We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable Pokhara stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
404 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very comfortable Pokhara stay”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We chose this hotel as it is quite new, and has good western bathrooms. We had a corner room on the 2nd floor with a great view of the lake as well as the grounds where the para-gliders land. I only wished we were there longer as I would have LOVED to try paragliding. The King bed was very comfortable and we slept well, woken by the sounds of the birds and cattle bells from the nearby farm which the room also overlooks (a few hundred yards away, so no smell.)

The hotel driveway and entrance (lots of marble or stone of some kind) are impressive and the manager and front desk were very friendly and helpful. The hotel boasts a large and good-looking exterior pool and it must be wonderful to swim in it during hotter weather. The restaurant is modern and good. Although as with almost every place we stayed in the region the menu is a bit limited and quality is very average. The wait staff's English was not that great either.

As with just about every other place there are no elevators (probably a safety measure due to frequent power outages) so be warned if you have mobility issues.

We had booked an airport pick up but it wasn't there when we landed so we took a taxi. However, the manager was very apologetic, paid the taxi, and we were not charged for the trip, so that was a classy way to handle the situation. The last mile or so of the road to the hotel is very bad and bumpy. It's not a fun walk into Pokhara town as there is traffic and lots of dust. The hotel does offer a few shuttles into town each day, but really it should offer a shuttle every hour as taxis can charge an extra fee just for this arduous drive.

However, a couple hundred yards on the road into Pokhara you will find a delightful tiny (6? tables) restaurant called "Pokhara Beach Club" with a very quiet and private view of the lake and lovely owners who make excellent (western) food, and that is worth risking the road for.

Waterfront Hotel is showing a few signs of wear - I noticed the bathroom plumbing looked a bit rushed and not done quite right. So, I wonder how this hotel will be like in another 5 years. However, for now, I think it's the best place to stay for peace and quiet - unless you want to spend most of your time hanging out in the bars and touristy areas of Pokhara town.

One issue we had when booking is that Waterfront charges more for a double room, and then added another $23.60 AFTER we booked and paid, just cos we had 2 people in the room!! I exchanged several e-mails with the owner(?) Mr. Gautam Banerjee who refused to understand my point that if one is already paying extra for a double room, one shouldn't be charged an additional fee when there are only 2 people staying in it. Fortunately, I had booked through a well-known online booking service and they agreed with my point and have agreed to refund me the money.

Just beware of this shifty practice to gauge travelers and be prepared to argue about it.

Room Tip: Upper floor, corner room with view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Waterfront resort thanks you for taking the time to kindly review our property. We appreciate the valuable feedback you have provided and we are actively acting on ensuring the hotel is maintained in the best possible way through a few processes we are currently working on. We encourage all our guests to contact the Resident Manager Santosh or by emailing hotel operations through the email listed in our tripadvisor page for any doubts on ethical and integrity issues within our property as well as our suppliers. If your issue has still not been resolved, please let us know through our email or by phone and we will strive to resolve any matter. We look forward to hosting you again and we hope to make each stay more memorable than the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    111
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
83
94
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel is perfectly located just by the lakeside.Perfect place for people want peace of mind.Room is very fresh,hotel staffs are excellent.Loved the lake view from the room in the night and morning.Food is just awesome,kitchen made bread was very good.Overall this is one of the best hotel in Pokhara.

Room Tip: Choose your room by the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rujil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Waterfront Resort thanks you for your kind review. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Booked hotel directly via Email with santosh the manager. He called me to confirm pick up from pokhara airport and bed combination.

Excellent service. Good variety for breakfast. Free internet at Aqua bird reception / restaurant area. Free wifi should be extended to all rooms. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGM-MARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Waterfront Resort thanks you for kindly reviewing our property. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is the best. Awesome service. Awesome rooms. Awesome view. This hotel is also the landing point of the para gliders.
The service is so good that we asked for bonfire and they didn't even think twice before saying yes. They were very quick to take and deliver food and drink orders.

Very warm staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshitijkapoor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Waterfront Resort thanks you for kindly reviewing our property. We take pride in making every stay more memorable than the last and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. This is a reasonable hotel but definitely not 5 star hotel.
No hot water. Probably it's a problem with all hotels in pokhara. But I expected something better here. Room heater/ac do work.
Rooms and restaurant is good. The staff's service was good.

This is a guest house kind. Doesn't match the picture shown for the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srividhya_umashanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Although your fascination for government guest houses cannot be compared, I must defend the hot water at Waterfront Resort Hotel. There were significant changes made to the hot water system just over a year ago and the hot water has not been an issue for any of our guests although we are always ready to assist if an issue does arise. No complaints have been made to the hotel staff and had there been a complaint, it would have been dealt with immediately. Most of the pictures of the hotel in tripadvisor have been uploaded by our guests and are genuine. We are always striving to improve our services and we thank you for kindly reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for New Year 2014.
The Welcome to the hotel was perfect. With FREE Transfers arranged from Bun Station.

We got a Quite a nice room, and we were happy about it. But When tried to view outside saw a staff of hotel throwing garbage into artificially made lake around the hotel. Did inform the management about this and they told its just they have to educate there staffs more and did apologise.

New Year Dinner- Worst New Year Ever - : ( Misinformation and Over Charged )
We were informed by Hotel Manager that there will be a exclusive New Year Dinner for Hotel Guest only and it will only host hotels guests plus snacks, drinks and dinner will be served and if we want we can pay USD25/- ( However we did not do a early booking, we called from outside hotel and the hotel just welcomed us without asking if we were even hotel guests ) we also noticed its not only for in-house guests. However we paid and went into this party, dinner was perfect, but there was only one free drink and manager just told snacks were finished. We also noticed they just entertained and gave special attention specific people at new year eve dinner instead of giving priority to all types of guests in the hotel. Which resulted that most guests were not present on the New Year Countdown. We were disappointed to see the guest sheet on the reception that some were charged much less then us.

At Checkout: The Night before departure we did request for Early Breakfast Packed since we are leaving early and we had paid for the Breakfast already. However we were not given the breakfast pack until we left hotel. When requested for bellboy service on checkout no one came to pick the luggage, since our transfer is at 6:45 we had to carry luggage to ourself.
We were asked to pay 500 Nepali rupees by Taxi but called the hotel and informed them that since they did not give us breakfast just pay for the taxi as a compensation. The Hotel Insisted first, but later when I told that I am a Reviewer here they said its ok they will.

In Overall - This hotel Resort is good and clean compare to others in Pokhara with Comfortable Bed. But to maintain customers continuously they have to improve a lot in hospitality area. To give the 5 Star service we expect from them. And serve each and every customer equally.
Hope with this review things will improve in future. Good Luck.

Room Tip: Room 217 have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Waterfront Resort appreciates your feedback and we are grateful for taking the time to kindly review the property. While we strive to provide the best possible service to all our guests equally, I apologize on behalf of the team for not having met your needs and we are working on a system to ensure that such events are managed more carefully in the future and nobody is at a loss. We hope we can serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Welcomed with a great energy (even though I was haggling a bit too much). Rooms are clean, modern and with amazing views. It's just at the foot of sarangot - so a nice mini base camp. You can even paraglide down to the lawn. Definitely recommend

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cyrusvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurav R, International Marketing Operations at Waterfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for kindly reviewing our property. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and we hope we can host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
1.4 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#26 of 105 in Pokhara
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 105 in Pokhara
551 reviews
1.3 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#9 of 105 in Pokhara
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#18 of 105 in Pokhara
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#6 of 105 in Pokhara
368 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#24 of 105 in Pokhara
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Resort Hotel

Property: Waterfront Resort Hotel
Address: Sedi Height, Lakeside Road, Pokhara, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pokhara's Waterfront Resort lies on the tranquil rural northern shore of the beautiful Phewa Lake. With supremely comfortable, air-conditioned en-suite rooms, each with a lake-view balcony, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind. In the mornings, as the sun's rays catch the Peace Pagoda above the southern lake shore, you will see fishermen paddling their boats close to the lake's edge pulling in their nets. Mid-morning, after the sun has warmed up the land, you'll be able to watch tens of para gliders coming into land while you enjoy a cappuccino on the terrace or lounge by the sparkling garden pool. Pokhara's Waterfront Resort is just a 10-minute ride from the airport, and just a 15-minute walk from the busy tourist hub or 5 minutes in a taxi. There's no need to walk: the hotel provides free shuttle service into Lakeside at intervals throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing