snow clad peaks of the annapurna range, the majestic fishtail mountain, the serene Phewa lake and the sounds of the birds throughout the day, more than make up for the small drawbacks in the resort. In fact, we extended our 3 nights stay by another day.

Room Tip: Ask for the corttages or rooms facing the fishtail mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siraj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent with Photoshop, then you arrive and it's a shock. The hotel is old and the rooms are horrible.
At the reception not at all friendly and tries to rip me off with a 30,000 rupee yoga class which I found for 500 Rupee.
The worst place I've ever been in my life and terrible manners

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#9 of 109 in Pokhara
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#5 of 109 in Pokhara
406 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Pokhara Grande
Hotel Pokhara Grande
#19 of 109 in Pokhara
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#18 of 109 in Pokhara
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#24 of 109 in Pokhara
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#3 of 109 in Pokhara
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tail Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 10 | Lakeside, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokhara
#2 Family Hotel in Pokhara
#6 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tail Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a peninsula with the Fewa Lake on one side and a forest-covered hill on the other, the Fish Tail Lodge offers spectacular views all round making it a unique lake resort. Guests are received and transported to the Lodge on its shuttle-floats or boats.Established in the late 1960’s with unique round cottages set amidst a lush garden, the Fish Tail Lodge is ideal for travelers desiring the charm of a small hotel with very high service standards. A choice of 48 standard rooms, central dinning room and bar contained in five ‘rounds’ and 12 deluxe rooms blend in harmony with the landscape.All profits generated by Fish Tail Lodge are donated to the Princess Jayanti Memorial Trust. The Trust provides free cardiac care to underprivileged Nepalese people and conducts various programmes to raise public awareness regarding the causes of heart diseases in Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fish Tail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishtail Hotel Pokhara
Fishtail Resort Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing