We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great hotel, but then again you are in Nepal..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Village Pokhara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La Village Pokhara
Ranked #42 of 99 Hotels in Pokhara
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
553 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Not a great hotel, but then again you are in Nepal..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

I went with my wife for a short tour through Nepal, she is currently working there and she wanted to show me what Nepal has to offer and then going to Pokhara is a must. The hotel is not bad, but it is not close to what Shangri la has to offer in other parts of asia, then again you are in one of the poorest countries in the world!. The room was smelly, the food was bad and some facilities have had their best time... such as the sauna and the pool.

After this we went to other parts of Nepal, poorer and then this place is a luxury, but still more than average i cannot give to it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald_jelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    112
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
66
71
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

The hotel set-up is very nice with a beautiful garden and a good taste in room decoration. Unfortunately, we were very, very disappointed by the service, following explained by only one example: Before and after a trekking we stayed in this hotel. Being familiar with the electricity challenges in Nepal, we kindly called the reception when no warm/hot water was available for a shower after some days of trekking. We were told that there was no problem and that we should have hot water within 5 min. After aprox. 15 min we called again, friendly informing that there was not hot water yet. Again told that it was a question of 5 min. This went on over the next 3 hours, incl. line droppings etc, until I asked for the Managing Director. All of a sudden we had hot water... We were not expecting a 5-stars service, but yes, being informed about the truth and our expectations being managed. Very disappointing and not comparable to other Shangri-La customer orientation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mambona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

The ShangriLa Pokhara is set amidst fields and houses--it is not along a main road, but rather deep into a subdivision of sorts and that is what partly explains its charms. It is quiet, spread out and absolutely charming.

On our first stint here, we were not lucky enough to see the Annapurna range--a view from each room as promised by the brochure--but the grounds and hotel were lovely indeed. Clean, spacious rooms in a charming orange vibe, comfortable beds and rather large bathrooms. The airconditioning takes a while to work--we had to call housekeeping to tinker with it a couple of times, but it turned cool eventually. The rooms are spread out in a T-formation, mostly to maximize the view which we eventually caught on our second leg.

Yes, the sunrise is amazing--and with Fishtail mountain and the Annapurna range as a backdrop, the hotel is pretty wonderful. The pool was nicely maintained, the grounds are impeccable, trees and plants bloom profusely.

The restaurant was especially good--I had the pepper steak which was excellent. My friends had the Indian buffet which, according to them was very good too. The hotel was in full occupancy when we were there--and yet it wasn't too hectic--except maybe through breakfast--but then again, it still wasn't as crazy as Hongkong or Bangkok. Choices were varied and delectable. And service was excellent--the waiters were warm, polite and swift.

I also sampled the spa--mostly just a nice room with beds--but the massage was pretty good relief after the trek we made. There are charming shops with finer tourist fare--but expect pricier goods of course.

All in all, it's the view that just captivates you about the Shangri la Pokhara. I rather doubt if there are nicer hotels around...and as far as managing a tour group--ShangriLa Holidays far exceeded our expectations, even sending back a van to pick us up when we decided to extend our shopping hours by the banks of the lake.

So kudos to the ShangriLa Tours group--and to the Pokhara hotel for a lovely trip. The people are wonderful in Nepal and that, more than the hotel, is what we will remember.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVATravels92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

A very reasonable, quiet and comfortable, hotel with everything you would expect from a decent chain.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Francisthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great britain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

Lovely setting, rooms and food. However, the holiday was spoilt by my discovery on returning home that my one signed credit card transaction had become five transactions, four with forged signatures.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirandaGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2007

We really had a great stay here in Shangri-la Village. The staff is accommodating, the food is great ( they serve variety of cuisines) and
the place is so serene. Got to love the place just to relax and unwind. Though far from the shopping district and restaurants in town,
you could just arrange a cab from the reception which could cost you around 300 to 500 rupees. All rooms are built facing the Annapurna
range so if you’re lucky to get to Pokhara with a nice clear sky, you'd have a spectacular view right in your own room.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jaydee0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2006

I was pleasantly surprised when we were picked up at the airport and driven to our hotel, then given a fresh juice and tika upon arrival. Our room was nice, as was the pool and facilities. The service in the restaurant was also very good, although the food was not. They were not able to make anything off the a la carte menu (for example, chicken satay was deep fried? and tandoori chicken was grilled to death with a sprinkling of some tandoori spice?) The breakfast was fine however. If I had to stay again I would try to eat elsewhere for lunch/dinner. The massages were very good. I was there during the political turmoil in Nepal, so there was a transportation strike, and we had to walk everywhere. When we checked out the reception said "unfortunately you have to walk to the airport." The location of the hotel is not ideal for walking to all the sights, and the bicycles they had to rent weren't very good (one's tire popped while my friend was riding)--but I imagine the strikes are over. The hotel is set apart from the hub-bub of the main tourist/commerce street, close to the lake, but it is a very nice resort overall.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gilead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
3.2 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#20 of 99 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.5 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#22 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Pavilions Himalayas
The Pavilions Himalayas
#50 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Begnas Lake Resort
Begnas Lake Resort
#32 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#2 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Village Pokhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Village Pokhara

Property: Shangri-La Village Pokhara
Address: Gharipatan, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokhara
#14 Family Hotel in Pokhara
#17 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Village Pokhara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set admist peaceful surrounding, 5 min drive from airport and 7 min from Lake side commands a breathtaking mountain views. Walk, relax, dream, because Shangrila Village resort is what dreams are made of- Simply Heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Village Pokhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Village Pokhara Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing