We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fish Tail Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Trek-O-Tel(Pokhara)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
288
205
59
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
205
59
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince charlessmall boatfloating platformthe palm courtunique locationa short boat rideannapurna rangefewa lakeswimming pooltravel deskthe cottagesbuffet breakfastannapurna mountainsshops and restaurantsraftropedignitaries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 578 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I went on 13 july on my honeymoon. It was extra ordinary stay there. All the staffs are the best. I just love this. Foods are nice. Scenic beauty is more than expectation. Only problem was not having push shower in the toilet. But it was a worth stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashfaq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My family and I stayed here for three nights in between trekking and rafting. It was very pretty, the lake is wonderful, it was efficient and well run with a nice swimming pool, and the food was good. The bedrooms are very tired, and uninspiring however, and this was a disappointment. There is a sweet little ferry that takes you to and from Fishtails small island and once off the ferry you are right in the hussle and bustle of Pokhara, which is a nice contrast. The views of the mountains are Magnificent. This hotel and the rest of our trip was beautifully organised by Imagine India, who I can thoroughly recommend. In summary, Fishtail Lodge was a happy resting point in beautiful surroundings, but not outstanding.

Room Tip: Definitely get a rondaval room. The ones in the two story blocks are very dull, dark and tired.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Like all hotels in Nepal - you will be sold the fact that Prince Charles of the UK once stayed here amongst many other celebrities. But that was over 25years ago - an it appears no money has been spent on this hotel since. The flowers surrounding the garden in this place and the lake view are pretty, and the ferry man takes you over to the small island upon which the hotel sits. You can hire a rowing boat (extra charge and row your beloved out across the lake to see the mountains) But the illusion of comfort ends there! - the hotel rooms themselves - are very damp (and in my opinion as an asthmatic were dangerous to my health as they contain spores of fungi and bacteria.) The blankets on the beds are damp and the rooms themselves were constructed of painted hardboard - and the rooms very tiny. The shower being a tiny room with black mould in the crevices. We were initially not provided with a kettle or tea making facilities and told that this would be an extra $50US per day - we were paying around $130!USDollars. In Nepal - the hoteliers have no idea of Western Hotel standards and have every intention of charging over the odds for poor facilities and bad service and generally ripping off tourists. The Restaurant food was buffet style and represented very poor value for money being barely edible. The swimming pool was smaller than my duckpond, dirty with missing tiles and generally useless. The hotel ads show you viewing the mountains from this pool - which was impossible when we were there in April 2013. The employees at the hotel seem to be having a better time than the guests, I smelt dope being smoked by one of the gardeners!
So that my health didn't deteriorate we checked out after two days and continued our stay at the Pokhara Grand Hotel - which gave us a huge suite with a view of the Annapurna Mountain range from our windows - they also offered more reasonable trips, microlight flights and paragliding all at cheaper rates than those offered at Fish Tail. All hotels in Nepal are effected by poor hot water supply and poor electricity supply - so you can expect to be stuck in lifts and eating of using the bathroom in the dark at random times during the day. Sadly I have nothing good to say about Fish Tail - it needs bulldozing and rebuilding again! Its surviving on past memories of glory when it was probably the only hotel in Pokhara!

Room Tip: None of the rooms we saw where good - we stayed in one of the hexagonal rooms next to the one Prince Charles was supposed to have stayed in and with a view of the garden and lake (bit obscured) - I suppose this hotel was built for Prince Charles's stay and he had all the suites in the block linked together. Selling one of them is a joke there isnt enough room to swing a cat - the wardrobe is very small - we didnt even have room to unpack - just avoid!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in the Fish Tail Lodge for two nights in March 2013. The location of the hotel is superb, in an island, middle of the Fewa Lake. In the midst of nature where 'emotion recollected in tranquility'. The staffs are very friendly and good in behavior. Rooms are nice and comfortable. Food quality is Great. Obviously the hotel is expensive but it is well deserved. I strongly recommend Fish Tail Lodge to those who intend to visit Pokhara in near future.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage and book early.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Partho_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avik S, Director of Sales at Fish Tail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Partho_66,

Greeting from Fish Tail Lodge!

Thank you for your kind feedback and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and describe our property as an “Awesome Hotel in Pokhara”.

While the resort has been synonymous over the years with many words like excellent, stunningly beautiful,fabulous setting etc “emotion recollected in tranquility” truly portrays the resort.

We look forward to your next stay at the Fish Tail Lodge.

Best regards

Avik JB Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

this is an excellent place to stay wen in Pokhara.. no complaints. The food, service, location, hospitality, rooms, scenic beauty, approach every thing is sepctacular!!! the way they take u from parking area to reception and main resort. osam!!! Their staff is very polite and humble. while we were having breakfast, they took care of our toddler.. which was very pleasing for us! I will def recommend this place to others and would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: all rooms are well made and located!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbhola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avik S, Director of Sales at Fish Tail Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Partho_66,

Greetings from Fish Tail Lodge!

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are delighted to read that your stay at our resort was “excellent”.

Our team at the resort strives to provide each guests a high level of personalized service. This reflects not only at certain areas of the property but at all levels of our team and at every area of the resort. This is the benchmark of our hospitality and we take great pride when we receive compliments like your’s that justify our continued efforts.

We look forward to your next stay at the Fish Tail Lodge.

Best regards

Avik JB Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews