We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel; views to die for”
Review of Fish Tail Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fish Tail Lodge
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I think this is a great place to stay in Pokhara. You're right there amongst the action of Lakeside (if you'd like to be near other tourists!) but you feel secluded - the boat ride to the hotel helps! The views are simply to die for. Often the best mountain views are in the morning, particularly in the off season, so you want to stay somewhere where you can simply walk on to your balcony and have a look. I was a solo traveller and the restaurant staff were lovely and chatted to me.

Room Tip: Mountain view! But don't despair if that's out of budget - you can see the view on the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashleigh X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 552 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

The locatins is absolutely wonderful, the view amazing, perfect. But the rooms are in a poor condition for the price we paid. The furniture is old and in bad condition and the bathroom was really basic, no electric dryer, no bath gel, no carpet... for 200 dollars a night, we expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Of course the most expensive hotel in Pokhara has its reason. The room we chose got a fabulous view outside the window. We can see the whole Fewa Lake and mountains there. Its too gorgeous to say a word with my first sight. Its located in the middle of the lake, so you have to take a boat to get the hotel.Breakfast here is also nice, I like the yogurt. One shortcoming is that our room was leaking at the first night after a thunderstorm. And when we told the reception, it seemed nobody had the intention to fix it. Thank God it didnt last long.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qing X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

When you have to take a boat to the hotel from the parking lot, you can definitely say you have arrived at a different kind of hotel. It was a great start to a 2-night stay at Pokhara. The service was excellent, the grounds beautifully maintained, and the round bungalows we stayed in unique. The only regret we had was that it was cloudy both the days we were there and we could not see the mountain view, but we bought a couple of postcards to see what it would have looked like. Definitely recommended for families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zama001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three days several years ago and it looks like the recent reviews matched our experience. I'd choose it again for Pokhara. We were helped by the desk staff regarding local attractions and day hikes. Through we learned the hard way that when they tell you a walk is a certain number of hours you need to multiply that by a factor of 8 if you aren't local. They awake you with calls of " mountain!" if the clouds part at sunrise for views of the Himalayas. Yes! Our room was a little too basic for us and needed an update and yes, even the second room had toilet issues. Still, it was a fantastic spot and I still remember my afternoon with a good book in one of the hammocks.

Room Tip: Try the toilet before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northstarvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed for 4 days at this wonderful resort. As always my travels and stay are related to my work. I have been lucky in going to better locations and this was no exception.
Others have written about its natural beauty and all I can add is that it this resort is certainly with visiting. Lakes, forests and mountains - all combined make it even more attractive.
Quality of service and friendliness of the staff is exceptional; better than most 5 star facilities that I have seen. Rooms are adequate - running hot water; functioning AC, ensuite bathroom, and large rooms in cottage style.
The only disappointment was that the food was average. The buffet menu was unimaginative and could easily have been varied. Standard menu that was cooked above average but nothing to rave about . That was the low point of this trip but was compensated by the location, service and facility.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabarDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

one of the best place, I have visited. forest on one side n fewa lake in front n snow mountain on the other side. resort has various type of flowers. nice breakfast. boating in the lake was life time experience.one can see the paraglider from the resort like kites flying in the sky.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnkDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 109 in Pokhara
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#5 of 109 in Pokhara
406 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Pokhara Grande
Hotel Pokhara Grande
#19 of 109 in Pokhara
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#17 of 109 in Pokhara
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#24 of 109 in Pokhara
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#3 of 109 in Pokhara
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tail Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 10 | Lakeside, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokhara
#2 Family Hotel in Pokhara
#6 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range: $113 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tail Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a peninsula with the Fewa Lake on one side and a forest-covered hill on the other, the Fish Tail Lodge offers spectacular views all round making it a unique lake resort. Guests are received and transported to the Lodge on its shuttle-floats or boats.Established in the late 1960’s with unique round cottages set amidst a lush garden, the Fish Tail Lodge is ideal for travelers desiring the charm of a small hotel with very high service standards. A choice of 48 standard rooms, central dinning room and bar contained in five ‘rounds’ and 12 deluxe rooms blend in harmony with the landscape.All profits generated by Fish Tail Lodge are donated to the Princess Jayanti Memorial Trust. The Trust provides free cardiac care to underprivileged Nepalese people and conducts various programmes to raise public awareness regarding the causes of heart diseases in Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fish Tail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishtail Hotel Pokhara
Fishtail Resort Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing