We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fake Shangrila...please dont try it ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Village Pokhara
Ranked #42 of 108 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Guys, this is not the original shangrila chain hotel...they have just kept the name Shangrila with no matches to the original which exists worldwide. We had booked it for 5 nights and stayed only for 1 night and changed our hotel the very next day.. Terrible experience. Very far from the real pokhra city. Roads outside the hotel are broken into pieces.
The Manager who took us to the room was so low standard, he himself discouraged us to stay there for 5 nights.....can u imagine?
Big rooms which were not managed properly...dust on TV and on bed. Took food in the room, not good at all. Felt like leaving the place then and thr itself....but it was late evening so we cancelled our booking and left this fake place the next morning. A big no to this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 17shilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 281 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

we drove to pokhra after spending two nights three days in kathmandu.it took us almost 6 hours to complete the journey.the road to pokhara is scenic,river on one side and mountains on onother.the vehicle was toyota hiace,and driver was mohit a great driver.the tour was arranged by roushan of nebudi travels kathmandu.after entering pokhra we went straight to the fewa lake.there are several restaurants and hotels near the lake .it was monsoon but we were lucky that sky was clear.we toured around the lake and then took lunch in arestaurant moonlight.the food was tasty and cheap.then we moved to the shangrila village .a grand property ,lush green ,swimming pool and cottages.we were given the rooms no.225 and 226 on first floor .beautiful room wide balcony.though far from lake this place is grand.we took bath in pool and then had our dinner...sumptuous.a local folk singer entertained us.in the morning we woke up at 5 and lo and behold....we saw the majestic annapurna range...the spaarkling silver peaks .oh!grand view ...our trip was successfull..then after breakfast we returned back .it was a memorable stay

Room Tip: rooms on first and second floor facing north are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

we went on monsoon madness package as out budget was tight
here we got 3 days 2 nights package for rs 10,000 which consist of coupon worth rs 6,000
which could be used for food .
and those coupon wore more then enough through the stay

Room Tip: choose 1st floors room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y2k90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Going in the monsoon season with the family for a short 3-day 2-nights break, we were welcomed by the staff at the airport and driven to the hotel - a 5- minute drive. Pleasantly received by the receptionist and walked to our room.
The room we had was really very nice - very airy, really very nicely decorated, but honestly the bed was a disappointment. The bed and mattress have clearly known a few memorable nights and was way too soft to our liking.
We chilled a bit around the pool which is really a nice place to do not too much - a bit of swimming, reading, hanging out. The drive to "Lakeside" by taxi is easy and not far at all for a little dining experience.
Now the only thing where there is really room for improvement is the breakfast. Honestly, for the price paid this is not quality. The bread is not good at all, and to be honest all the rest is mediocre at best.
So definitely a nice place to stay, but there is room for improvement in the bedding and in the catering area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is luxury amidst the plain, in Pokhara Nepal. The rooms are spacious and cool with air-conditioning, and balconies. We went in the middle of the monsoon season, and had a real treat of being able to see the mountains from our balcony. It was an amazing sight. The pool is large, with an infinity edge, and floating around seeing the mountains, was a real treat. The food is average, with higher prices than one can find in town. It is a short drive (5 minutes) to the lake area, with taxis always available at the hotel gates. The ride into the lake area costs between 300 and 450 rupees (so between AUD$3 and $5)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I traveled in a group, and had a WOW experience at Shangri-La Village. All rooms has great view.
Distance between rooms & restaurant is approximately 200 meters, which means you have to walk a lot.

Garden is well maintained lush green, with a fish pond as well.Kids would enjoy a lot as they will get a huge place to run n play.

Rooms were also very good, with a good balcony, an outdated television, bathrooms require renovation. Carry some mosquito repellents with you, they might bother you. It is equivalent to a 5 Star resort. Swimming pool was well maintained and they maintains temperature as well.

Cheers !!
Andy

Room Tip: All rooms have great view. I recommend rooms in tower 1 & 2 might have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_Mathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My parents and I visited Pokhra and decided to stay at Shangri La. A smiling attendant welcomed us and we were offered welcome drinks.We accomodated in a room which was at ground floor, the view was really good.
The staff was friendly and met our requests and demands nicely. The hotel's surroundings were clean and well maintained. The ambience is great. The location is also satisfactory.We stayed at this hotel just for one day. But we left back happy and content!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungFreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.3 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#17 of 108 in Pokhara
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#7 of 108 in Pokhara
709 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#26 of 108 in Pokhara
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Pavilions Himalayas
The Pavilions Himalayas
#33 of 108 in Pokhara
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#3 of 108 in Pokhara
402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#30 of 108 in Pokhara
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Village Pokhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Village Pokhara

Address: Gharipatan, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokhara
#17 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range: $86 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Village Pokhara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set admist peaceful surrounding, 5 min drive from airport and 7 min from Lake side commands a breathtaking mountain views. Walk, relax, dream, because Shangrila Village resort is what dreams are made of- Simply Heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Village Pokhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Village Pokhara Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing