We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing property;attentive staff :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Village Pokhara
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Disappointing property;attentive staff :-(”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Pokhara is a gem in Nepal:lake, shopping, restaurants, trekking, and natural beauty! I drove from Kathmandu: it is a six hour drive with scenic beauty and scores of potholes! Others may wish to fly! This property needs serious maintenance: it's stars have ffaded: old rattan furniture, 50's television, straw-filled mattress, bathroom with Low-budget towels and shower amenities.
The breakfast menu is OK: service was terrific!
The location is far from the city center lakeside: you must have transportation.
The charge of the Interneti is from the Dark Ages! It was so lacking in speed and availability: it is a bad sign of the Owner and management's concern for the Guests needs in the 21st century.
I cannot recommend this propert! international travelers will be hugely disappointed.

Do not waste your time on the tourist Waterfall, or Cave, or Grge.
Do visit the Wrld Peace stupa on the mountain! Great views of the valley and city.

Room Tip: Sleep elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J21210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    126
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
76
79
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was Stuck on these review pages for weeks trying to decide which hotel to go to and how accurate the pictures of the rooms were!
I loved this place because it was quiet, surrounded by nature, had a huge lawn/garden and on a clear day you can see the Annapurna ranges (the famous ice capped moutain).
I was looking for a place where i didn't have to worry about going out everyday and doing an activity and i think i found this to be the perfect place to just put my feet up, or go for a swim, or a coffee, or however else one likes to laze around.
i stayed with my wife for three nights and it was a very pleasant experience.
Staff were very friendly and helpful
the downstairs restaurant was excellent for dinning, we dinned twice in the downstairs restaurant and once in the upstairs restaurant(that ones usually desolate and empty which isnt a positive thing)
the room size was quite grand, it was a deluxe room and yes it does look like the pictures.
the only downside is the location (10mins from airport which is the good thing)of the place and the route that leads to it which is quite damaged narrow roads, but hey, it takes 4 minutes max to cross that, and the town centre is another 5 mins from there, so its not too far (i say this bit because of another reviewer) and taxi fare was roughly 300Rps one way
id say anyone who dislikes this place is probably used to royal treatments and or are nit picky and or just got unlucky somehow.

overall, id go there again!

Room Tip: room 123 i was told was with one of the best views, i certainly enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shah970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Guys, this is not the original shangrila chain hotel...they have just kept the name Shangrila with no matches to the original which exists worldwide. We had booked it for 5 nights and stayed only for 1 night and changed our hotel the very next day.. Terrible experience. Very far from the real pokhra city. Roads outside the hotel are broken into pieces.
The Manager who took us to the room was so low standard, he himself discouraged us to stay there for 5 nights.....can u imagine?
Big rooms which were not managed properly...dust on TV and on bed. Took food in the room, not good at all. Felt like leaving the place then and thr itself....but it was late evening so we cancelled our booking and left this fake place the next morning. A big no to this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 17shilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

we drove to pokhra after spending two nights three days in kathmandu.it took us almost 6 hours to complete the journey.the road to pokhara is scenic,river on one side and mountains on onother.the vehicle was toyota hiace,and driver was mohit a great driver.the tour was arranged by roushan of nebudi travels kathmandu.after entering pokhra we went straight to the fewa lake.there are several restaurants and hotels near the lake .it was monsoon but we were lucky that sky was clear.we toured around the lake and then took lunch in arestaurant moonlight.the food was tasty and cheap.then we moved to the shangrila village .a grand property ,lush green ,swimming pool and cottages.we were given the rooms no.225 and 226 on first floor .beautiful room wide balcony.though far from lake this place is grand.we took bath in pool and then had our dinner...sumptuous.a local folk singer entertained us.in the morning we woke up at 5 and lo and behold....we saw the majestic annapurna range...the spaarkling silver peaks .oh!grand view ...our trip was successfull..then after breakfast we returned back .it was a memorable stay

Room Tip: rooms on first and second floor facing north are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

we went on monsoon madness package as out budget was tight
here we got 3 days 2 nights package for rs 10,000 which consist of coupon worth rs 6,000
which could be used for food .
and those coupon wore more then enough through the stay

Room Tip: choose 1st floors room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y2k90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Going in the monsoon season with the family for a short 3-day 2-nights break, we were welcomed by the staff at the airport and driven to the hotel - a 5- minute drive. Pleasantly received by the receptionist and walked to our room.
The room we had was really very nice - very airy, really very nicely decorated, but honestly the bed was a disappointment. The bed and mattress have clearly known a few memorable nights and was way too soft to our liking.
We chilled a bit around the pool which is really a nice place to do not too much - a bit of swimming, reading, hanging out. The drive to "Lakeside" by taxi is easy and not far at all for a little dining experience.
Now the only thing where there is really room for improvement is the breakfast. Honestly, for the price paid this is not quality. The bread is not good at all, and to be honest all the rest is mediocre at best.
So definitely a nice place to stay, but there is room for improvement in the bedding and in the catering area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is luxury amidst the plain, in Pokhara Nepal. The rooms are spacious and cool with air-conditioning, and balconies. We went in the middle of the monsoon season, and had a real treat of being able to see the mountains from our balcony. It was an amazing sight. The pool is large, with an infinity edge, and floating around seeing the mountains, was a real treat. The food is average, with higher prices than one can find in town. It is a short drive (5 minutes) to the lake area, with taxis always available at the hotel gates. The ride into the lake area costs between 300 and 450 rupees (so between AUD$3 and $5)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
1.5 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#29 of 105 in Pokhara
295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 105 in Pokhara
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#20 of 105 in Pokhara
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Pavilions Himalayas
The Pavilions Himalayas
#36 of 105 in Pokhara
78 reviews
8.4 mi away
Begnas Lake Resort
Begnas Lake Resort
#51 of 105 in Pokhara
195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#30 of 105 in Pokhara
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Village Pokhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Village Pokhara

Property: Shangri-La Village Pokhara
Address: Gharipatan, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokhara
#14 Family Hotel in Pokhara
#16 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Village Pokhara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set admist peaceful surrounding, 5 min drive from airport and 7 min from Lake side commands a breathtaking mountain views. Walk, relax, dream, because Shangrila Village resort is what dreams are made of- Simply Heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Village Pokhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Village Pokhara Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing