We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“check whether the rooms are a/ced during the off-season” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fulbari Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fulbari Resort & Spa
Ranked #51 of 99 Hotels in Pokhara
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“check whether the rooms are a/ced during the off-season”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Our medical charity mission group thought we would recuperate our tired bodies at Fulbari. But with no a/c in the rooms (excuse from the hotel was that it was being repaired) we nearly died of heat strokes. So make sure that during the off-season you ask for the rooms with independently controllable a/c rooms. Because during the off-season, central a/c is turned off. Also have your travel agency quote you a competitive rates, regular rooms were lowere than $60 per night, when travelling in a group! Fitness center is located in the spa building, but the spa had no a/c and was pretty dirty and smelly. There is an outdoor pool, but during the rainy off-season you can't use it cause it's dirty. Although the surroundings are truly beautiful, it is very far from everywhere.

Fish-Tail Lodge restaurant should be avoided cause they over marinate their beef, pork, chicken and prawns with salt. 10 out of 20 of us paid for dishes that were not edible. So before you order your food in Nepal, check whether the dish would not be salty. Due to poor refridgeration and only small number of guests (off-season), they tend to use too much salt.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jihyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    32
    30
    16
    31
See reviews for
39
42
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

Fukbari Resort is hotel and spa a little outside Pokhara, Nepal. If weather is good, you can see Himalaya from your balcony. Pokhara is a small town, from where many trekkers start their way to Annapurna range. But if you are lazy, Fulbari is a great possibility to relax. Not for backpackers anyway.

  • Liked — very Nepali
  • Disliked — big building, long way to everywhere
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HelsinkiFinnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

The property is very very good.They have beautiful lawns and an amazing infinity pool which si not good if it is raining by the way.The view is mind blowing.It is the best place to go to if you wanty to just relax and want peace.
Otherwise it does not deserve a 5 star as the services provided are not as a 5 star.It can be called a 4 star.The staff is very very friendly and sweet.
We went in the off season so all the restaurants except for 1 were closed.But the chef prepared whatever we asked him to very good food.
Overall nice place to go in a group or if you like trekking,paragliding and all activities.The spa is also not professional or 5 star.The casino in the hotel is not professional at all.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

If you want a relaxing and calm holiday , then Fulbari is a good choice. The resort is beautiful with a huge area .
But I must warn you that this is totally out of location. It is just like you are going to a village and there is no way comeback when you want.

absolute remote area where you will not get a taxi . They have no night life and if you want to come to the main pokhra night life area , you have to pay a lot for hiring a car.

The resort provides the free shuttle service but it is twice a day and it is really tough to find where the shuttle service is .

the health center is nice and clean but over priced . SPA is also the same , it is huge overpriced compare to other spa service of pokhra.

Swimming pool is beautiful but not wel maintained.
I did not try golf so do not want to comment.

I have found my room clean ,there was some problem in the toilet but they fixed it quickly.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhakaPagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

This place is nowhere near 5 star quality. I was looking forward to my room as I opened the door only to find a dirty shabby room. This was also the same with my friends who each felt the same. The bathroom was small, dirty, in fact the floor towel was full of dirt. To make it worse the cover on the bed was also dirty. It was very disappointing. If you are travelling here to relax and enjoy a bit of comfort in your room then this place is one to avoid. For me I was on a business trip and therefore was not bothered on complaining. If however I was with my wife or family I'd have been demanding a move to a better room or leave if that was not sorted.
The surroundings are pretty impressive. The gorge is beautiful to look at but that's it really. Unfortunately there was too much cloud to see the Himalayes. Do not go near the golf course. They describe it as an 'executive' course. I would hate to see what the 'non-executive' course is. It was a disgrace. No difference between the fairways & rough and the greens were like bunkers! For such a place with beautiful surroundings and scenery they have missed out on an opportunity to really make it 5 star. The pool was also so dirty none of us would dare neter it. We were all disappointed as it viewed the hills in the distance.
I also have to add the manager has a personality of a brick! At one stage I approached him to point out that there was a leak from the cieling over some steps. I suggested that someome may have a bad fall if it wasnt look at. He looked at me as if I had 10 heads and walked away. The next morning the water was still dripping down onto the steps. This was a potential disaster for someone.
Overall I have to say that Fulbari does not deserve 5 stars. Its nothing more than 3 stars. I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone. Sorry!

Helpful?
3 Thank paulursulaadammark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pokhara hotels

Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

First the positives. Wonderful views of Himalayas. Absolutely stunning views. Words can't describe the views!!!!!!!!!! Grounds beautiful, also in back they have an infinity pool overlooking equally stunning views of a gorge with waterfalls going into it. Seemed to be a mile deep!! Lobby was amazing too. Next the negatives: Towels like sandpaper, no hand towels or washcloths, tiny cheap soap and shampoo in plastic pouches you have to tear open. Looked like free samples you would get in the mail, stains on carpets and furniture, bad reception on TV, no CNN, broken air conditioning, the list goes on. But, based on some ot the other places I have stayed at on my trip to Nepal, maybe this is one of the better places? If not for the views and grounds, I would rate this hotel a 2, but the view more than makes up for it. A really amazing setting. I don't want to discourage people from going here, just want to give folks a heads up as to what to expect. Jay

  • Liked — Views and grounds and pool
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangladesh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

I just came back from Fulbari on last week. I m very very impressed with the hotel The Swimming pool is very nice and the viewfrom the resort is fantastic.I recommend this hotel highly for a romantic vacation.. I wish I never had to leave!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Shafin_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
2.9 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#21 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#20 of 99 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pavilions Himalayas
The Pavilions Himalayas
#49 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#2 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
4.2 mi away
Shangri-La Village Pokhara
3.3 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#18 of 99 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fulbari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fulbari Resort & Spa

Property: The Fulbari Resort & Spa
Address: | Green Canyon, Pokhara 43027, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pokhara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokhara
#22 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fulbari Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Great Hotels of the World, The Fulbari Resort & Spa is Nepal's only deluxe 5 Star Resort. Brainchild of promoter, Mr. Piyush Bahadur Amatya, The Fulbari Resort & Spa was envisioned to be Nepal's most luxurious and exclusive property, offering amenities that a modern world-weary traveler can desire. Re-imagining architectural wonders of Nepal's golden age, The Fulbari Resort & Spa stands as a testament of the beauty espoused by ancient Newari kings of Kathmandu Valley. Complementing the traditional Newari architecture, The Fulbari Resort & Spa also offers unparallel panoramas of Fishtail and Annapurna mountain ranges to the north, and the breathtaking Seti River Gorges to the South. The resort offers 165 exquisitely appointed deluxe rooms and suites. The rooms offer incomparable style and elegance, decorated with traditional Hindu and Buddhist artworks. All rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows and private balconies to allow breathtaking views of the resort's landscaped gardens and the Himalayas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fulbari Resort Casino, Golf And Spa
The Fulbari Resort Casino, Golf Hotel Pokhara
Fulbari Hotel Nepal
The Fulbari Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing